We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophistication without pretention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
coolangatta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sophistication without pretention”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The owners, managers and staff of Southern Ocean Lodge have managed to grasp and promote a fine balance between first class creature comforts and an amazingly beautiful natural environment.

Firstly, and most importantly, this has been achieved by the owners in employing an architect who has designed a sensational sleeping, eating and relaxation space in which guests can interact and enjoy themselves within the surrounding stunningly natural space.

Secondly, without the exceptionally well trained staff, this balance would be tipped over.

Tony and I returned from this adventure yesterday and we are still discussing our time there.

What was very important to us (having stayed in other luxury resorts over the years) was the incredibly natural, polite and interesting attitude of all the staff at the lodge. We felt completely at home from the moment we set foot inside those wonderful tall timber doors!

The restaurant staff were relaxed, well acquainted with the intricasies of the menu and very attentive.

The chef was adept in producing food that was unique both in flavour and design. Every morsel was savoured. Thank you.

The staff who conducted the tours (especially Jess) emanated a wealth of knowledge, constant observation of bush activity with a happy, natural style.

Thank you all for a very happy time.

Cathryn and Tony

16 September until 20 September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    29
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
72
420
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

SOL is brilliant. I really don't think I need to expand on all the things said here so I'll just add the small touches that suited us.

When we arrived we were greeted by first names and sat in the lounge chairs to discuss our stay. After assessing that we were basically an exhausted couple they offered to 'do our thinking for us' which was a perfect read of our mood and state of mind - they also made it clear that we could do what ever we wanted - they were just going to suggest things we could opt in or out as we pleased.

It was more like visiting someones home but being very welcome and not having to do anything.

The main thing to realise here is to manage your expectations - which is why I titled the review that way.

It is a truly amazing place and if you understand the cost of building such a lodge, running staff to guest ratios, boardwalks to nowhere (where the animal life is plenty) and running Mercedes vehicles where ever we went then you understand why it costs what it does. There were people there who where underwhelmed and I understand why as their expectations had been set at a possibly unattainable level - they told us they don't fly up the back of the plane anymore and when I realised they meant they don't fly business class anymore I learned something about where wealth and expectations leave you.

Thanks SOL - we can't really afford to come back (well not for a while) but we really appreciated what you did for us and what you have achieved.

Room Tip: All looked great - it is a long walk to the last room so if you are impaired in any way then let the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slayerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a terrific experience at the SOL. The service was wonderful and the food fabulous. The staff was extremely attentive and knowledgeable and went out of their way to answer any request. The location on top of the cliff was breathtaking. Do not miss the Wonders of KI tour, it was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Walking into Southern Ocean Lodge is like transporting yourself to your happy place. With only 21 rooms the staff is able to get to know you (even on a short 2 night stay like mine) and remember your name throughout your stay.

The lodge is built on the edge of a cliff overlooking the water and all of the rooms have spectacular views and complete privacy.

The feel is very relaxed and laid back here, which is very nice.

All meals and drinks are included, which takes the pressure off once you have booked your stay. Also included are many different tours and guided hikes. I highly recommend the Kangaroos and Canapes experience!

This is the first and only place I have ever stayed where there was nothing I could think of that I wanted that was not in my room. The mini bar (again included in the cost) was full of champagne, white wine, sparkling waters, soda, juice, cheese, snacks and water. There was also a great selection of glassware and snacks and red wine in the room and teas. There is a bose speaker with ipod hookups.

I loved going into their wine cellar and picking out a bottle of wine to take back to my room. Ahh....I wish I was there now!

Room Tip: The Osprey Pavilion is jaw droppingly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shera34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizard Island, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The lodge is situated beautifully on a cliff facing the ocean. All the rooms have breath taking views. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. This is where the good comments end. The room we were in was always overheated. The common rooms were always too cold. Even after requesting to increase the temperature we had to wear all the sweaters we had brought along. Wifi was supposed to be available in the common rooms. It rarely worked and the excuse we were given is that it was too windy. There was also supposed to be internet via cable in the room, however in the 4 days we were there it never worked. The food was good. However, the chef was very particular about how it was served. Usually there were several courses. If any one of us ordered only one course, we did not have the option to receive this course at the same time as the others were eating, we had to wait until every one had reached that course. Even if it was the last course. This might maybe not have been as bad, had the serving not been extremely slow. It took over 20 minutes in between courses, and this even though the hotel was almost empty. There were maybe 3-4 tables booked. Also, if you requested more of any food item, they had no objection to it, but they could not just simply put more on a plate. They had to bring you the same course again, incl. the wait inbetween. So do not think of ordering 4 peas instead of the foreseen 3 peas because you will have to wait for your last pea, keeping every one else at the table waiting as well! While the manager said that the cook could accommodate any dietary requests, the cook never bothered to even show his face and discuss our requests. In addition of being extremely expensive, they are now charging for any guided walk or excursion. So, to walk to the end of the cliff (maybe 20 minutes) with a guide that did not add any knowledge, there is a cost of AUS$70 per person. Definitely not worth it! It is sad that such a beautiful hotel is so poorly managed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Diver994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah1971_9, Public Relations Manager at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor, we're pleased to read that you enjoyed the Lodge's stunning location on the wild southern coast of Kangaroo Island, and that you liked the suites with their great views of the ocean and sweeping coast.
Service and guest comfort are of paramount importance to the team and management at Southern Ocean Lodge, and we strive to both anticipate and quickly respond to all guest needs. All suites are fitted with individual reverse-cycle air conditioners with controls that the guest manages themselves. Optional floor heating and doors that open to allow in the cool breeze from the Southern Ocean offer further tempartaure control. This all allows for each guest's preferences for an ideal room temperature. The temperature in the Great Room with the lounge, bar and restaurant is also managed by reverse-cycle airconditioning, as well as by the suspended fireplace for warmth and by opening doors to allow a breeze. The staff is always happy to adjust temperatures for guest comfort.
Complimentary wifi connection is available throughout the main lodge and suites, however it is a remote location and we often advise guests it is a 'temperamental' connection.
The food at Southern Ocean Lodge is made to order by the Chef and as an individual plate; it's not a case of adding another spoonful of peas from a bain-marie in the kitchen. There's also the 'Classics' menu for guests who like more traditional fare with larger servings. The staff is always happy to serve courses on a menu so as a family or couple can eat at the same time. If a guest chooses not to have an entree for example, he or she would naturally just wait for the main course so as they then eat together. Of course our guests are often families with children who would like to eat first.
Rates are all-inclusive of dining, beverages and guided touring on Kangaroo Island. This includes guided excursions to Seal Bay - Australia's third largest sea lion colony; Flinders Chase National Park - the 'Wonders of KI', the coastal clifftop walk (ie there is no charge for this), and Kangas and Kanapes tour of the historic Grassdale property nearby.
The naturalist guides have a wealth of knowledge about the island's flora, fauna and some fanstastic local history. They bring each experience alive with stories of shipwrecks, settlers' struggles and are adept at spotting a hidden echidna or koala along the way.
The only touring-related charges are for those taken on a private basis or for the newly-released 'Bespoke Experiences' which include quadbiking, kayaking, the nocturnal sanctuary walk, and longer guided walks that explore interesting areas further afield. Guests do often comment on the excellent value offered by their Southern Ocean Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband and I have recently returned from our break at SOL. Staying there was like owning shares in a resort (for a brief period of time) so that all that the lodge offered was available to you and that you could feel relaxed and be at home with all the facilities, quality service, beautiful views and memorable excursions. To me it was like a cruise as the cost of staying there was all inclusive of most things.
Your mission therefore, (should you choose to accept) is to survive breakfast, lunch and dinner together with doing exactly as you please. You can be as involved with excursions and socialising as you need or want to be. As an Adelaide resident I am a firm fan. I will recommend this wonderful place an easy way to getaway from it all, while feeling like I have been away for longer.
The service is impeccable, the geographical position is gorgeous and the rooms are a great retreat. We stayed for three nights. I would go back again definately, maybe for even longer. In South Australia, Kangaroo Island is under our very noses, whith great food, wildlife and stunning scenery to offer. Go for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizpanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We had a Remarkables Suite which was superb in every way. We loved the hot tub on the deck.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms up near the restaurant are less private than ones further down the very long corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speckles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
73.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing