We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
“Amazing Holiday Spot!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We visited KI, SOL on our first trip to Australia this past month. As soon as you walk in the door you are wowed my the most spectacular view. The staff was fabulous and service and food were fabulous. We were a party of 6, and I don't think any of us could think of anything we would change about the resort! What fabulous memories!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view--I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivercatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    30
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
425
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you love beautiful landscapes and wildlife (saw kangaroos, koalas, possums, snake, many birds, sea lions) and want an all-inclusive resort that delivers a 6-star experience plan a trip to Kangaroo Island and stay at Southern Ocean. The experience exceeded my expectations. The service, food (all meals included, open bar), rooms, spa treatments, as well as range and quality of signature and bespoke experiences, make this lodge a wonderful choice. You won't be bored if you want to fill your time with activities as I did (2 hikes, 2 nocturnal tours, quad bikes, seal beach, massages) or if you prefer to relax with wine the views of the ocean (saw a pod of dolphins) and the stars are incredible.
I only had one disappointing experience and it was a related to the guide who forgot that when you're in a client service business it needs to be all about the client. I tried quad biking (bespoke experience-extra $) and while I'm glad I tried it, I felt uncomfortable riding on the dirt track. Unfortunately the experiences director had no patience for a guest like me. He rode well ahead of me which I felt was quite rude and he put unnecessary pressure on me to drive faster.
With the exception of this one negative experience, I had an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solojctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Get to this resort NOW! No amount of adjectives can describe how awesome our stay was! The Baillie group are the team behind this unbelievable lodge! We were lucky enough to have assistant manager Helen overseeing our stay and her personable manner only added to the exceptional service shown by all the team. The food was the very best we have eaten anywhere.The most romantic, laidback, but incredibly luxurious stay we,ve experienced.
As a sideline we are extremely proud that this group are lifting the benchmark for luxury stays in Australia. Their attention to detail in regards to architecture,embracing wild and sustainable foods, local and imported beverages is ahead of their time! Oh did i mention the spa......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our recent visit to Southern Ocean Lodge was the best surprise birthday treat from my husband. From getting off the plane at Kingscote to getting back on, the staff were fabulous. From the first view as we walked through the door into the wonderful world of SOL it was Wow, Wow, Wow all the way. Everyone is made to feel they are at home from the first greeting by John, especially as everyone is on first name basis. The chefs creativeness & abilities are some of the best we have encountered. There is as little or as much to do as you want, with organised trips all timed to make sure you have plenty of time for breakfast, lunch & dinner.
We can't recommend this more highly to everyone

Room Tip: There is no one room better than the next, all have wonderful views & fitouts. I am sure the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is simply a wonderful place that will provide my wife and me with amazing memories for a long time. The architecture is extraordinary -- the whole building blends into the cliff on which it is situated. The views of the beach, ocean, and cliff can entrance for hours. The service is superb, including the tours that are part of what's included in the price. The most surprising part of the stay was the food -- at least at a 2-star Michelin level. The meals were wonderfully creative and delicious using local ingredients for the most part. This hotel is expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdnyc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Not having been a true eco traveler, we decided to visit KI for a change with friends.
The service, food, amazing cellars, where you help yourself, is quite a experience!
Suites were extremely comfortable, with open fires, amazing views!
The guest lounge has the most amazing view of the ocean and surrounds, including dolphins surfing not for from where lunch is served.

This property is part of the Luxury Lodge group, who have several lodges in Australia!

We are big fans of this luxury getaway!!

Room Tip: All suites at this luxury eco property are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIPS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned from our sojourn at Southern Ocean Lodge. It was sublime.

From the sheer rugged beauty of its setting, to the gracious welcome and service every moment of our stay. In our room we felt as though we were the only two people enjoying this special place on earth. And then of course there is the food....well its almost a magical tour of indulging in exquisite edible art and without too many pangs of calorie consternation. I was particularly impressed with the efforts the Lodge takes in introducing diners to their valued producers....and may sound silly, but I have never tasted and eggs and bacon like I did at SOL! Jo

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thehappyw0nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
52.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing