We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hemisphere Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Southern Hemisphere Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Everything about this hotel is perfect, from its location right on the ocean, the wonderful food and wine, the thoughtful attention to detail in the design and decor and its amazing staff who make you feel immediately at home with their charm and professionalism. Helen and Sally are stand-outs.
We were lucky enough to be able to stay in the Pavilion for 6 nights and were able to experience much of what this beautiful island has to offer. Most of the excursions are included (as is the food and wine and lots of yummy extras in the room). You can choose to have cocktails and canapés brought to your room, or be sociable and take them in the Great Room (aptly named!)The hot tub on the terrace after dinner watching the stars is something which will stay with us for some time.

Room Tip: The Pavilion is simply outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    27
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
71
414
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nr London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights as a family of 4. Absolutely endorse all the previous travellers' reviews - very pampered experience, great facilities, superb food, very friendly staff, stunning location with things to see. The only decisions to be taken are can you afford the rates and how long you plan to stay for, 3 nights is the absolute minimum. We did consider driving to the Lodge but in hindsight that would have been a mistake, take the short plane journey.

Room Tip: Duration of stay and method of travel are the only considerations otherwise think about the activiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

An exceptional property that well deserves its high international ranking.

Food: excellent. Certainly the best I have ever had at any hotel / lodge that is not located in a major city centre. Wonderful, high quality local produce. Wines and beers: excellent and were all included in our room rate. You were able to help yourself from the fridges and wine cellar as well.

Service: excellent.

Rooms: spacious, modern and with great views over the ocean.

Location: as you will no doubt see from the website, the lodge is perched on the edge of a cliff, overlooking a beach. We were there during summer (December 2012), so I assume what we experienced was representative of good weather there. Hot at times, bit of rain, windy quite a bit. I think what that adds up to is that this is very much a coastal, rugged experience. Which is a strength of the location; the island as a whole is rugged and has an "edge of the world" feel to it. No one was laying out on the beach whilst we were there (and given the rough seas I imagine that bathing opportunities are limited). So you should be clear that this is not a beach destination, at least so far as I saw.

Excursions: plenty of excursions available, many of them likely to be included in the price of your room. I would say the main focuses are wildlife (kangaroos, koalas, seals, sea lions etc an an opportunity for a night walk) and taking in the dramatic, rugged coastal scenery. The coast reminded me very much of the north Antrim coast in Ireland (almost eerily so).

Overall, an excellent experience. Yes, it is expensive - but you will get a good return on the investment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatRonando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent 3 nights over Christmas and all I can say is STUNNING!
Really exceptional location with views that are breath taking. The service and food is also amazing. It's one of the best lodges in the world and is incredibly special. Put it on your Bucket List. Worth every cent and more ... Thank you to all the staff who were wonderful , my Mum loved it. Thanks again
Greg.

Room Tip: They are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterinheavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Southern Ocean Lodge in April 2010 and it was simply spectacular!

From the moment you arrive you feel "at home". The staff are attentive, welcoming and warm. They greeted each of the people traveling with us by name and remembered us throughout our stay. The food was spectacular, and that help-yourself wine cellar was unreal. The views were just outstanding - even the dolphins were playing in the surf on our arrival.

Our room was modern, immaculate and very comfortable. It was extremely private, despite the large glass windows and being "open" to the outdoors.

Evenings were gorgeous and dinners were excellent. The lounge fireplace was beautiful to curl up by in the cool evenings.

Truly a very, VERY special place and without question one of the most beautiful spots in Australia.

Room Tip: Any Room... you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulKandAnnieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

...the view that awaits is just the start, but what an amazing start it is. personalised check in (together with sparkling wine and an amazing view), sets the tone for a very relaxed stay overlooking the beautiful Southern Ocean. Absolutely amazing food and wine, great service from Ash and the team, beautiful rooms overlooking the ocean, great walks through the bush or along the coast. We've already recommended SOL to a number of our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level Contributor
493 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location outstanding architecture, superb lounge and dining rooms. Difficult to do better. High standard service throughout. Inventive and creative cuisine wkll make you even happier. In short one of the very best places in the world. If one wants to find relatively weak points : wifi is random, no sweaming pool, no bath tubs but all this points are not environmently friendly. Perhaps also the dining service very friendly but a little amateur.
Anyway you cannot but go love it and be ready to pay the price for it

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
73.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing