We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“PERFECTION PERSONIFIED” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“PERFECTION PERSONIFIED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Rare indeed can you find a holiday destination so remotely stunning and so utterly luxurious with uber friendly attentive service.Lou and Ben, the managers have a great reputation. We experienced this at "Spicer's" in Queensland and knew that it would be an even better experience on Kangaroo Island.It's a young happy team, eager to please and always with a smile.Whatever the weather(and we had a combination of wild and woolly, wet, cool, rainy and sunny) the views from the Great Room and the suites are dramatic and stunning.You are guaranteed to have a memorable stay, enjoying the delectable meals, amazing cocktails, terrific wildlife and fun excursions.I promise you a getaway to SOL will be etched in your brain forever. Totally spoil yourself and go..................

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    24
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
383
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

If you want a memory of a lifetime go to Southern Ocean Lodge in winter. The Lodge provides a very special week called "Kangaroo Island Expedition" - it is a magical place in winter. Be pampered, wined and dined, meet really nice people, be busy or do nothing. Experience what luxury really is, see the sights, take the photos, paint the pictures, learn new things - you will never forget it...............

Susie Davison

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at the Southern Ocean Lodge near the end of our trip to Australia. As my friend said "good thing we are here at the end as the others would pale in comparison".

This lodge is fantastic in every respect. Grand architecture when you enter the lodge followed be rooms the overlook the Indian Ocean.

The food was terrific and the service exceptional. (I like the fact that they called us by our first names. No pretension just absolute quality)

Not one thing to report that is in any manner negative. If you are in Australia, the lodge is a must.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usmc63m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have just (sadly) returned home from a magnificent stay at Southern Ocean Lodge, we are still swooning from the experience and can't wait to plan to get back there for more! The view as you walk in the door spans the kind of vast expanse of coastline and sense of space like we've never seen before - it is just breathtaking. The suites are stunning, the attention to detail awe-inspiring. It's evident the Lodge owners and designers have really empathised with guests and their every need anticipated, no thought or gesture or comfort has been ignored. The all-inclusive rates means you really feel at home, only it's better! You can help yourself to a snack from the minibar, or enjoy an indulgent glass of wine with lunch. The tours of Kangaroo Island were a thrill - it was a great chance for us to get to know some of the other guests, and what a thrill we got from seeing the fur seals, sea lions and even an echidna up close and in the wild! We LOVED the food - we were thrilled to meet the Chef, Jed Archdeacon and hear his philosophy about cuisine at the Lodge and their relationships with suppliers; so many great, sustainable products. Farmed marron - fabulous, farmed abalone - divine! Amazing free range lamb and the best eggs ever, all fresh from the small producers' farms on Kangaroo Island. Some produce also comes from South Australia, but that's as far as it travels. Jed then does some amazing things with this fresh produce, so that each item seems to sing on the plate. We stayed in the cooler season , which was perfect. I'd like to get back there to experience summer too; a crisp glass of crisp local Pinot Grigio on the terrace, freshly shucked oysters by the Southern Ocean...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Southern Ocean Lodge was our fourth hotel in our Australian holiday; we came via the Park Hyatt in Sydney, Thala Beach Lodge near Port Douglas, and Longitude 131 at Uluru / Ayers Rock. Whereas the first three pleased us very much, in their very different ways, Southern Ocean Lodge, with it's cocktail of superlatives and negatives, was ultimately an expensive disappointment and we were quite happy when the time came to leave.
First, the superlatives.
The architecture, in side and outside, is nothing short of wonderful. When you first arrive, you are greeted in the "Great Room", a huge circular space tastefully and invitingly furnished, with floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows affording spectacular cliff-top views. The vast ceiling seems to float without any visible means of support. By night the windows provide spectacular reflections of the gorgeous interior space, and in particular the reflections of the spot list in the ceiling crater a wonderful illusion of a canopy of stars.
The spacious and luxurious bedroom suites are equally delightful, curving down the cliff-top in a way that provides great views from the floor-to-ceiling windows and private patios.
The staff are friendly, cheerful and genuinely do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The cleaning and maintenance of the suites and public spaces is practically perfect (yet inconspicuous). This includes keeping the huge floor-to-ceiling windows beautifully clean in all weathers.
Kangaroo Island provides spectacular coastlines, interesting flora, seals, sea lions, koala, and kangaroos - all accessible using the Lodge's well-organized inclusive tours.
We like the "all inclusive" approach. It is not just the tours that are bundled in with you stay - tea, coffee, snacks, wine, champagne, and liqueurs are "all in"' and you can either help yourself or be served by the attentive staff. The wine selection - all from vineyards in South Australia and several from Kangaroo Island itself - is superb.
So what are the negatives?
Our principle issue is with the philosophy of the cuisine. At both lunch and dinner you are offered a choice between two options for your entree and main course. However the style of cooking is assertively and uncompromisingly modern, with small portions (which is fine bearing in mind you are being fed with four courses), but generally aggressively flavoured with a complex "broth", "jus", vinaigrette or paste. It is an attempt at a sort of eclectic "fusion" style of cuisine, combining flavours from all over the world in a single dish. The chef clearly thinks very carefully about all his ingredients and flavours, and you will either love it or hate it. But because you are offered a choice between only two items, all our party had the experience of really not wanting either, e.g. the occasion when the lunch choice was goat or squid. Revealingly, at one point we were told that it not uncommon for adults to choose from the children's menu. Because the hotel is over an hour's drive to Kingscote, going elsewhere for a meal isn't a practical option.
Our second issue is the execution of the cuisine.
We simply didn't find the subtle, delicious flavoured we have enjoyed in top-class restaurants elsewhere in Australia, New Zealand, Europe and North America. Taste is a very personal thing. If you like your palate to be hit with intense and unusual combinations - rather than relying on the high quality of the locally-sourced ingredients to speak for themselves - you will probably enjoy the style of cooking at SOL. But we didn't.
The food was frequently tepid when it arrived (to the point of being inedible). For a restaurant aspiring to be top class, this is unforgivable.
3. While the front-of-house staff were courteous and attentive, the wait for each course was usually a long one. It's all very well to be brought an airline-style hot towel at every meal - but what we actually wanted to be brought was the food!
4. The management insist on playing loud and intrusive background music in the public spaces including the restaurant (which did nothing to make the waiting for food more enjoyable). I don't think the staff and management, who are generally young, have any idea how unpleasant many older people find this. When we asked for it to be turned down or off, we were told that this would only be possible when we were the only people around. On a few occasions we got this opportunity, though I'd much rather not have to make myself a nuisance by asking. Generally, however, we had to endure brassy, jazzy rhythms and wailing vocals. While this is obviously a matter of opinion, in our opinion the marvellous ambience of the Great Room and restaurant simply don't need embellishing with this kind of "Muzak".
I should emphasise that when we raised our issues about the food with the management, they listened and left no stone unturned in trying to make us happy - to the extent of discussing the menus in advance with each member of the party, customising what they of feed on an individual basis - even presenting each of us with a personalised toyed menu at the start of dinner! However
we hate having to make a fuss
being told that you can have absolutely anything we want is lovely in theory, but in practice what you really want is a proposal from the chef for food that you want to eat!
5. If you want to branch out beyond the all-inclusive tours, then the private tours they offer are exorbitantly priced, with a minimum fee of $650 or $750 for a party of up to four people on a half-day excursion.
Reader, make up your own mind. This is a very personal opinion, and the other entries on TripAdvisor show that it is a minority one. If you disagree with the above view of the negatives, then a stay at Southern Ocean Lodge will be a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Albany2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah1971_9, Public Relations Manager at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor. We welcome our guests' feedback and Trip Advisor is certainly an effective and valuable tool for sharing information with fellow global travellers. It's evident you have really considered all aspects of your recent family stay at Southern Ocean Lodge, and we're so pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge architecture, the attention to detail in the guest suites and those amazing coastal wilderness views. We agree that the inclusive nature of the product allows an 'at-home' lodging feel and a real taste of Kangaroo Island as a destination. Thankyou for your points regarding the cuisine, its serving and the restaurant music. The style of cuisine is indeed modern, and the focus of our cilinary philosphy is to develop mutually beneficial relationships with the mostly small scale producers on Kangaroo Island, to encourage production of their fine ingredients and to transform each in a menu in a way that showcases each food item. Thank you for communicating your concerns to management, and for your acknowledgement that both the Lodge Managers and our Chef worked to try to resolve these. We hope that in balance you'd consider your stay with us a good one, and we trust you enjoyed the rest of your Australian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Wow! What a place. We never expected SOL to be so amazing! The moment you set foot in the door you just know you have arrived somewhere special. Awesome ocean panoramas, exquisite food and the best of all - a great team looking after you. Big marks for the quality of linen, towels and exceptional evening turndown service. Thank you for a wonderful stay! The wildlife, nature and sightseeing organised for us was just marvellous.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

I am at an absolute loss to understand the review provided by "Aloonak". We also stayed in April and our experience was the complete opposite. We found the food to be absolutely top class, with so much variety that we would have needed a month to have made our way through all that was on offer. The service also was immaculate from the young but amazingly professional staff. And our experience was echoed by all the other visitors who we spoke to. The location, the building and rooms are just out of this world. I don't think I can ever replicate that moment of first entering the Great Room and being individually welcomed as we made ourselves comfortable with a glass of something bubbly and looked out over that glorious view of bush, beach and ocean. In short - we didn't want to come home!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulBective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
73.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing