We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable place to stay on KI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
KI Dragonfly Guesthouse
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hostel is located in Kingscote, which is a good place to stay, while discovering the island by car. The hostel is quiet small but very nice and clean. The host was very friendly and told us where to go best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian-20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My good friends from Germany had booked this hostel, as I had no input. I am so glad they did, as I really enjoyed my stay there. With the very comfortable bunk beds, extra power points, nice bathroom which contained showers, toilets and sinks for males and females separately. Also, they had a cosy lounge and a kitchen with a huge dining table, all equipment provided. We were very happy to interact with a Japanese girl staying there at the time minding the place. One thing I really liked was the towels provided, that made me happy. I would definitely return to that hostel if I ever go back to Kangaroo Island, and would highly recommend it to anyone even not on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It's a wonderful hostel! Centrally located, very very clean and neat. It's the best hostel I have ever been in Australia!!! There is also a lovely garden and BBQ area. The owners are really friendly and nice. Great value for money!!

è un delizioso ostello, super pulito e confortevole - oltre ad essere posizionato in modo ideale per visitare Kangaroo Island. I proprietari sono davvero gentili e cordiali! Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I visited Kangaroo Island with 2 overseas friends, and we found this a great location - both in terms of Kingscote's proximity to the various island attractions, and in terms of the hostel's proximity to Kingscote's main street, supermarket, etc. We had booked a room with double bed and single bed but were upgraded to the little cabin in the backyard. This was perfect, as it had a double bed and a bunk bed, so we each got our own bed. The cabin even had a small fridge, which was very useful. The kitchen was pretty busy the first night we were there, but after that it was fine. The bathrooms are great and very clean. As it's a fairly small hostel, it has a nice feel to it, and I never had to queue for showers etc. We didn't use the backyard area, but it looked great. The kitchen seems to be well-stocked with utensils etc, but it doesn't have an oven. (There are a stove and a microwave though.) I would definitely recommend the hostel for families and backpackers. It is not luxurious, but it is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The little cabin in the backyard is great because you get that bit of extra privacy, and there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Well, as mentioned it is a small family run hostel, and and it is a perfect budget accommodation which is clean and comfortable and we are in a great location on the island.
All the facilities are in good working order. The beds are comfy and clean, the showers have a great pressure and the kitchen offer all you need to cook your own meals. We really liked the outdoor area with the barbecue, was great for the evenings. The local shops are also really close by.
Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFACB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A nice and cosy hostel. Rooms are good, the kitchen and communal area offer everything you need, you will also find there a wounderful fireplace (quite useful in cold sping nights). There is a well kept garden in the backyard (with bbq area). bathrooms are clean, the showers are great (rainfall showers...) The manager is really attentive and helpful, wellcoming you friendly and explaning a lot of kingscotes and the islands highlights, helping you to find your way... he just want you to enjoy your stay at the hostel and on the island. he kept asking weather anything is needed... and even helped me to fin a job on KI (thanks a lot!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gesa_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielBlucher, Manager at KI Dragonfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Gesche, thank you for your wonderful review. I hope you enjoyed your time on the island and had fun with the job. Best wishes Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is a very tired and dated place, reminded me of somebody's holiday home where they leave all their second-rate stuff - broken kettles, poor stove, bad couches, creaky beds, etc.

Small communal area with a small kitchen, tiny sink and four-burner electric hotplate with no labels. Walls are very thin so Room #1 hears a lot of the communal area noise, and Rooms further back hear the fans that go on in the bathroom when the lights are turned on.

It was quite hot while we were there, but there were no fans and little airflow through the rooms. I couldn't see a heater in the room either, which I would imagine one would need there in the winter. Our window didn't lock despite facing right onto the street.

We booked online and the price was $60USD, but despite the Australian Dollar being stronger, it was still demanded of us that we pay the difference to make up $60AUD when we arrived. The first notice was a bill pushed under our door, and when we ran into the manager shortly thereafter, he asked repeatedly when we would give him $17.

There is no reception, just pick up the phone and the manager will come and meet you.

I'm not sure how many other budget accommodation options there are in KI, which may account for the popularity of this place despite its tired attitude to management.

Pros:
Good water pressure in the showers
Good location - close to town and Kingscote is closer to more attractions than Penneshaw or American River
Didn't feel too crowded even though they were fully booked
Bed was comfortable
The place was clean

Room Tip: Room #1 is close to the common area and is therefor often noisy, but the rooms up the back (#5, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We are a small family run hostel, and we try our best to provide a warm and comfortable welcome to all of our guests. I would like to respond to some points you have made. As you stated we provide budget accommodation which is clean and comfortable and we are in a great location for the island. All of our facilities are in good working order, we have fans available on request for all rooms, and a wood fire which heats the whole building in the winter. As we are in Australia, our bookings are always in Australian dollars, and the price for the room that you booked was $AUD60. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests and will take your constructive comments on board. Best regards Bob Blucher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
919 reviews
17.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
411 reviews
11.5 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
17.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Backpackers - Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KI Dragonfly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KI Dragonfly Guesthouse

Address: 19 Murray St | Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Kangaroo Island Central Backpackers)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £33 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — KI Dragonfly Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KI Dragonfly Guesthouse is a privately owned guesthouse located in Kingscote on Kangaroo Island. You will feel relaxed & welcome the moment you step in the door! It's ideal for travellers on a budget, who enjoy the comforts of home combined with the opportunity to meet people from all over the world. It's within easy walking distance of the local supermarket (with an organic shop right next door) other shops, art galleries, hotels & restaurants, the waterfront and the natural pool. Consisting of three double bedrooms (all with queen-sized beds), a spacious family room and a 4-bed share room (that can be fully booked to become a private room), with guests sharing all amenities: large, clean bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, loungeroom with TV & expansive collection of DVDs (and if you can't find anything to you taste, our wi-fi is fast enough for net-flix), and an outdoor area complete with BBQ and two friendly, cute dogs). For guests who desire complete privacy, there is a small, fully self-contained cabin for hire in the guesthouse's rear garden (Rori's Retreat). Cabin guests are also welcome to combine the privacy of their own facilities with socialising with the guesthouse guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your KI Dragonfly Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing