We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood platters”
Review of Marron Cafe

Marron Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$63
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Unique 3 in 1 experience - Not to be missed by locals or visitors! Come in and sample some of our well-known Two Wheeler Creek wines, whilst having a look around our Marron tanks. A friendly staff member will have a chat to you about the Marron Farm, and answer any questions you may have. We grow Native Australian Lemon and Aniseed Myrtle which we have created some beautiful Bush Tucker sauces out of. All made here in the Cafe. A bit hungry? - Head on into the Marron Cafe where there a several lavish options with Hot or Cold Marron, as well as other scrumptious meals. Enjoy a glass or bottle of our Two wheeler Creek wine. Kids Menu Available. All meals are oven baked... No deep fried food!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood platters”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Funky little spot that's worth the drive. We shared the marron platter and it was amazing. Hot and cold marron, salad, scallops, prawns, bread, and fruit, a great treat with some decent wine. Call ahead for a booking and make sure you don't arrive when the tour groups do.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaybeinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    165
    64
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty sea creatures abound”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Delicious and a unique KI experience. Very reasonably priced for what is effectively a lobster dinner. I would recommend the lime and chilli marron, which was perfectly cooked with not too much spice to let the flavour of the marron shine through. The steak is also incredible, and the sweets delicious. Probably best to visit for lunch given dinner time visits may mean driving some distance on unsealed roads in darkness back to Kingscote and a less than pleasant meeting between your car and some native wildlife. A lovely setting for a lovely lunch. Best wishes to the poor marron in the Marron Hospital tank :)

Helpful?
1 Thank RustyNails85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Down a rough dirt road in the middle of Kangaroo Island is this cafe in a rural setting. Famous for its fresh Marron - quite expensive but the food was lovely and fresh with interesting flavours.
It is worth the drive but quite basic in decor - staff were lovely

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidicat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
233 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quite overpriced”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I think they charge much to much for what they give you. The food is very good and fresh but very expensive. The atmosphere also wasn't that amazing. Not really what we expected.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZooGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh Maroon!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful and colorful, fresh ingredient dishes served, tasty Maroon and Grilled chicken & Haloumi salad! Wonderful meal in the middle of Kangaroo Island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank khv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marron Cafe also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Stokes Bay, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Marron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing