We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing House and Location - Breathtaking!”
Review of Snellings View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snellings View
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had an amazing 7 night stay at Snellings View - the house is fabulous and has first class, very modern facilities and the location is better than we could have ever expected. The house has absolutely everything you would need - beautiful bedrooms, fully equipped modern kitchen, lovely bathrooms, huge living/ dining area and a great terrace with outdoor seating/ dining. Snellings beach is very beautiful with great swimming and fishing and Stokes Bay is also fantastic. The local vineyards are also worth a trip - Shoals Bay, Sunset and Islander all do great local wines. Not sure what else to say other than would highly, highly recommend Snellings View to anyone wanting a luxury stay on Kangaroo Island - we will be coming back very soon and this time with the kids!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We recently spent four days here and enjoyed every moment.
Snellings View is a delight for all your senses. The views of the beach are amazing and the wildlife around the property ensure there is always something to see. The sound of the ocean at night was a perfect lullaby. The house itself is beautiful designed and decorated with everything you could possibly need for a fabulous holiday. My tip? Open a bottle of your favorite wine, sit back and relax on the deck watching the sunset. Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GTandGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A wonderful relaxing long weekend spent at Snellings View which more than surpassed our expectations. A touch of paradise awaited us with top class facilities, the most stunning views, and accommodation that was perfect for our group, which took over both ultra modern homes. The extensive outdoor entertaining areas were wonderful for our huge combined cook-up meals and obligatory afternoon drinks while watching the sun set over Snelling Beach. KI was a hidden treasure to us with its amazing coastline and abundance of wildlife. We will definitely return and would highly recommend this property to one and all.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stunning views, attention to detail, perfect sized kitchen, did I mention the views?, close to the beach, MASSIVE wedge tailed eagles around (3m wing span), roos, posums......wish we coudl have spent longer there....you dont know whether to stay there or visit all the KI attractions. Also the little things made the difference, with binoculars, telescope, local tips, personal comments on the board.

Its pricey, but worth every dollar.

Thank you to the owners for creating such an inviting, well planned holiday home.

Perfect for familes, honeymoons, mates trips, and even solo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Giggajez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in this house in July 2011. I 've never stayed in a house with such a stunning view. The design of the house is really beautiful. Don't forget to buy your groceries, because the stores are at least a one hour drive away. The children did like the beach and the possums on the terrace. I like to come here again when the wetter is better! Though it's quite far from my home (in Holland).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WesAmersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My family stayed in Kangaroo Island for 8 days in December 2011. We based ourselves at Snellings View for the duration of our trip. The reviews on this site were pretty much spot on, in all our years of travel this is by far the best holiday home we have stayed in, the attention to detail, quality of the furnishings, utensils and the amazing views where second to none. Our kids had an amazing time, there where loads of games and even a small fishing line for my son to try his luck in the nearby river. The isolation of the house (and Snellings Beach), makes for a very relaxing and surreal experience... for anyone planning on visiting Kangaroo Island we cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlane766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I have just returned from 8 days on Kangaroo Island. We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful home high up on the hill over Snellings Beach. It was the first place we stayed on the island and it was the best of the three. We were in the West Wing and waking up each morning to the wonderful view and returning each afternoon after sightseeing was a thrill. Everything is provided for your comfort, We had one lunch at the Cafe at Stokes Beach and another lunch at the Marron Farm, both were delicious.

The only drawback at Snellings View is that there aren't any places to eat close by. I had sent an email to Lifetime Retreats to see if we could have dinner there one night (they are the closest neighbours) but unfortunately their Chef was having a break for 2 weeks. We also discovered that one of the restaurants at Stokes Bay had closed which was a pity. Whenever we go away, we always enjoy eating out and this was the only drawback to Snellings View as it is so far from anywhere and the roads are unmade.

We flew to the island and hired a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get around the island which was ideal. We stocked up in Kingston for our 3 breakfasts and bought a crayfish and oysters for our first night at Snellings. We just had soup on the other two nights as we didn't need provisions for our next two stays.

We had perfect weather, sunny and warm every day but whilst at Snellings View we didn't see any wildlife at all which was disappointing. We saw all of the wildlife over on the West coast. We loved the ruggedness of the North coast of the island though and if we ever return we would definitely spend more time at Snellings View.

Room Tip: Stock up on provisions in Kingscote as they have a good Foodland supermarket, much better than Penne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
32.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
922 reviews
24.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
40.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
12.8 mi away
Kangaroo Beach Lodges
26.5 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snellings View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snellings View

Address: Lot 2 North Coast Rd | Middle River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful new houses, each sleeps 4-6, Over looking Snellings Beach. Ultra modern, spacious and luxurious. Beautifully furnished, full stainless steel kitchen, supurb timber flooring and bathrooms with Itallian fittings and travertine marble. All rooms have floor to ceiling windows with 180 degree views of the coast. Fantastic decking and outdoor entertaining area with Bbq. Snellings View is centrally located to all major tourist attractions on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing