We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snellings again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snellings View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snellings View
Roseville, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snellings again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second stay in this amazing home. The weather wasnt as kind but that didnt stop us from discovering parts of the island we hadnt been to in our previous visit. It is an absolute must to go to The Remarkables and Admirals Arch in the Flinders National Park. Fergusons supply great lobsters and oysters and the KI Fresh Seafood (attached to the service station) has locally caught fresh fish (both in Kingscote). The Kingscote pub has a few options for dining and the staff are fantastic. Stokes Bay - this time we had lunch there which was really good, met some locals and took a wander down on the bay. There is abundant wildlife and you only need to wander around the property to find many. We did our exploring during the day and then came back to the deck/house to cook dinner and relax, the kitchen is magnificent and the whole home is tastefully decorated. The owners make bookings and arrival easy and give you all the information you need to get started on a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: This is an amazing home - 2 wings so you can plan a great holiday with family and friends. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Snellings View combines a beautiful modern house, furnishings in great taste, thoughtful comfort and a stunning view over a green valley to the sea. We stayed as four couples in the whole house and used only one of the wings for dining and relaxing so we could all be together - it was plenty big enough and also warm enough (it was mid-winter). If you are up early enough, the morning sunrise is sublime. The owners were fantastic with all the arrangements and were very accommodating to our needs. We pre-organised a catered sit-down dinner of KI produce with local caterers Hannaford and Sachs in their rustic and fabulous historic woolshed (which you can see in the valley from Snellings View - a few minutes' drive). Absolutely delicious. It was an experience we won't forget. Highly recommend the Snellings View and Hannaford and Sachs combination!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent five nights at Snellings View. What a magnificent place. On our first evening we sat on the gorgeous 'infinity' deck drinking in the magnificent views as the sun set and watching eagles soaring overhead. We were always off early in the morning to explore all the wonders of Kangaroo Island and back home (it really felt like home) by around 5.30pm each night in time for happy hour on the deck! The kitchen was fabulous, enabling us to prepare lovely meals, which we ate sitting at the magnificent dining table. We would then collapse in the very comfortable bed, exhausted from all our exploring. We didn't shut the bedroom blind once as we didn't want to miss out on the amazing views. Waking up to look out across the coast was always a treat. The house is very well equipped and beautifully decorated. It is like a home away from home and was very clean. We wanted for nothing. The caretakers were lovely - we ran into them as we arrived - and Nan was lovely to deal with. We also enjoyed the kangaroos and sheep, with the kangaroos coming right up to the deck. It was a fabulous week exploring all the natural beauty of Kangaroo Island and returning each night to our 'eagle's nest' high on the hill. Would definitely recommend Snellings View for either couples or two couples. The house is so well designed that if there are two couples you each get privacy. And the two wings are very well designed as we had neighbours on most days, but really didn't feel like they were on top of us. In fact we hardly saw or heard them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of 8 friends (4 in each wing) and loved every minute. Everything, other than food and drink, was provided for an effortless holiday. First class design means every room is huge and has a view over rolling hills to the beach. Every little item you could possibly want for a self-contained holiday is available. No-fuss check-in with key safe on site. Sitting at dawn or dusk on the expansive front deck and watching the local sheep, kangaroos and eagles gave us many memories. Wish we could stay longer!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in the East Wing for only 2 nights and truly wished we were there for at least 2 weeks! The accommodation is huge, the furnishings and facilities are of the highest quality and the view amazing. We loved the remoteness of it, and the fact that you have to travel quite a distance on a dirt road to get there. A fantastic place to relax. (and well worth the trip to The Rockpool Cafe for a rustic but excellent lunch!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XPO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Love, Love, Loved it. Just perfect. Spotlessly clean, quality appliances and right down to the bed linen. We could of stayed an extra week. Getting the ferry to Kangaroo Island is quick, easy and efficient. Don't hesitate you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Everything about Snellings was perfect. It was the best holiday house we rented. The view was surreal, the interior was so home-y, and the facilities were so well equipped. Every moment I look out, I feel that this is too good to be true.

Anybody who is reading about Snellings should not have any hesitation to rent it. It is very unique. Locals tell us Snellings definitely has one of the best views on Kangaroo Island. The surrounding area is just lovely. Peaceful and quiet. And you'll definitely be able to connect with nature - while we were there, wallabys were just popping out to say hi to us!

One maybe down side (or it could be an updside) is that this property is far away from the city. So you would have to cook your own dinner or order in. (since you shouldn't be driving around the island pass 5pm).

On Snellings, you'll be able to truly feel relaxed and on a vacation you don't ever want to end.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatsitsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
24.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
32.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
LifeTime Private Retreats
LifeTime Private Retreats
#12 of 51 in Kangaroo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
31.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
60.1 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snellings View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snellings View

Property: Snellings View
Address: Lot 2 North Coast Rd | Middle River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful new houses, each sleeps 4-6, Over looking Snellings Beach. Ultra modern, spacious and luxurious. Beautifully furnished, full stainless steel kitchen, supurb timber flooring and bathrooms with Itallian fittings and travertine marble. All rooms have floor to ceiling windows with 180 degree views of the coast. Fantastic decking and outdoor entertaining area with Bbq. Snellings View is centrally located to all major tourist attractions on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing