We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Demole River Retreat, Gaia
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the perfect place to base yourself to explore KI. The house itself has everything you could need for your stay - complete with resident kangaroos (and their feed!). You can even be self sufficient and catch some local marron for your dinner! A good 20 minute drive from a 'main road' means you really feel and appreciate the remoteness. Either explore the local area by foot for some stunning coastal scenery that you will have all to yourself, or hop in your car and drive to the many nearby bush walks, coastal walks or great scenery such as the incredible rocks. Graham is an excellent host and source of information - he really made our stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Demole River Retreat, Gaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The only regret I have is that we didn't have more time to spend on KI so we could enjoy Demole even more. It is a very nice, roomy house - incredibly clean, perfectly equipped and makes for a most pleasant stay. The roos, possums, etc., parading outside on the deck are the ultimate KI experience and there is no other place where you can stay in this sort of environment. The private beach Graham sent us to was one of the highlights of our trip, that and cruising around after dark spotting wallabies. The location is remote but the house is of excellent quality - I'd classify it as high-end camping. All the glories of being in a remote location with excellent access to unspoilt landscapes/beaches but with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 099695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My partner and I as well as the extended international family stayed at Graham's Demole River Retreat on the basis that we wanted to give our international guests a glimpse of the wildlife in Australia.

Needless to say we were all blown away with the wildlife on display right on our door step at Demole - a truly unique experience.

The house itself was fantastic. Very clean and well kept with all the facilities anyone would require. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea was the remote location of the property, for us this is exactly what we wanted - so a big tick.

Looking forward to our next trip to Gaia!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xlr8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! The house was great, larger than we expected, and the five of us fitted in comfortably. We stayed for ten days and, apart from some mandatory sightseeing to island highlights, it was bliss to stay most of the time in such a natural and unspoilt paradise. We had the best Xmas holiday we could have wished for, complete with wildlife (kangaroos, wallabies, possums, an echidna, fabulous birdlife and resident goannas), spectacular bush (loads of shimmering grass trees) and beaches that, for most of the time, we had to ourselves. Oh, and amazing starry skies at night. We definitely intend to return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Thea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed for a few nights at Gaia in early December and the experience was just wonderful. The setting is spectacular and the house is beautiful: split level, two large bedrooms, large kitchen and sitting room, large windows on all sides so full of lights, and a wooden deck all around the outside. When we arrived, a mother kangaroo and her daughter hopped onto the deck to say hello (actually they wanted some food, which the owner, Graham supplies). A creek runs just at the bottom of the slope in front of the house. Nearby are isolated sandy beaches. If you want time away right in the middle of nature this is absolutely the best place to go. Thank you so much, Graham! Rachele and David, New York, USA

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_FM2777NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This retreat is great for relaxing with wildlife just at your doorstep. It is very spacious and cozy which makes you feel at home. The owner, Graham is very friendly and will help you when you are in need. There will be around 7 or 8 kangaroos outside your doorstep when it is not too hot.You can get to feed them too! There is also a creek outside your retreat where you can catch marron and eat them!( if desired) The beds are very comfortable and warm. However, the drive in to the retreat can be challenging especially during rainy weather so you are advised to use a 4WD. Overall, Demole River Retreat is a great place to relax and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We particularly chose to stay at Gaia because of its remote situation, Eco credentials and access to wildlife. It was such a veritable Garden of Eden (without the snakes!) that I am now writing my first ever review on Tripadvisor! We stayed for 3 nights and booked from the UK - the owner, Graham, was helpful and friendly at all times without being 'in your face'!

The kangaroos visited us on a regular basis and were a delight; we awakened one morning to find a sleepy koala outside our window, and there was a wealth of birds and wildlife with a myriad different colours. The starry sky was sublime, the quiet absolute....what more can I say?

The house was well laid out, comfortable and had an excellent log fire which was great in the evenings.

Just make sure you bring all you need as there is nothing modern nearby!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
16.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
20.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
#21 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
27 reviews
61.3 mi away
Baudin Beach Apartments
Baudin Beach Apartments
#37 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
#29 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
36 reviews
55.8 mi away
Cooinda Holiday Village
Cooinda Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in American River
8 reviews
25.1 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demole River Retreat, Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demole River Retreat, Gaia

Address: near Cape Borda, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £106 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your very own wildlife sanctuary in the middle of Kangaroo Island's bushland on the northwest coast. Close to private beaches, stunning bush and cliff top walks, plus fishing and swimming. A home from home. Great for nature enthusiasts, bird watchers and animal lovers. The essence of tranquility. No TV, no mobile reception, just you and nature in a comfy self contained hand built house - most of our guests don't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing