We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Charming, Perfect location”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Perfect location for exploring KI. The charming cottage had everything supplied for a relaxing and easy stay as well as friendly hosts. Close to the main centre, Kingscote, for convenience yet far enough away to be relaxing and ‘away from it all’. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gawler, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The cottage was a great base for holidaying on KI. It was close to Kingscote for major amenities, yet far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing. The cottage was very clean, well appointed and homely, making it perfect for our stay with our young child.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RifleRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

For location, amenities and hospitality, it is hard to beat. For a group of 8 (4 adults and 4 children) for 3 nights the house was perfect. It is close enough to Kingscote (about 3km) and the local store (a few hundred metres) to be handy to everything, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Brownlow beach is a few minutes walk and the gardens really add to the serenity. Very well set up for self catering and relaxing (great supply of books, magazines and DVDs). Frank the host was really friendly and welcomed us when we arrived and came to say goodbye before we left. The only minor complaint? It could have been a little bit cleaner, just an extra dust in a couple of spots, but given the size of the house and the fact it was the middle of summer, its a minor quibble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Want2BATravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloela, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2010

What a great place to stay! Friendly and welcoming hosts. The cottage is equipped with everything that a family would need for either a short or extended stay! Very clean and well kept. A short car trip to the local shops. We will definitely be staying here next time we visit Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo4715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We found the house at KI Garden Cottages to be charming accommodation with all facilities and a good base for our visit to KI. There was plenty of room for us, five singles (or two families of four) with four spacious bedrooms and two modern bathrooms. Lovely garden with lots of native birds, a short walk to the beach and few minutes drive to Kingscote. The owners were very helpful giving us great tips on places to visit and eat.
Highly recommended.

Girls Week-End
12 November 2010

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AJC011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villas on the Bay Kingscote
41.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
#19 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
8.4 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
1.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages

Property: Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages
Address: Lot 92 Third St, Brownlow, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful self-contained cottages set in gorgeous gardens on Kangaroo Island. Fully equipped, clean, private and peaceful. 200m to beach and 3km from main town of Kingscote. The 4 bedroom cottages each have 2 bathrooms, with open plan living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Each cottage sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms. Kangaroo Island is well known for its abundance of native wildlife and spectacular natural scenery. The cottages are a perfect base to explore this wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing