We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family expedition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our extended family of 13 gathered at KI Garden Cottages for a belated Christmas celebration in January 2012. We were delighted with the cottages, the location, and the warm reception by Frank and Cathy. We would recommend staying a week at this delightful spot. Thanks Frank and Cathy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on our Honeymoon,( December 2011) What a beautiful place ! It was like coming home every evening after a hard days sightseeing and enjoyment. The cottage was so well equipped you could comfortably live there. Having travelled quite a lot this cottage was by far the best equipped and cleanest I have ever stayed in, you wanted for nothing. If the world were a smaller place I would come back time and time again, knowing that it would be home from home. Frank came to greet us the first day and made us wecome giving us valuable information on where to go etc, He then came to say goodbye to us, making us feel like human beings and not just another booking.! The Beach is on the doorstep and beautiful beaches they are! The wildlife is all around you, the Main roads are long and straight ! even in rush hour you may not meet more than a couple of cars !! Idylic driving after London !! In all a beautiful experince that should be shared. Thumbs up to Kathy and Frank for there vision on how a holiday home should be.. although I think they have gone well beyond expectations!! Happy New Year Carolyn & Andy.

Room Tip: You wont find better than this !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0lyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We recently stayed in the main house and Frank made us all feel very welcome. We were two families travelling together and the house was perfect for sharing. It had lots of space and was the best equipped house we have stayed in. The sofa on the verandah overlooking the garden was very peaceful to relax on after a day touring the island. The location was excellent and we would recommend this to anyone looking to stay on Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our second stay here (Oct 2009 stayed in the cottage with 2 friends; this time 5 family members, stayed in main house). Frank welcomed us back like old friends. This is the best-furnished house we have ever stayed in! Wonderfully equipped kitchen, a beautiful place to stay- would like to have had more than 4 nights here! We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed in main house.Very clean,well designed and well equipped.Just like going into your own home.Courteous hosts keen to share their knowledge of the Island and who's information improved our tour.Location is ideal.One minute to the beach and close to amenities in kingscote.Highly Recommended.John and Rose

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Garden Cottage is a very comfortable place to stay: a pleasant small house just for you, surround by a nice garden. Everything is clean and new. In the kitchen you can find everything you will need.
We were glad to meet the owners: they were very kind with us and teach us where look for kangaroos… Let ‘s ask Frank about it!
We would like to come back.. if Italy was not so far!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in the cottage for two nights and absolutely loved it. Great location for exploring KI. Frank was an extremely gracious and wonderful host. The pictures on his website certainly do not do justice to the quaint cottage. It is well stocked w/ games, books, toys, movies, etc... It is a perfect spot for families. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxAg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
50.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.7 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Villas on the Bay Kingscote
13.9 mi away
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
#2 of 2 in American River
31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#5 of 7 in Kingscote
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages

Address: Lot 92 Third St, Brownlow, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £115 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful self-contained cottages set in gorgeous gardens on Kangaroo Island. Fully equipped, clean, private and peaceful. 200m to beach and 3km from main town of Kingscote. The 4 bedroom cottages each have 2 bathrooms, with open plan living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Each cottage sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms. Kangaroo Island is well known for its abundance of native wildlife and spectacular natural scenery. The cottages are a perfect base to explore this wonderland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing