We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A lovely, comfortable and homely cottage very close to the beach. The cottage is very clean and well equipped. The cottage would comfortably accommodate 8 people- perfect for two families to share. Frank, the owner is very friendly and has a wealth of knowledge about attractions on the Island. We had a great holiday- thanks very much Frank.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you Gayle for taking the time to review us.
It makes me feel ten feet tall to hear you enjoyed our cottage and your time on the island.
I really enjoyed meeting you all.
kind regards
Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the larger of the 2 cottages. 2 couples sharing a large house but it was great, plenty of space. Cottage immaculate and well presented. Large & comfy beds & bedding great bathrooms and living spaces. Location handy to Kingscote - 45mins from ferry to Brownlow -good hours drive to Flinders Chase.
You need a car- Kangaroo Island is huge and it is over 100 kms from one side to the other.
These cottages are a great place to base yourself for all the day trips to see the wonderful sights of KI.
Thanks Frank -highly recommend your place - but you really need to paint those fascia's haha

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidicat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your kind words, and thank you for leaving the cottage so nicely.
I'm sorry to have missed you on the morning of your departure.
However, we'll look forward to meeting again
kind regards
Frank

PS Lisa, I promise to have the gables painted next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 4 nites in the garden villa in December and it truly was a home away from home. Frank, the friendly owner was an absolute pleasure to deal with. He was there to welcome us and he had very kindly put a Christmas tree in the villa to give it a festive and homely feel. He also led us in his car to see the wallabies in the evening and to Kingscote to show us where the supermarket and the restaurants are. The villa was clean, comfortable, spacious and well-equipped with all the amenities you could think of and with a great herb garden to boot. We easily fell in love with the villa at first sight. The location couldn't be more central being close to the Kingscote area and with easy access to the various places of interest. On the day of our departure, Frank was there to bid us farewell and even helped us to load the many pieces of luggage onto our car, and for that we were really grateful. We have stayed in many holiday accommodations in many countries before but the garden villa really takes the cake in terms of quality and comfort. Wished we had stayed longer to spend more time in the villa!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pregobuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Villa after your stay in December.
It is always very encouraging to hear positive feedback.
This year we will celebrate 10 years of hosting holiday accommodation, having started in 2004 with the cottage we now call Island Chalet.
Over that time we have had the pleasure of meeting people from all over the world, and certainly it was a pleasure to meet your family.
I was genuinely concerned that the chance of getting all that luggage into the car and getting away on time was not looking all that good.
Anyway, well done
kind regards
Frank O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a wonderfull stay in the garden villa.

The villa is huge (we stayed 5 nights with our 2 children and only used the ground floor !), with a really great living area with large sofas and big table where you can enjoy dinner with family and friends. The bedrooms are spacious and beautiful with excellent bedding. All the facilities (BBQ, laundry, very well equipped kitchen, verandas, ...) make you feel at home.

The location is excellent, just a short drive from the town and not far from all the great places of the island. At first, we thought we would stay 3 nights in kingscote and 2 nights near the flinders chase, but we were glad we had decided to stay the 5 nights in this villa in kingscote because it was so great, and it is a great launching point to visit all the island.

We met Franck, the owner, and one of his son Simon. They were really nice and welcoming, and of good advice for everything (places to see, restaurants, activities, ... and even where to find the kangaroos at sunset !). Simon works at The Rockpool Cafe (a small beachside restaurant) at Stokes Bay, where we had a nice lunch.

The booking was perfect. I sent an email for enquiry and Franck called me a few hours later to give me all informations needed; he also linked me to a good agency who booked for me the villa, the ferry (sealink) and the car I wanted to rent for our whole trip in Australia.

To make it short, I do recommend the cottages and the villa and would definitely come again !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you Cecile and family for choosing to stay in our Garden Villa.
Meeting people from all over the world is one of the things I love about holiday accommodation and it was certainly a pleasure to meet you.
And thank you for taking the time to review our cottage.
We will look forward to your next visit here
kind regards
Frank and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Frank and Kathy have thought of everything. The cottage itself was massive- could easy sleep 9 or more. Very well fitted out. Kitchen garden out the back and lovely sunny deck out the front. Position in Brownlow is a short drive from Kingscote shops and just over an hour from flinders chase national park. The cottage is just like a home- laundry, BBQ, etc
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you both for taking the time to review our Garden Villa.
Kathy and I love meeting our guests and it is very rewarding to get positive feedback.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at the Island Chalet cottage for three nights. We felt the location (Kingscote area) and the cottage were a perfect base for exploring the island which is easy to get around, but bigger than we expected. We met Frank and his wife who are super nice. Our cottage was perfectly appointed with every amenity. We had only two people, but there would be no problem having 6 or so people in Island Chalet in my opinion. Can't think of a single shortcoming. Make sure you know exactly where you are going when you approach island chalet for the first time as it is well-hidden behind large hedges--we got lost driving around for 10 minutes or so even though we had a Nav system with the address plugged in. Once you know where you are going, the private location will be appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Well it was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you so much for choosing our Island Chalet. Normally we would be at the cottage to greet you, but on this occasion, with the late ferry and the delay caused by the bushfire, it must have been close to midnight when you arrived. We were tucked up in bed while you were searching.
Sorry about that - it is quite hard to see the cottage even with all the lights left on
In any case we are pleased you enjoyed both the island and the cottage and you are most welcome back next time you visit Kangaroo Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We actively researched where to stay on KI and after glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and a few other locations we booked at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages. Officially this is in Brownlow... literally just a two minute drive to Kingscote with its supermarket, shops and restaurants. Great launching point to visit other parts of the island. We stayed in a brand new cottage – only finished in December. Everything was new, clean and comfortable. King sized beds in two of the bedrooms. Two bathrooms made it very easy for four adults to share. Even included thoughtful items like shopping bags and plastic storage containers, books and DVDs – things you don’t think of bringing on holiday. A lovely well stocked kitchen and massive herb garden outside that attracted all sorts of small birds. Frank was very helpful on the phone in assisting the booking. He even waited outside and personally welcomed us and checked us in.

Couldn’t recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whiskie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, Owner at Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. Kathy and I are delighted that you enjoyed the new Villa. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope we may meet again.
Frank O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
50.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.7 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Villas on the Bay Kingscote
13.9 mi away
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
#2 of 2 in American River
31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#5 of 7 in Kingscote
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages

Address: Lot 92 Third St, Brownlow, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £114 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful self-contained cottages set in gorgeous gardens on Kangaroo Island. Fully equipped, clean, private and peaceful. 200m to beach and 3km from main town of Kingscote. The 4 bedroom cottages each have 2 bathrooms, with open plan living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Each cottage sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms. Kangaroo Island is well known for its abundance of native wildlife and spectacular natural scenery. The cottages are a perfect base to explore this wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kangaroo Island Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing