We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”

Kelly Hill Conservation Park and Caves
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped at the caves for an afternoon tour. I’m glad we did, but it was rather underwhelming. Maybe we are just used to bigger/deeper caves around Europe. Also, we saw on the posters about the mysterious hooked shaped stalactites. They weren’t mentioned even once on the tour, so I asked at the end. The guide pointed out a tiny one on the ceiling, so I said I meant the bigger one you show on your advertising. Apparently it had fallen off and was being repaired. Repaired?! They shouldn’t be selling tours where the main thing isn’t there anymore!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaneXF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    92
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tour”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We all loved the tour at Kelly Hill caves. The guide was really friendly and we all had a lot of fun guessing what the formations shapes looked like. Kept the kids engaged. Best caves we've been to, well worth the cost.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The tour was fabulous. We had Don who was very informative. The caves are a constant 16 degrees so if its warm outside take a jacket.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We used our National Parks pass to do this tour. Our guide was Annie, she was informative and allowed us time to take some photo's of these beautiful caves. Definitely worth a visit.There are also walking trails outside the caves so it depends on whether you go for on walk on how much time you can spend here. The cave tour was around 40 minutes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJM2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulf shores
Level Contributor
254 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“A nice activity for an afternoon”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I visited Kangaroo Island in February 2014. The tour was nice and the caves had some very interesting formations. The cave tours in Oz are short, 45 minutes or so. Well worth the stop. The caves are part of your Kangaroo Island Pass so it pays to stop for a visit. On the way to the caves we saw an Echinda as our guide was showing us the old entrance into the cave. This old entrance you would either go down by rope or ladder. Now you just walk down a set of stairs. On the way out of the caves we saw a Rosenberg Goanna. That was cool because apparently they are getting pretty hard to see. They are tracking sightings of these animals at the Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary. This place is off the beaten path so a good place to spot some KI wildlife. We got some very good pictures in the cave. The lighting was real good. Go and enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly Hill Conservation Park and Caves also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Kelly Hill Conservation Park and Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing