We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, delightful, great value.”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Carol C
1 review
“Tranquil, delightful, great value.”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We just loved this place. Three nights was not enough. Beautiful views, comfort and attention to detail put it amongst the best places we have stayed.
We walked nearby Pennington Bay, ate delicious seaford at American River and explored the island by day. At night we enjoyed watching the wild life at the bird bath while sipping wine on the veranda and used the excellent cooking facilities to prepare our evening meal. Comfy beds and wonderful stars topped off a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. We feel very privileged to have wildlife all around us and there's no better vantage point than the verandah to watch their activities.We hope you might return again one day. Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendourre...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secludes spot with great views, watch the sunrise over the water.”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I can readily recommend Kestrel Downs as one of the nicest places we have stayed. We visited Kangaroo Island with 4 friends from Thailand. Even though we had seen photos on the Web we were still surprised by the beautiful view and the feeling of isolation and seclusion. This was a new and special experience for our friends. They also loved waking up to a beautiful sunrise over the water and being able to spot a small kangaroo near the house early one morning. There were also wallabies along the driveway and a variety of birdlife.

The house itself is spacious with a well equipped kitchen, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It would have been very pleasant to have spent all our time there if we hadn’t wanted our friends to see the many attractions that Kangaroo Island has to offer.

Sally was most helpful giving us good advice about the Island’s attractions. It was very useful to know that we should bring much of our food as there aren’t shops nearby and in any case we found it easier to eat in most evenings rather than driving after dark.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We're thrilled to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our holiday accommodation. It is a pleasure to be able to share our peaceful retreat and its wildlife and water views, with our Australian and overseas guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridien
seaford
1 review
“SUPERB PROPERTY & VIEWS”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Excellent accommodation, well equipped, ocean views, peaceful and best side of the island. Close to some beautiful, remote beaches.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our goal is to provide quality accommodation in a unique setting from which our guests can explore our beautiful island. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jadeway
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Tranquility and Nature at its Best”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Kangaroo Island is a unique place in the world and you really couldn't do better than staying at Kestrel Downs. If you are after a place to truly get away from it all this is it. Located within striking distance of the ferry and close to Kingscote, its a perfect spot to make as base camp, and from which to explore the rest of the island. Of course you could also just sit and relax there and not go anywhere. The place is surrounded by native bushland with amazing vistas over the ocean. Be careful driving up the driveway as you will encounter at least a few Wallabies, and a Kangaroo or two. The house is spacious, very clean, and has everything you would need for a getaway. Sally the owner is extremely helpful with all sorts of tips for what to do and see on the island. There are some wonderful walks nearby, and some great tourist spots within driving distance (definitely check out the local Gin Distillery). It had been 20 years since my last visit to KI, and I will be making sure that its not that long until I go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved the water vistas and surrounding wildlife. We love sharing them with our guests. Hope you can come back again one day. Always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kttnt
Hood River, OR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Get Away”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family--2 adults and 2 teenagers, spent 4 nights at Kestrel Downs in August and we hated to leave. We have traveled a lot this year--9 countries on 3 continents, and Kestrel Downs was hands down our favorite place of all.

Kangaroo Island is covered with hideaways and surprises and we barely even scratched the surface by hitting the highlights like Seal Bay, Flinders Chase and the Kelly Caves. We loved the beaches at American River and Baudin Bay.

The biggest problem with out stay was that although we knew there were plenty of places we wanted to see on the island, we didn't want to leave Kestrel Downs. The house is full of light and windows. Every morning I watched the sun come up while I sat in bed drinking my coffee. In the evenings my husband would build a fire then we would cook dinner in the nicely outfitted kitchen and we would watch the stars come out.

Sally was a thorough and generous host. We felt like we had all the hospitality benefits of a hotel along with the privacy of a house. Perfect. Thank you so much Sally!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We're thrilled that you had such a good time and enjoyed the peaceful ambiance of the surroundings. There is something about water and light that is so uplifting. Also glad that you found some of the many treasures on the island. You were wonderful guests and we hope you may return one day. Thank you for looking after our house so well. Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffWins2...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great value, but bring your own coffee and tea!”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed at Kestrel Downs for three nights in March 2016 and had a very pleasant stay. We found it pretty much as advertised, and for the price, it's hard to find too much fault.

That being said, we were surprised by a few things. The biggest surprise was that there was no coffee or tea. Normally, this would not be a big deal, but I need my coffee in the morning, and we hadn't thought to pick up any when we did our grocery shop in Penneshaw, nearly 30 minutes away. There is a kettle, a tea pot and a plunger, as well as two pots of raw sugar, but no coffee or tea bags. It seems strange.

There were also no face towels, so ladies, if you would like one to remove your make-up before you go to bed, you'd be wise to toss one in your bag before heading to KI.

Also, there is no Foxtel, but you do get the basic channels, and there is a decent DVD library. (Besides, you're not really coming to KI to watch TV, are you?) If you are thinking about bringing your own DVDs, don't bother with Blu-Ray, as the player won't play them (something we didn't even think about when we grabbed our un-watched QuickFlix DVDs for the weekend!)

It may seem a bit weird that I'm going on a bit about the television offerings, but here's why: you really shouldn't drive at night. Most of the wildlife is nocturnal, and if you drive after sunset, it's more a question of when you will hit something, rather than if. So, you'll be spending your evenings at Kestrel Downs.

I don't want to overemphasize these points. It is a lovely place to stay, very clean, quiet and private, just as the other reviewers have said, and if we ever return to KI, we will definitely consider staying here again. If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would. It's just that next time I'll be sure to bring a bit of coffee!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, solitude and privacy.
Liked least: The decor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
You were just so close to coffee! There's a great little waterfront cafe in the American River township, just a short drive down the road.
At most self-contained accommodations, guests bring their own food provisions. As a courtesy, we provide condiments, but we welcome our visitors to let us know if they have any special requests and we will do our best to fulfill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnGeorgi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our stay at Kestrel Downs. I stayed here with my mature parents for 2 nights, to explore Kangaroo Island. Wish we could have stayed much longer! Kestrel Downs is such a beautiful property, with great facilities and surrounded by beautiful bushland. The kitchen is huge and fully stocked. The bathroom was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and all the linens were top quality. It was the best I'd slept in a long time! There was a large selection of DVDs to choose from. Was lovely sitting on the veranda in the evening, drinking wine and watching the local wildlife. Saw lots of lovely birds, wallabies and even a kangaroo. Would definitely stay here again! Sally was very helpful, and we had no issue finding the place or getting inside. Sally also emailed through a great list of things to do while on the island, which was very helpful. Kangaroo Island is an amazing place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We very much value your feedback and are delighted that you had such a good time. We are lucky to be surrounded by native bushland which provides habitat to many of Kangaroo Island's native birds and animals - and allows guests some very special visitors. We hope you are able to return one day. Always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing