We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very worthwhile for real results that last!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kangaroo Island Health Retreat

Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile for real results that last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I went to Kangaroo Island Health Retreat on the recommendation of my friend who swears by it, and I was not disappointed. Sue provided a thorough, no nonsense but caring approach to getting me back on my feet after complete corporate burn-out. The detox worked; the long walks, yoga and pilates were very beneficial, as was getting a good understanding of proper nutrition and how our bodies work. KIHR is set in a beautiful tranquil rural location and I felt fantastic when I got back home! It has put me back on track to taking care of my health.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angeltravels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I found my stay at KIHR to be an enjoyable and valuable experience which left me feeling much healthier and fitter than I arrived.
I would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JStratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

And I feel fantastic.Sue was an absolute inspiration. I had been floundering for a long time and finally feel like I am back on track.The stunning location cannot fail to make a lasting impression. I decided to go to KI after a friend of mine recommended it. She looked so fabulous I just had to go.The rooms were a little basic but I was not looking to be pampered I was looking for results.That is exactly what I got. I learnt so much and feel equipped to live a happy healthy lifestyle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzannahp2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Having never been to a Health Retreat I wasn't sure what to expect but I loved my time at KIHR, I'm definitely feeling fitter and healthier. The location was beautiful, the exercise was great I really enjoyed the beach walking and yoga, the food was yummy and I loved the massage and facial. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superstarsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Kangaroo Island Health Retreat overlooks pristine Emu Bay, which is a great escape from it all.

The lodgings are comfortable, not glamorous, so not a pamper retreat.

It was hard work for the first couple of days, with heaps of stretching, exercise and caffeine headaches (curse you morning coffee!!) but by the end of the week, I felt rejuvenated, lost some weight and for the first time in ages not tired.

The operator is a bit of a health guru, who sometimes can act like a taskmaster!! But she knows her stuff and is really likable. Personally it was what made me apply myself and made all the difference over the course of the week. I have certainly kept it up since I returned home and am feeling great!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanno007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

I just got back from a detox program at Kangaroo Island Health Retreat I look and feel fantastic overall I lost 5kg, I can finally do up my jeans!

Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island is a truly inspiration location and I loved going swimming every day. The retreat was exactly what I was looking for after I’d been indulging a little too much over Christmas/New Year and I needed to get healthy.

I saw the other trip advisor reviews and felt compelled to comment on my own experience because I truly feel inspired from my stay. The rooms are simple but well appointed with views over the bay I had a private bathroom and was definitely comfy. I enjoyed all the exercise and I found Sue (the owner) a great motivator. The nutrition lessons were really informative in fact I’ve already started putting them into practice!

Overall I found the experience truly worthwhile. It is a detox retreat (which is clear on the website!) I suppose if you want to sit around and be pampered it probably isn’t for you, however for me it was exactly what I wanted and needed. I’d definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dais0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

this place is a rip-off, the KIHR website is misleading. By an average persons standards the fitness classes, yoga, pilates, aerobics at KIHR are unprofessional and bit of a joke. Like the 4 reflexology sessions that are basically sticking your feet in a foot rubbing machine bought at an airport? Surpirisingly heating is only available in the communal area, so definitely give the winter months a miss. With no heating allowed in your bedroom it gets freezing if you want alone time. All in all for the kind of money KIHR are asking if you are travelling from a state other than SA you are better off going OS to a genuine health retreat in Langkawi or locally in Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank CarribeanDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
47.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
8.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
25.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
37.9 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Health Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
Address: Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Beach Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kangaroo Island Health Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing