We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My idea of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LifeTime Private Retreats
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Even though the weather was wet and very, very windy, we had 3 wonderful days at Stone Cottage. It is well appointed with quality fittings and with a relaxed ambience. My only comment for the main bedroom's bathroom is the design of the showers, too close to the toilet. Venturing out on dirt roads for over 30 minutes to an hour's drive for dinner with the high probability of hitting a kangaroo is not sensible so the key is to eat in at night. The service by Perry and Nick was flawless, nothing was too much trouble. Snellings Beach is a very special area of Kangaroo Island and the Hannaford family have set up stylish, quality accommodation for that very special holiday you have always dreamt of.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lords_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our property and apologies for the late response! I agree about the showers... I could have killed the builders when I saw where they put them. Anyway I hope it wasn’t a deal breaker!

You may not be aware we have our 'Mates Rates' program where we can offer discounts to past guests so we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Nick Hannaford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights in mid June and this is absolutely the at least once in a life-time place to stay.

Initially we thought it is a bit out of town (Kingscote township) but after several people convince us, We made our booking and hope for the best. We opt for the house only accomodation and choose to have meals delivered to us at an extra cost.

Snelling Beach is beautiful itself, before we got to the sky house we stopped almost every 5 mins to take pictures. Sky is house is at the top of the hill with us busy taking photos we did missed the entrance, lucky Perry was at the office and direct us (and he gave us a bottle of wine for our dinner too). The entry is already a statement and once you get in the house it is just stunning, feeling like you are a world away. it is absolutly a million dollar view and the house is very tastefully decorated.

Angela who made our dinner is a absolutely sweetheart and tailor made our dinner / brekkie which my boyfriend claims the best apple crumble he ever had.

We had 'hire a guide' tour the next day and I think the location actually works out the best as it is midway to flinders chase and it is only just under an hour to airport as well. Will absolutely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our property and apologies for the late response! I’m glad to see the distance didn’t put you off as you often have to travel a bit of distance to find the special places!

We hope to see you again and maybe try another house!

Warm regards,

Nick Hannaford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This is a great place to relax and enjoy the serenity of solitude. My wife and I spent a few days here on our recent Aus/NZ trip and were very happy with the Sky house. We had the full board luxury option and Sky house delievered. Everything was flawless for us, from the airport transfers via private car to the wonderful meals and unbeatable views.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blairs1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our property and apologies for the late response. Being a family business is does mean a lot. We hope to see you again and maybe try another house!

Warm regards,

Nick Hannaford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This was my first trip to Kangaroo Island and I loved it.

The Sky House provided a perfect base for our holiday. It is excellent accommodation with amazing views of Snelling Beach, and the North Coast of KI.

It's not cheap...but it is worth it to indulge every now and then.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our property and apologies for the late response! We hope to see you again and maybe try another house!

Warm regards,

Nick Hannaford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Stunning rammed earth abode with a 5 star view – no dispute. However, the attention to detail (as mentioned in previous reviews) was not totally my experience and may be overlooked if you are opting for the catering inclusion or perhaps lost in romance. The most difficult flaw to discount was an offensive odour emanating (I believe) from the fridge. It was not obvious at first but became progressively offensive over our duration. The fridge is bar size and inefficient so keep this in mind if you intend to self cater. My other criticisms may seem minor however are in relation to a $440 night investment. There is a coffee machine however the coffee grinder does not grind the beans fine enough to achieve a satisfactory result. Fortunately I brought my own coffee and oil (these things had been cited as inclusions). The toiletries provided were minimal. For example a very tiny jar of salts for the bath, a featured highlight. Infact many hotels and B&B’s provide more quality here and usually more than one bath towel per person. Other shortcomings such as no internet (again provided), light globes that didn’t work, a very sad hairdryer and rubbish left (complete with maggots) in the outside bin did not go unnoticed. The record player with a good vinyl selection, books to browse and a few oils (some dried up) to paint were delightful. The welcoming personalised CD and mini cake in oven were also positives. This critique is definitely not to dissuade you as the overall beauty indeed outweighs the short comings I experienced at Sky House.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb22w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our property and apologies for the late response! We really do set high standards for ourselves, so I was disappointed to hear things were not perfect!

Thank you for notifying us about the smell, we later found out the last guests had an esky full of seafood! that dribbled on the floor behind the fridge.

I have also since gone ahead and upgraded the bathroom products to Eveda, and have replaced the coffee grinder as well as we aim to continually improve our product. I hope you will check us out again and maybe try another house!

Warm regards,

Nick Hannaford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Our extended family stayed at both the Cliff and Stone Houses and we had a truly lovely time at Lifetime Private Retreats. Both houses are truly "happy houses", the location, interiors and architecture promote harmony joy and incredible energy. THe four children, aged between 12 and 3, found their groove immediately and were uncannily convivial to each other! Such positive vibes!

Enough has been said about the beauty of the houses and the location, so we wouldn't need to repeat them. Suffice to say, the Lifetime team have done a great job.

We opted for the self-catering option, and we really appreciated the very well-equipped kitchen. We have been to many beautiful beach houses and most have disappointed in this respect with flimsy cookware and cheap knives. Not Lifetime. Every cook's toy, including Microplane graters, is there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumofkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed at The Stone House on an accommodation only basis and we loved the house, the view and also Kangaroo Island and would definitely recommend staying there to friends and family. The 3 houses are located in a remote part of the island but that is part of the appeal.

The only recommendation I can make is perhaps a complimentary 'welcome pack' of local produce would be a nice touch especially as Kangaroo Island is keen to promote their local produce. We have previously stayed in Kudos Villas in Hepburn Springs and Birk’s Boathouse in Goolwa which I would say is of a similar standard to Lifetime’s accommodation and they included a welcome pack of milk, orange juice, locally made bread, locally made muesli and locally made jam. I note on Lifetime’s website you can buy these items as self-service but at $38 per person this seems pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
24.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
40.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
434 reviews
32.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
60.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
196 reviews
26.6 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LifeTime Private Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LifeTime Private Retreats

Address: Rsd 26 North Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Kangaroo Island, South Australia SA5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £245 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LifeTime Private Retreats 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Island paradise where you can choose to stay at one of four Luxury beach villas set on their own stunning coastal Kangaroo Island estates, a place of complete privacy, well away from other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your LifeTime Private Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing