We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LifeTime Private Retreats
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Our extended family stayed at both the Cliff and Stone Houses and we had a truly lovely time at Lifetime Private Retreats. Both houses are truly "happy houses", the location, interiors and architecture promote harmony joy and incredible energy. THe four children, aged between 12 and 3, found their groove immediately and were uncannily convivial to each other! Such positive vibes!

Enough has been said about the beauty of the houses and the location, so we wouldn't need to repeat them. Suffice to say, the Lifetime team have done a great job.

We opted for the self-catering option, and we really appreciated the very well-equipped kitchen. We have been to many beautiful beach houses and most have disappointed in this respect with flimsy cookware and cheap knives. Not Lifetime. Every cook's toy, including Microplane graters, is there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumofkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed at The Stone House on an accommodation only basis and we loved the house, the view and also Kangaroo Island and would definitely recommend staying there to friends and family. The 3 houses are located in a remote part of the island but that is part of the appeal.

The only recommendation I can make is perhaps a complimentary 'welcome pack' of local produce would be a nice touch especially as Kangaroo Island is keen to promote their local produce. We have previously stayed in Kudos Villas in Hepburn Springs and Birk’s Boathouse in Goolwa which I would say is of a similar standard to Lifetime’s accommodation and they included a welcome pack of milk, orange juice, locally made bread, locally made muesli and locally made jam. I note on Lifetime’s website you can buy these items as self-service but at $38 per person this seems pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed at the Cliff House this time as the children were with us. When there was just two of us we stayed in The Sky House. Both are exquisite! Spectacular views from both houses, and the children loved exploring the whole property as if it was their own. Nothing was too much trouble for Nick or Angela who personally took care of any dietry requests, or activities any of us wanted to enjoy. Superb hosts who made you feel at home right away even with our own CD of fabulous music welcoming us when we arrived!!! It's all those extra thoughtful touches that you notice when you stay. Dinner at the Shearing Shed or under the 150 year old fig tree are a must do if you get the chance. The fig tree is a seasonal option when it's canopy is full again. Even though the water temperature in the ocean was quite chilly the children still enjoyed boogy boarding in the ocean and we all loved lunching in the Taverna on the beach as if it was our own private beach shack. The food was exceptional, varied ,interesting and well balanced and the accompanying wines fabulous. We'll be back for sure next time we're in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise225563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Last visit to L.T.P.R. in Feb. 2010 we booked with Nic Hannaford "Cliff House" for our family of 6 to spend Xmas, 23rd.-27th December.
On enquiring to check on our booking last week we were devestated to learn that our booking had not been made. Our entire family are in disbelief especially since we have stayed with L.T.P.R's many times before, our Xmas has been ruined.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank bevjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

A beautiful hidden retreat that provides you with everything you could ever want for a truly lovely holiday, added bonus that it is on the delightful Kangaroo Island. Aesthetically pleasing at every turn (beautiful sandstone, unique shapes, exquisitely natural landscaping, views that stretch forever, a bathtub to die for, great records, fun board games and fabulously stocked kitchen) and with an invisible staff to meet your every wish. We look forward to returning many times.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

First-timers to K I we had first two nights at the lighthouse cottage at Cape Du Couedic, then two nights at the Sky House. These accomm's were the two extremes we wanted...lighthouse cottage was basic and in the wild wind and rocky cape, Sky house was luxurious and surrounded by gentle green hills and a beautiful bay. The sky House was absolutely gorgeous, with it's morrocan decor and the huge arched windows which allowed for taking in the amazing scenery from every corner ..lounge chair, bed, bath....aaaahhhhhh!!!! The house was very well provisioned for self-catering. My hubby made meals which we ate on the deck in our winter woolies with wine in hand and kangaroos for company. The location is so beautiful and we were lucky to have magic weather, we wished we had booked a further night . I would recommend a stay of at least two nights at the Sky House for everyone visiting K I, it is pure magic!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I'm a South Australian and have travelled to some of the most beautiful island destinations in the world; Fiji, Samoa, Borneo and many other beachfront locations including Australia's own north Queensland islands, but I have to say, I was truly amazed to find such a magnificent location sitting right on my doorstep. The Cliff house took my breath away the moment I walked in the door. Its strong Mediterranean, cool feel instantly threw me into relaxed holiday mode. The view from the lounge room is honestly one of the best I have ever encountered due to the blue/green waters below, the white sandy beach with your own private path, rustic natural surroundings and simply the sheer solitude it offers. And what can I say about the cliff face jacuzzi; a perfect beach view by day and a million stars at night. The talking point of the house itself for me was the bedroom tower, lying in bed in the morning and looking straight out to sea and hearing the waves with the window open at night and underneath that, the sunken pit complete with pillows, "shaggy" rug, TV and stereo system, both romantic and yet the kids will absolutely love it.
I highly recommend the cliff house. It is a unique experience right here in South Australia, you really don't need to head overseas.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longweekendexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
24.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
40.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
428 reviews
32.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
60.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
193 reviews
25.2 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LifeTime Private Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LifeTime Private Retreats

Address: Rsd 26 North Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Kangaroo Island, South Australia SA5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: £253 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LifeTime Private Retreats 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Island paradise where you can choose to stay at one of four Luxury beach villas set on their own stunning coastal Kangaroo Island estates, a place of complete privacy, well away from other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your LifeTime Private Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing