We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wildlife and hosts”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tasmania
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays
Ranked #71 of 175 Hotels in Tasmania
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great wildlife and hosts”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We, 2 couples, came because I read you could see platypus and devils in the wild here and those were my top animals I wanted to see in OZ. We saw both of them as well as spotted tailed quolls, brush tailed possums, and pademelons. Make sure you bring food to make dinner with you, we came from cradle mountain and there is nothing on the way (we picked up food, pasta and veggies so it would not spoil, before we got to cradle mountain) full kitchen for cooking. The fireplace was the best since it had rained all day on us while we were walking at cradle mountain we were able to warm up and dry all of our wet things by the fire. When we got there the fire was already lit for us which was very nice and they had emailed about us coming earlier to see the platypus, who was showing up before we had arranged for us to get there originally. It takes a while to get here, it really is in the middle of nowhere, but it is very worth it! Len took us out to see the platypus and was a wealth of info on all the animals and nature as we walked to and from. He came back to put the meat on our porch that night so we could see all of the animals that come out at night that most people never see. He also gave us a check sheet so we could help them participate in knowing what was coming and what devils, they have some different markings and we filled out where markings were on the sheet and times things came, which was neat. The pademelons came right away at dusk and shortly after the possums around 7. The quoll took a few more hours to show up around 9. Then quolls and possums came back and forth the rest of the night. We were so tired we could not stay up past 10 so I set and alarm to get up at 11:30 to check for the devils. No sign of devils at 11:30 so I kept watching and going back to bed and listening and I got up about 10 times in that half hour to check because I kept hearing feet on the deck. Finally when I was about to give up I heard crunching next to the window of bones breaking, which was a very different noise then the others were making so I got up one more time and there he was! I woke up everyone else and we watched him for awhile, it was great. He came back one more time to get the rest of the chicken. We all thought this was our favorite place we stayed out of our almost 3 weeks in OZ, it was very cosy. We would have liked to have stayed a second night, but I had packed alot into our schedule and had no more time to give. We did not have time for the cave or trails in the area so a second dat there would have been great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Animals were the star of the show, followed closely by our friendly and knowlegable hosts.
A great place for a couple to get away from consumerism, phones and Internet. Also would be suitable for families or groups of friends who wanted to catch up by the fire waiting for the devil's to wake up.
The cabins were not new but functonal and quite large. The fireplace was a lovely Cosy retreat from the rainy weather we had. The kitchen has a microwave, fridge, small oven., electric frypan and toaster. Everything you need really.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank popcorn_cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Simple clean cabins. Only negative was a bit old fashioned, low shower pressure and kitchen a bit old, BUT it did not matter, as the stay was fantastic. Len, the host was an absolute delight and a fountain of knowledge about the local environment and wildlife. There is no phone or internet reception, which was refreshing. There is a landline if you really need to connect, but we enjoyed getting away from technology. The property is beautiful, with pademelons over the area. Early morning or evening, stroll down to the river to watch the platypus I'm the wild. Stay up at night in front of your log fire and watch brush tailed possums, eastern quolls, spotted quolls and Tassie devils stroll around the grounds. If you are too sleepy ( we have two young children) then the hosts have night cameras in the grounds and you can watch the recordings. You can also take a short walk to a local cave to see the glow worms. This does involve a fairly steep walk down into a sinkhole, but Len kindly helped us take the children down slowly. Be prepared for the cooler weather, though electric blankets and the fire helped! Take all you own food and have an amazing experience.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more for the larger rooms as these were all that were available. Not many cabins, so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulf shores
Level Contributor
254 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights in February 2014. Len and Pat are great hosts. The cabins are comfortable and are self contained. There is a nice fireplace if you need heat. You can cook all of your meals in the well equipped kitchen. The reason why we came was for the wildlife and this place does not disappoint. Len took us down each night to look for platypus in the river. They were there each night. The property boasts an abundance of Pademelons. The real show starts at sundown. Len puts out road kill in front of your cabin and the show begins. There is a steady stream of Tasmanian Devils, Pademelons, and Bush Tail Possums. The show goes on all night or until the road kill is gone. The last night we saw the Spotted Tail Quoll. What a treat. Therefore we saw all of the nocturnal creatures Len advertises. We never saw a Wombat but that is okay. It gives us something to see next time. We were so busy we never had time to go into Len's cave system. Once again next time. Place like this are few and far between. My wife and I have been all over the world photographing wildlife. I would put Mountain Valley in the top ten in the world. It is that good. Pat and Len I can not thank you enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my partner earlier this month and absolutely loved it. It's far from luxurious - the cabin was quite basic, and not exactly pretty, but clean enough and rather cosy. The property is remote enough that you have to boil your own water for three minutes before drinking and, being so far from shops or restaurants, you'll either have to bring your own food or pay $25 for a single course meal cooked by Pat (we had it one night and it was nice enough but probably better value to bring your own food). Mountain Valley is out of the way and requires driving on an unpaved road, albeit not a challenging one. None of these things were a big deal to us, but I raise them because they might be issues to people who are used to more luxurious accommodation.

However I loved it here and regard it as hands down the most memorable place I've ever stayed at within Australia. If you like animals, you should definitely stay here too. Within five minutes of arrival we saw an echidna and a whole bunch of pademelons, and we saw platypi and glow worms on the two respective tours. I really recommend taking every tour offered, as Pat and Len really know their stuff, and it's the best way to spot animals. When you consider how much wildlife spotting tours are on their own, the free inclusion of several wildlife spotting tours in the room price makes the tariff really good value. A special highlight for us was the glow worm tour - as a non-commercial cave it was completely different to anything we'd seen before, and even though we only saw a dozen or so glow worms due to the heavy rain throughout our stay (making for a very muddy descent!), it was an incredible experience from start to finish.

But the real reason to stay is having wild (not to mention threatened) species right at your doorstep. Watching Tasmanian devils and quolls feed and interact from the comfort of your room is unforgettable. For this alone I'd say this place is a must (unless you are not into animals / a 5-star-only sort of person).

I'd also add that we found Pat and Len very accommodating, and appreciated Pat going out of her way to make us dinner despite the very late notice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A beautiful out of the way part of Tasmania. We both love wildlife and were not disappointed in our stay with Pat & Len. Some people would not think the cabins luxurious but they are very clean & comfortable with plenty of room and a wonderful open log fire to light on a cool evening. Len & Pat are very friendly and Len is a font of knowledge regarding the local flora & fauna. We wanted to get away from it all and this is certainly the place to do it. If you want to step off the merry go round for a while and re-think the important things in life and just experience nature in all her beauty then this is the place to do it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is situated in an out of the way place called Loongana and the main reason for being here is to enjoy the environment and its wildlife with the aid of its owners who are very friendly and knowledgeable. If you wish they will put food out near your cabin each night giving you the chance to see various creatures such as devils and quolls, with the certainty of a mob of pademelons.There is also the chance of seeing a platypus if you visit the river at dusk.
There are 5 units of various sizes and levels of comfort all overlooking Black Bluff. These units and their differences are not well described on the web site so I will cover in some detail the most basic unit,in which we stayed, to try and give a better idea of what is on offer. This basic standard unit was quite comfortable and adequate for our needs. It has a large, carpeted area for sitting with a settee and a very large log fire. Also here is a double bed with a single bed over and a triple bunk bed. The kitchen is a good size and comes with a fridge, toaster, microwave, a 2 ring stove with a small oven and grill plus adequate cooking equipment and crockery. The bathroom is a good size as well.

Room Tip: The room you choose depends entirely on the level of comfort you want. All are similarly placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedTeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tasmania hotels
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Sheffield Motor Inn
Sheffield Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays

Property: Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays
Address: 1519 Loongana Rd, Tasmania 7315 , Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 175 Hotels in Tasmania
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing