We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to visit”

Bridestowe Lavender Estate
Ranked #16 of 193 Shopping in Tasmania
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bridestowe Lavender Estate is one of the world's largest fine lavender farms. It grows, harvests and distills over 120 acres of the world's most desirable lavender in picturesque rows, all open to the public. There is an onsite cafe, retail and vistor facilities with ample parking and easy access. The shop and cafe feature a range of unique, lavender focused products, gifts and food available for purchase All parts of the farm are open for visitors to explore. The farm is open for visitors year round (however please check our website for opening hours) Flowering is typically in the months of December and January (please note: during the flowering period a A$10 entry fee per person may be applied) and harvesting and distillation also takes place during that period. Guided farm tours are provided during the peak season, although tours can be arranged by prior arrangement with the farm. Free entry year-round (and 10% off online orders) can be obtained by joining our "Friends of Bridestowe" program and bringing the confirmation email to our gate at time of entry. Bridestowe has more recently become famous as the home of "Bobbie the Bear" who is soon to star in his own children's TV series and is proud to be the face of the current Tasmanian Safe Driving campaign
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited during Winter, so no flowers in bloom but we still enjoyed our visit. Wasn't too busy so we could sit where we wanted. We had scones and coffee and it was very nice. We did buy afew things from the gift shop, although I did find it abit expensive, otherwise I would have bought quite a lot more. Overall, a nice place to visit.

1  Thank RosepetalsTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 267 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me and my partner planned to visit Launceston in the weekend and this was planned at least 1 month ahead, we knew the farm doesnt open during weekend in Winter. Hence 2 weeks ago Bronwyn asked us to write an email, the email was done with all the details in it. A call was made, and Bronwyn said she will drop us 2 bears in the Launceston Visitor Centre, we were there on Sat and unfortunately the 2 ladies in the centre, spent a great amount of time searching for it unfortunately no luck. We tried again on Sunday, hoping she perhaps dropped in on Sat night, no luck either. We had to return to Sydney and a phone call was made to Bronwyn, instead of being helpful, she was having attitudes, cut me off over the phone, saying is not her fault, she first said she post it, then she said she dropped in on Friday, it is very conflicting of your information. Regardless, there wasnt any apologies or anything, this clearly is of your stupidity, you asked us to write you an email, everything every detail is in the email, so how could you still mistaken that? we came because of your reputable farm, we could have got the bears in sydney yes, perhaps a bit expensive but i'm sure the tickets and accommodation would have outweighted the actual cost. We are really disappointed, and you def have an attitude problem, looking at your linkedin I am puzzled about the part you've written 'superior customer service skill' that's how you do it? Gee! You're really a shame. Even though the farm could produce high quality lavenders but having people like you in the farm is really, a pity I would say. Moreover, apparently whilst we were in town, the bobbie bear was only $20 until Chinese people made popular of your bear, I can understand the business part of view that it'd be up priced, but, what we are paying behind this is the quality and reputation of your farm, not your poor customer service skill.

4  Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronwyn b, Public Relations Manager at Bridestowe Lavender Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Jacqueline
I would like to point out a few things in regard to your review.
Firstly, unfortunately our Company does not harassment , bullying or threats to our staff.
We understand that there are many people who would love to buy Bobbie, our Bridestowe bear and when you contacted us to find out opening times and were advised that over Winter we are closed on the weekends, you were also advised that Bobbie the bear was available from our online store.
However you were still insistent you would like to buy one from Tasmania, so the staff member contacted the Launceston Visitors centre and asked if they had stock and could 2 bears be put aside for you and your partner. the staff member also followed up on a subsequent trip (50 minutes from the farm) to the visitors centre to make sure the bears were put away for you. It was unfortunate that there were staff on at the visitors centre during the weekend who were not aware of the situation: however the blame can not be put on to Bridestowe for this error as we went over and above for you by contacting the Centre twice to confirm that the bear would be available for you. However, as most people can appreciate the Visitors Centre is not our business to run.
During your abusive call on the following Monday you were advised by the staff member that the call would be terminated if you did not calm down and stop yelling. Indeed the tone of your review indicates your attitude as you have called the staff member both a liar and stupid and we are considering our options with this" review."
Please feel free to contact the manager of the Launceston visitors centre who is available week days and who can vouch that every step was taken by the Bridestowe staff member to get a positive result for you and to confirm that the staff member did contact the visitors centre on 2 occasions- once by phone and once by physical visit) . It would appear from further conversation with the Visitors Centre that 2 other Chinese customers had purchased the bears as the staff mistakenly thought they were the customers the bears were being held for.
Bobbie has not been $20 for many years and the recent price increase is a results of (among other factors) extra logistics, staffing , transport, raw materials and in particular the costs to produce anti counterfeiting measures to reduce the incidence of fake products.
You were offered to pick up 2 Bobbies from a Sydney location by our managing director , which you did not take up.
With hundreds of orders, emails and phone calls each week , the vast majority of our customers walk away happy with their experience and delighted with their purchase.
With the high volume of Bobbies finding new homes, very occasionally, there is an issue. This is why we encourage people to visit the store and if not possible to complete the online ordering process.
The only protocol the staff member has broken was to offer to organise a customer order outside the online store process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We visited the farm whilst the flowers were in full bloom and just before they were harvested as well as after the harvest. The aroma was amazing. There is a coffee shop and a shop front as well as an online shop. The online shop doesn't have all the products that are available in the shop front. I purchased a few of the products. The prices can be a bit steep but the the object of the visit was the farm. We walked through the lanes of plants and all you could smell was the recently harvested lavender. I bought lavender incense to try from the shop front for $10. they were worth the price...very good product.

Thank The_Cassidy_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Bridestowe was on our route so we dropped in rather uncertain as we had read so much about the fees. Fortunately despite it being December there seemed to be no fees the day we were there. While the views across the lavender fields were beautiful once we had exited the car, I doubt if we would have gone in if there had been fees. Which would have been a shame for all concerned as we spent about $150 in the store.

2  Thank CartoPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Could not believe how rude and condescending the staff were to the Asian visitors in the gift shop - and there was a coach load of them, all spending a lot of money. Wake up to yourselves, disgraceful behaviour.

14  Thank blackduckNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridestowe Lavender Estate also viewed

 
Lilydale, Launceston
 

Been to Bridestowe Lavender Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing