We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitor Information Centre staff visit”

Bridestowe Lavender Estate
Ranked #781 of 688 things to do in Tasmania
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bridestowe Lavender Estate is one of the world's largest fine lavender farms. It grows, harvests and distills over 120 acres of the world's most desirable lavender in picturesque rows, all open to the public. There is an onsite cafe, retail and vistor facilities with ample parking and easy access. The shop and cafe feature a range of unique, lavender focused products, gifts and food available for purchase All parts of the farm are open for visitors to explore. The farm is open for visitors year round (however please check our website for opening hours) Flowering is typically in the months of December and January (please note: during the flowering period a A$10 entry fee per person may be applied) and harvesting and distillation also takes place during that period. Guided farm tours are provided during the peak season, although tours can be arranged by prior arrangement with the farm. Free entry year-round (and 10% off online orders) can be obtained by joining our "Friends of Bridestowe" program and bringing the confirmation email to our gate at time of entry. Bridestowe has more recently become famous as the home of "Bobbie the Bear" who is soon to star in his own children's TV series and is proud to be the face of the current Tasmanian Safe Driving campaign
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visitor Information Centre staff visit”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I recently took our team of volunteers from the Scottsdale Visitor Information Centre to visit Bridestowe Estate and experience first hand what we refer our visitors to see.
A number of volunteers where visiting Bridestowe for the first time and the experience for them was brilliant. Fantastic staff on hand to help, beautiful scenery, the cafe and gift shop are A+. On a personal note having taken friends there it continues to impress on all levels. A credit to Tasmanian industry and tourism. Kathy Coordinator Scottsdale Visitor Information Centre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottsdaleInfoCntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronwyn b, Public Relations Manager at Bridestowe Lavender Estate, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
To the staff from Scottsdale Visitors centre, it is always a pleasure to host visitors centres and their staff and we appreciate your support of Bridestowe Lavender. We encourage and invite all Tasmanian accredited visitors centres to contact us for a famil on 63528182,
We are happy to show you around and increase your knowledge of Bridestowe.
Thanks sincerely for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    116
    69
    27
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“ Beautiful Purple Fields of Lavender”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We were overwhelmed by the wonderful aroma and majestic fields, fields and more fields of beautiful purple lavender on our early arrival at Bridestowe Lavender Farm.
If possible try to get there early to avoid the throng of crowds and buses coming in all day.
It really is a beautiful place to visit while the lavender is still in is full flower.
Interesting information in the working sheds on how the lavender is harvested and the oils extracted.
We enjoyed fresh and light lavender scones with lavender tea.
The gift shop is expensive, however, we still bought pure lavender oil and other lavender products
Really worth a visit but if possible try to get there when the lavender is in full bloom.
Probably best to check their website for those details.

Helpful?
3 Thank MollyD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great scones!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Interesting place to visit, even on a rainy winter's day. The smell of lavender still lingered in the air out in the fields. Will have to visit another time when the fields are in bloom!

The (lavender) scones were delectable - light & fluffy, moist and 'melt in your mouth' amazing!! A lot of merchandise in the store is overpriced, but there are some items that are reasonably priced. Huge range of lavender items. I'm not someone that has a passion for lavender but still found the lavender farm enjoyable and worth the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dream2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We visited during Winter, so no flowers in bloom but we still enjoyed our visit. Wasn't too busy so we could sit where we wanted. We had scones and coffee and it was very nice. We did buy afew things from the gift shop, although I did find it abit expensive, otherwise I would have bought quite a lot more. Overall, a nice place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RosepetalsTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bronwyn you are rude, how can you be a marketing manager?”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me and my partner planned to visit Launceston in the weekend and this was planned at least 1 month ahead, we knew the farm doesnt open during weekend in Winter. Hence 2 weeks ago Bronwyn asked us to write an email, the email was done with all the details in it. A call was made, and Bronwyn said she will drop us 2 bears in the Launceston Visitor Centre, we were there on Sat and unfortunately the 2 ladies in the centre, spent a great amount of time searching for it unfortunately no luck. We tried again on Sunday, hoping she perhaps dropped in on Sat night, no luck either. We had to return to Sydney and a phone call was made to Bronwyn, instead of being helpful, she was having attitudes, cut me off over the phone, saying is not her fault, she first said she post it, then she said she dropped in on Friday, it is very conflicting of your information. Regardless, there wasnt any apologies or anything, this clearly is of your stupidity, you asked us to write you an email, everything every detail is in the email, so how could you still mistaken that? we came because of your reputable farm, we could have got the bears in sydney yes, perhaps a bit expensive but i'm sure the tickets and accommodation would have outweighted the actual cost. We are really disappointed, and you def have an attitude problem, looking at your linkedin I am puzzled about the part you've written 'superior customer service skill' that's how you do it? Gee! You're really a shame. Even though the farm could produce high quality lavenders but having people like you in the farm is really, a pity I would say. Moreover, apparently whilst we were in town, the bobbie bear was only $20 until Chinese people made popular of your bear, I can understand the business part of view that it'd be up priced, but, what we are paying behind this is the quality and reputation of your farm, not your poor customer service skill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronwyn b, Public Relations Manager at Bridestowe Lavender Estate, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jacqueline
I would like to point out a few things in regard to your review.
Firstly, unfortunately our Company does not harassment , bullying or threats to our staff.
We understand that there are many people who would love to buy Bobbie, our Bridestowe bear and when you contacted us to find out opening times and were advised that over Winter we are closed on the weekends, you were also advised that Bobbie the bear was available from our online store.
However you were still insistent you would like to buy one from Tasmania, so the staff member contacted the Launceston Visitors centre and asked if they had stock and could 2 bears be put aside for you and your partner. the staff member also followed up on a subsequent trip (50 minutes from the farm) to the visitors centre to make sure the bears were put away for you. It was unfortunate that there were staff on at the visitors centre during the weekend who were not aware of the situation: however the blame can not be put on to Bridestowe for this error as we went over and above for you by contacting the Centre twice to confirm that the bear would be available for you. However, as most people can appreciate the Visitors Centre is not our business to run.
During your abusive call on the following Monday you were advised by the staff member that the call would be terminated if you did not calm down and stop yelling. Indeed the tone of your review indicates your attitude as you have called the staff member both a liar and stupid and we are considering our options with this" review."
Please feel free to contact the manager of the Launceston visitors centre who is available week days and who can vouch that every step was taken by the Bridestowe staff member to get a positive result for you and to confirm that the staff member did contact the visitors centre on 2 occasions- once by phone and once by physical visit) . It would appear from further conversation with the Visitors Centre that 2 other Chinese customers had purchased the bears as the staff mistakenly thought they were the customers the bears were being held for.
Bobbie has not been $20 for many years and the recent price increase is a results of (among other factors) extra logistics, staffing , transport, raw materials and in particular the costs to produce anti counterfeiting measures to reduce the incidence of fake products.
You were offered to pick up 2 Bobbies from a Sydney location by our managing director , which you did not take up.
With hundreds of orders, emails and phone calls each week , the vast majority of our customers walk away happy with their experience and delighted with their purchase.
With the high volume of Bobbies finding new homes, very occasionally, there is an issue. This is why we encourage people to visit the store and if not possible to complete the online ordering process.
The only protocol the staff member has broken was to offer to organise a customer order outside the online store process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridestowe Lavender Estate also viewed

 

Been to Bridestowe Lavender Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing