We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Transit Backpackers
Ranked #46 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here one night after camping around Tasmania. It was great to have a bed. This hostel is cheap and doesn't provide much character.

Unfortunately, while I was there the internet was down. I wish this was told to me before I checked in because I needed to prepare a lot of travel arrangements as it was my last night in Tasmania. I would have definitely paid a couple extra dollars to stay somewhere that had internet, just for convenience.

The common area had the TV on every time I went through it. Not my favorite thing when staying at a hostel, but I think this is because there were many people who were staying for extended periods of time.

One awesome thing was that Australia Day was the day we checked out. The hostel hosted a great BBQ for all the guests and served everyone food... FOR FREE!!

Room Tip: Stay during the Australia Day BBQ. Free food for backpackers is a real treat!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J13Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Transit Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

After checking out a few backpackers…We found Transit Backapackers with a smile after doing the overland trek..Its clean and well looked after…and close to town too.The staff are friendly and we felt safe here.look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJOy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

not the best place to stay as its easy for them to kick out anyone without try to investigate the situation , the stuff mingle with people business with loud noise and excessive noise as the stereo supply by the night manager , the taps water been broken for month nobody fix and nobody cared , highly recommended not to stay there as also very dirty

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent a week in this hostel. First two nights in a 6 people dorm, with a tiny window that made breathing hard, and noisy beds that woke everyone up whenever someone moved. The next 5 days we spent them in a windowless twin room that only had a small ventilator to provide some fresh air, and the walls were very humid. Kitchen was too small for the number of guests, only one sink for 80 people and no oven. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly, but it was not enough for the big crowd. Staff friendly though, and they organized a free BBQ for Australia day.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maguichu_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was an OK hostel. The rooms were cheap but the dorms were quite small and crowded, and there wasn't much room to put things. The beds were also quite squeaky and noisy. The common room and kitchen were quite big though, plenty of room for everyone even if it was busy. Lots of information on things to do in the area, and the staff were helpful and friendly. It was a noisy hostel though - noise carried throughout the rooms and there were quite a few noisy guests when I was there.

It's fairly close to the centre of the city, and the airport shuttle bus main office and bus stop is directly opposite.

Not sure I'd stay there again, but the price was quite a bit cheaper than other places.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me and my partner booked in to transit backpackers for 2 nights in a private ensuite room. Much to our surprise and disappointment the room was the size of a closet with bunk beds and a large disabled bathroom. We could hardly fit our luggage!! The beds were very uncomfortable and the room is right next to the front door of the hostel which is super noisy. Needless to say we got barely any sleep and decided not to stay on for a second night.
Kitchen facilities were poor and the general cleanliness of the place left a lot to be desired.
Can definitely not recommend this hostel. Definitely not worth $85/night!!!! Find something elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was staying at Transit Backpackers when attending Hobart for a conference and was happy with my stay. Because accommodation was included as part of the conference deal I can not comment on the price, but from what I understand it's quite cheap.
The dorms were a little cramped, but the beds were comfortable and you except the room to be slightly cramped in a hostel. The mattress was a little thin, but the beds were comfortable. The communal bathrooms were always immaculate and the shower always had good pressure and very hot water (necessary in freezing Hobart). All the staff were very helpful and happy to point you in the right direction of places or call taxis for you and there was great kitchen facilities, some of the best I've seen in a hostel. The location was fairly good, only about a 15 minute walk to the wharf area or to Salamanca area, which were the only places I visited as I had little time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#35 of 48 in Hobart
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#23 of 48 in Hobart
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#18 of 48 in Hobart
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Backpackers

Address: 251 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £11 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are dormitory rooms, with up to 20 beds, and double and twin rooms for travellers to stay in.There are two airport shuttles to pick you up and drop you off at the door, and the accommodation is in close proximity to the Salamanca area. Transit backpackers is conveniently located in the heart of Hobart.Established by two born and bred Tasmanians, Mark and Theresa, Transit Backpackers enjoys a unique homely backpacker atmosphere with a reputation built on friendly personal service.We have a well equipped kitchen and laundry for all your holiday needs and you can also join one of our weekly barbeques - check at the front desk for times.Relax and Chill out, before or after your Tassie Adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Transit Backpackers Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing