We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Ranked #15 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to Stay on a budget”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a great place to stay ,when we arrived there was no one there , but after waiting for around 10 minutes someone arrived and let us to our room,we where jet lagged and needed a rest ,we had a room with a bunk-bed,a desk ,chair and a mirror .

The Staff where knowledgable and helpful gave us the information we needed when we wanted to go places.They even let us keep our luggage behind the counter while we went to Salamanca Markets.

The rooms where clean and where being cleaned while we where there .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Emma,
thank you for your stay with us, hope to see you around sometime in the future.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    153
    46
    15
    17
See reviews for
20
70
183
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Having seen that Hobart Hostel was rated quite highly on trip advisor I quickly decided to book it, however I now wish I had looked around a bit more as I was very disappointed with my stay.
When I arrived I felt as if I was not at all welcome, the man at reception was very unwelcoming and did not ask me how I was or how my journey was, it makes such a difference to people who have travelled far and also lone travellers. I was shown to my room which was extremely cold the whole stay, the beds however were sufficiently comfortable. The next morning someone came into the room to "clean" which consisted of a lady spraying some sort of cleaning product into the air and all over the beds - wasn't really cleaning to me? Showers were hot and nice but again the bathroom was freezing!! I feel there was a severe lack on comfort in this place!
The kitchen is fine and just about clean enough, I went for plastic cutlery rather than using the metal cutlery as it was all a bit dirty but I suppose that is not the hostel's fault.
For me the hostel had a severe lack of any atmosphere, it was cold, dark and felt more like an empty box than a comfortable place to stay. There didn't seem to any staff available other than an unfriendly man (who I'm guessing is the manager) who seemed rude and unhelpful. If I could give any travellers some advice it would be to shop around for your hostel - I definitely made the mistake of picking here because I thought I could rely on reviews but every view is different and maybe I was just unlucky. Also a tip for the owner or manager who replies to comments on Trip advisor..maybe you should reply with a little more grace and maturity as people do read reviews and replies and can see that you are not the friendliest of people and it certainly puts people off staying at your hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlottlelucy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello,
I thank you for your recent stay at our family hostel. Related to your comments, I do not know how to reply ! Probably the best way is not saying nothing, because all what you have commented simply does not make any sense for the service and installations we offer to all. Other potential guests, if anyone read what you wrote, soon understand that you are not fully capable on you mind.
Have a great day.
Owner/manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed three night there in mid June. First moment, I was a bit afraid because with the weather the room was a bit damp and cold, but with the spare heater and the people in the room it got warm and comfortable quite quick. The hotel is not in the center but not far at all. it's worth the price you pay for it, don't be too demanding for what it cost. The bed sheets are clean and the room is ok. The bathroom could be improved ( seat of the toilet was loose, no latch on one of the shower door...).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sim0nH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello,
Winter season in Hobart can be a bit nasty ! we cannot do much about, is a mother's nature issue.
Try to come down to Tasmania in the spring / Summer season, you will be very impressed for sure.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at the ensuite room, location was good, the service was good, the size of the room was tiny,the bathroom was small as well and very close to the bed. During this trip, for the same cost we stayed at a motel in hobart which had a much bigger room and bathroom, but slightly far from the CBD. Overall, the room was decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pre872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello, thank you for your recent stay with us, appears that you have stayed on a compact on-suite room. Yes they are small; but comfortable enough for our standard as a "Hostel" We have larger rooms on the first floor, next time you like to come over, please let us known and if possible we will provide to you a better room for few extra dollars.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hostel is right in town and a short stroll to the Salamanca area. The rooms are very comfy and the shower we had was perfect! At well under $100 a night you get great value and for people on a budget Hobart Hostel is perfect. A tip: we hired a car, which you can park out front, day 1: mount field national park, day 2: port Arthur area Day:3 Mona and Huonville. Total for accommodation in this time a bit over $200 and car about $150, between 2 people that's great value and you can see a lot of the beautiful Apple Isle

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry_Henry_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Henry,
Pleased having you around for a short while with us at this bitter winter season.
We would be glad to see you again in the near future.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In went to hobart hostel for three nights and it was really cold but thanks to the heater you can be warm during the night. Water shower was always hot and the room was clean and had lots of room. The owner is really friendly and all the hostel is relaxed. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your stay with us, lets hope to you again in the near future.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are really impress with the cleaniness. All staffs the owner are very helpful and friendly, it was our first visit to Tasmania. Good location, convenient to move around. Clean kitchen for cooking with fridge to store food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yeohgeokpheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello,
thank you for your stay with us recently and your feed back related to your experience at our family hostel.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#34 of 48 in Hobart
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

Property: Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Address: 41 Barrack St | Corner Barrack and Goulburn Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer to all guests a unique experience, while visiting our wonderful Hobart City. Our customs service and rooms are well above anyone expectations "as a hostel:. we have a full range of options related to rooms, from Queen & Double en-suite - Queen & Double or single private rooms - and typical dormitories with shared facilities. - All rooms are modern, with the requested needs. - “Our hostel is NOT a party one” - guests can enjoy a relax experience gathering other guests. - We have 12 private rooms with several configurations and 5 rooms dormitory type, with a full capacity of 55 guests. That’s to say, we cater for any type of budget or desire. Give yourself a go and your experience will be a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart`s Hotel Hobart
Hobart`s Accommodation And Hostel
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing