We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gibson's Mill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sullivans Cove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gibson's Mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Fantastic, well appointed apartment. Super comfortable beds. Great position, particularly for the Mona Ferry and proximity to Salamanca place. it was an easy walk to the main shopping centre too. We will recommend and we will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a westerly facing room on the top level, it was light filled. The rooms on the easterly side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3TEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our newest location-Gibson's Mill. Gibson's Mill has only been open for a couple of months and as you say are in a great location central to all the waterfront and Salamanca have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    219
    50
    26
    20
See reviews for
238
204
3
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in serviced penthouse IXL apartment 501 which features a panoramic view of this beautiful harbour upstairs with an outdoor BBQ area living room with Shaub Lorenz TV Miele coffee machine and three bedrooms downstairs. The best thing about this fantastic apartment was the deepest bath imaginable able to accommodate my tall frame

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Glad you enjoyed the bath, they are really great in all of the IXL apartments! The penthouses in the IXL building all boast excellent views of the waterfront and all our apartments are centrally located in and around Hobart's waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have just spent a really enjoyable two nights in the IXL apartments behind the Henry Jones Art Hotel. We loved the location down on the docks and the easy accessibility to everything. We loved the fabulous staff who were so helpful, even putting themselves out when we were late getting back to pick up our bags. And most of all we loved the way that we felt instantly at home when we walked into the apartment. I was travelling with my Dad as a treat for his 60th birthday and we were able to host friends in 'our' apartment. We enjoyed the penthouse view, the balcony and light filled living space. The beds were fantastic and the bathrooms gorgeous. A great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always great to read that our apartments have provided an excellent experience for our guests. All of our apartments are big enough for guests to host family or friends for dinner or a quiet drink before heading out to a nearby restaurant. We hope your dad enjoyed his birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Thanks to the success of MONA, it's hard to get a room in Hobart these days, let alone one catering for anything other than couples. We stayed for two nights in a new Gibsons Mill apartment, which had only been completed for a couple of weeks. Although next door to one of the city's noisiest nightspots, we enjoyed complete silence - the soundproofing is that good. The apartment is beautifully fitted out, equipped with a great kitchen and the position is the best in Hobart. An outside deck would make this apartment perfect - but hey, we can't have everything, can we?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morewine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review and for the high praise of Gibson's Mill! It's great to read that you were so happy with your apartment, we are certainly proud of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Shared one of the expensive IXL penthouse apartment with another couple for 3 nights at $530 per night as a treat. There were numerous problems with the apartment which was cheaply done up to look luxurious. The shower tap in the main bathroom fell off in my hand as soon as it was touched. The 2nd bathroom and toilet is visible from the floor above unless one closes the blind which was broken so our friends felt uncomfortable sitting on the toilet knowing that we could see them from the floor above. A very odd design. The very large air conditioning unit was right next to the 2nd bedroom and sounded like a train all night. The housekeeper told me that it is a known problem but there is to much that can be done about it. The Internet did not work etc etc. When I phoned management they already knew about all of them yet had not fixed them before we checked in. By the end of the 3 days the Internet still had not been fixed. Oh yes and when we checked in at 2 pm, the apartment was still being cleaned and we were told to come back in 45 minutes. When you are paying $530 night this is totally unacceptable. The manager was very helpful and tried to rectify the problems but they shouldn't have existed in the first place for an apartment of this supposedly high standard. Would never stay here again and would definitely not recommend.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. I do remember your stay as it is a very rare thing that we cannot check a guest in on time. We strongly believe that apartments should be ready for 2PM check in and I apologise again as I did on the day that the apartment was not ready when you arrived. We did our best to minimise the wait time for you. The motorized blind on the bathroom window in that apartment had failed the day before your arrival and we had someone on the way to fix it, unfortunately they could get to us until your first morning but were able to put the blind down for you then. Internet issues are also a rare issue in the IXL building and on this occasion we did need to get someone in to have a look at it, I believe that was fixed on day 2 of your stay. It is really unfortunate that things went awry at the beginning of your stay, we had hoped that our fixes had made up the experience for you. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to provide an experience that is up to the high standards that we try to offer to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in the 1-BR Gibson's Mill apartments, Sullivan's Cove's new precinct. For the positives:

Great location - one minute from Brook St Pier and the waterfront
Furnishings - new (as the apartment is new), beds comfy, enough amenities for a short stay
Service - no real issues, but then again didn't have much to call about

Now for the reason this property is very poor value:

Natural light - MINIMAL. It's on the first floor, with 3 quarter size windows starting about 2M up the wall, facing the services of the building next door (about a metre away). I know it's a converted mill, but it feels like a dungeon.

Layout/Size - we were two single travellers, and I called to double check that the room was appropriate. The 'bedroom' section (separated by a sliding glass door from the main room) had two twin beds in it literally 6 inches apart. You couldn't open the cupboards at all because they hit the bed. You couldn't close the glass door or you wouldn't be able to walk around the bed. A king size bed/twins is too much bed for the space. Reasonable for a single traveller (if it were a queen size only), but not for a couple or unrelated friends.

Bathroom - HUGE (which is great). It's a wetroom, but literally not a single place to put something down. No shelf, no cupboard, no sinktop - NOTHING. Not even a hook for the bathrobe or towel. We put our toiletry bags on the floor (in a wetroom).

Lighting - I have eagle eyesight, but the lighting in the apartment is very poorly designed and there's not enough light to read by in the lounge area.

Noise - the pub next door is loud and you can hear it through the walls. Yes, it closes at midnight but if you want to go to sleep before then, bring earplugs.

The room is clearly a handicapped accessible one (based on the rails near the shower), but a wheelchair could not get beside the bed, nor could someone in a wheelchair reach the pull cords for the blinds (we're not handicapped, but we realised this after grumping about the layout/size). Poor design.

The teething pains weren't an issue - things like a sink plug missing or one of the beams settling and sending wood shavings down on the floor. The problems were more endemic and permanent.

I guess the biggest issue is that the IXL apartments, with their huge size, balconies, tons of natural light, etc. are the SAME price as these Gibson's Mill apartments, but you get a heck of a lot more at IXL. Gosh, you even get a window! The overall value of Gibson's Mill vs. the other options in Hobart make this a poor value option. Unfortunately, I would not recommend Gibson's Mill as there are better options for business travellers, couples and groups in terms of price/value.

Room Tip: We were in Room 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieChickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
As you've said in your review our Gibson's Mill apartments are very new, they've only been open for a few weeks and we are still completing works on the third floor which will be finished by the end of this month. We have encouraged all of our guests in that location to give us feedback so that we can use those comments to improve the offering. We have taken your (and other guests') comments onboard and made some changes/improvements to the apartments. We have reduced the rate for those apartments while we are still working on them so for new apartments in a great location they are a terrific deal at the moment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed ixl exec apartment- was incredibly well kitted out and really comfortable. Great location on the docks and only a 10 min walk to Salamanca square/market. Reception were really helpful with our requests. Only downside was the noise on Saturday night from a bar next door- we had to sleep with noise cancelling headphones on! But as long as you're prepared for a bit if noise it's fine.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it's great to read that you enjoyed your apartment! All of our apartments are located in and around Hobart's vibrant waterfront which is a working port with lots of restaurants and bars. I think it was a wedding at a nearby hotel that disturbed your sleep and we've spoken to their management as the cutoff for noise from bands, etc is meant to be strickly midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments

Property: Sullivans Cove Apartments
Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing