We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gibson Street Penthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sullivans Cove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Apollo Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Gibson Street Penthouse”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Sensational view overlooking the docks and across the harbour.
Sensational position with the Ferry to MONA across the road, and the Salamanca market a short walk away. Best seafood in Tasmania next door.
Sensational fitout and comfort
Yes, just brilliant. Plenty of room for 4 couples.
Great value

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    222
    50
    26
    20
See reviews for
241
207
3
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tumut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location and immediate walkable immersion into his lovely low line city are great. Spacious self contained apartments. Let down by not quite sparkling housekeeping.Otherwise good, but that just takes the gloss off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fabulous stay. Lovely people. Wonderfully appointed apartments. Internet an issue (so we bought a dongle), but otherwise excellent. Would definitely go back. The wifi issue is common among apartments in our experience. I think the solution is in-room routers, or advertising limited wifi. As was partly working while there, it was an issue. As I say, easily solved with a dongle from Telstra for $99.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marckam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent 3 nights in Hobart recently and stayed at the very convenient Sullivans Cove apartments. We were in a 2.5 bedroom self contained unit on the 5th floor overlooking the marina towards Salamanca place. Apartment was bright spacious and clean. Cooking facilities were very good. We ate in for a breakfast and a dinner, but there was plenty of eating establishments to choose from in the area.

Probably my only grumble was our inability to get the heating right between the main and second bedrooms. One room was pleasant the other was a hot house.

all in all I would recommend it and revisit again. I would just make sure you get into the main bedroom.

Room Tip: Fifth floor you are looking over the surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherAuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The apartment was lovely. Very modern and comfortable. The heating had been left on for us, but it was actually on the air conditioning and the apartment was freezing, once we got that sorted it quickly warmed up. The apartments are quite dark as there are few windows, this of course is because it's in an old historic building. We had a noisy person above us clomping around in shoes. This could be an issue . There are lots of warnings about noise from the pub next door but we didn't hear anything
The parking was a bit of an issue and we ended up parking in the street. The allocated parking is a bit of a walk away. They refunded our parking charges though which was great.
The location is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful stylish apartment with stunning views in 2 directions. Gigantic living area with several comfortable couches and very large balcony. Stayed in 3 bedroom apartment 511 for 2 nights. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny1111b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was traveling with my sister, so needed 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom. We were upgraded to Harborside 2A, which was serene, well laid out, and with gorgeous views of the harbor.
Close to parking garage, and really nice, clean, modern and spacious.
The only downside was the lift wasn't operational when we arrived, so had to lug our suitcases up, but it was wonderful after that.
Showers were silly in that water went everywhere, house keeping very minor, electric blankets on beds would have been nice as we were there in winter....
Close to everything, and one of the most lovely stays though, will definitely return. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments

Property: Sullivans Cove Apartments
Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing