We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good motel, not trying to be anything it's not” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tower Motel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A good motel, not trying to be anything it's not”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

In an easily accessible location out of the city centre, the Tower Motel is reasonably priced. A clean and tidy room with good shower and a decent breakfast. What more could you want? We were in an upstairs room and felt safe and secure. A huge carpark overlooked by all the rooms means peace of mind if you're driving too. Stay here for peace of mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 714NicR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    23
    46
    18
    20
See reviews for
22
41
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We hit Hobart on a very busy weekend, and this hotel was just about all that was available at a reasonable rate. A bit far from the city, but we had a car so that was okay. Pleasantly surprised by our room. Nice interior, we had a quad room for the two of us so plenty of space. Heaps of really nice tea and coffee, in fact plenty of room and nice decor. Rooms were clean and fresh. It is self rated at 3 star. So if you want 5 star this is not for you. We had a second floor room and I will say the stairs have seen better days. Felt a bit unsafe. Needs a bit of tender loving care in spots, but for a couple of days would stay here again. The staff very friendly and helpful, we needed a room for another night and the lady at the front desk did her best to find us somewhere else to stay. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I must admit I was hesitant staying here on the basis of other reviews. We stayed in a standard room at the front of the motel. My understanding is the motel is self rated 3 stars, and honestly I would agree with that rating. It was a basic motel, the bed was a little hard, bathroom was a little tatty, but it had lots of tea and coffee, flat screen tv, kettle and fridge, and more importantly everything was neat and clean. Stylewise it just reminded me of the regional motels we used to stay in when I was young, back in the dim dark '80s, so maybe time for a bit of a facelift, but it was kind of quaint in its own way. The room wasn't massive, but then how much room do you need? I wouldn't stay here for a week, but for a few nights, it was fine. My main complaint would be that there was a fair bit of traffic noise, but not much anyone can do about that.

So all up, for $100 a night, I'd probably stay here again, but I'd probably try and get somewhere a little closer into town as my first option. Although the 30 minute walk from the hotel to the waterfront wasn't that strenuous and it's only about 10 mins walk to the North Hobart restaurant district which was quite nice. So even location wasn't too big an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crstdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed one night in a family room (room 56) as a last resort as almost all hotels were booked out. The room was on the second level via stairs and possibly not the best option for our family due to carrying a baby. The room was comprised of a lounge (3 x single beds, fridge, small tv) , seperate toilet akin to a public restroom, shower and additional room with double bed. The place was clean however due for a major facelift. The room would benefit from new carpet (the present one had holes), better quality mattresses, new tv ( which has reception for >2 channels), new tv remote (the one which we used required us to hold the batteries in it to be able to operate the tv), new linen (the current are dated and frayed/stained), working kettle. Other points would be the lounge would benefit from a sofa bed rather than 3 single beds and also inclusions of an iron/ ironing board/ hairdryer/ complimentary shampoo/ conditioner might also be useful additions and worth future consideration. On the whole, disappointed, worst motel/hotel I have ever stayed in, in Australia. For the price we paid $139 it was very poor considering on wotif you can order a "mystery room" and receive for $127 the Grand Chancellor with a room with double queen beds.
The only exceptional aspect of staying here was the service- which was great.
However, I shudder in fear at the thought of ever staying at this motel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimityVanderpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

at sea
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The rooms are basic and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. We found this to be the least expensive hotel room in Hobart that wasn't a backpacker hostel. No luxurious amenities, but we don't stay in our hotel room other than for sleeping and it was great for that. We had a late arrival into the airport and called in advance. They left a key under the mat for us! How cool is that?

Room Tip: Rooms in back on ground floor seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NineofCups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The motel is close to the city in a quiet area, rooms not so quiet though, you can hear noises from other rooms. Weary needs some rennovation, the staff are friendly and you get basic service. I personally didnt mind it but i agree that it needs some operation attention

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

30 minute walk to city centre so not too bad re location. There is no doubt that the place needs a makeover as it hasn't been renovated for years. So rooms can appear shabby. We had an upstairs room and people walking past shared walkway was annoying, particularly at night. Room window looked over walkway so no privacy unless blinds were drawn. Shower is very tiny. Room was clean and serviced. Basically it is a budget motel so you get what you pay for. A stay could be hell if you had noisy neighbours. We were lucky.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yunghart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
1.6 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#31 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Motel

Property: Tower Motel
Address: 300 Park St, Hobart, Tasmania 7008, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Hobart
Tower Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing