We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Lodge Motel
Ranked #41 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This would have to be the worst accommodation that we have ever stayed in. What place ever asks for photo identification and a surcharge on a visa. We had stayed earlier in year and it was fine. Definitely wont go near there again. The room was dirty n gap under door river rats could walk under. Terrible n that was boutique apartment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    64
    75
    35
    36
See reviews for
42
113
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The room was basic, and the bathroom was grimy. I had to check in after hours and stayed for 3 nights and did not see or hear from anyone from the hotel checking if our stay was going good or not. The place had good scenery but all in all, average. I would recommend for people who aren't afraid of dust bunnies and grime.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Room was very dusty, to the point of clumps on the floors. Cutlery in filthy drawers and also with food scraps stuck to them. Fridge with food residue inside, bathroom tiles meant to be white but had soap scum/mould no dusting had been done, cup ring marks on table. Spoke to reception about unsanitary conditions, we were told that this is the standard that it should be, we asked for it to be re cleaned. Came back about 2 hours later to find it in almost same condition, with the dust just pushed to the other side of the room.we received a full refund, would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I wish that id read the reviews before wasting my time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyyyyyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Elizabeth Town
Level Contributor
348 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel. It is if you get it at the right price very good value for money - less than 100$ or 160$ for the two bedroom. It is in a reasonable location about 5 mins drive from the North Hobart restaurant strip. Our room was the two bedroom. this is oddly set up as it is two rooms. One has a tv and a double bed, the other a double bed and two singles. there sis no seating for the occupants of the second bedroom to watch the tv! the bathroom door is right next to the bed in the main room, which can be awkward / noisy. Our room was appropriately clean, as was the bedding and bathroom. My main gripe is the same as last time I stayed here.is the curtains do not keep out the light. If you need darkness to get to / stay asleep you will need to have eye covers with you.
Other than that if I need a cheap hotel in hobart this is a reasonable 2 star option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The stay at Waterfront Lodge was exactly what I expected for the price. The rooms are clean, comfortable and adequately appointed. Free wifi is available. The reception area is well lit and provides comfortable seating, free tea and coffee facilities for guests that wish to take advantage of the lovely water views. It was cold the day I was there and the log fire added such a welcoming ambience that I was reluctant to leave. the reception area also has snacks for sale. There is an array of books available for anyone who wishes to read. Outdoor seating is also available but as the weather was bad I could not take advantage of that area. It is a hotel that is very much reminiscent of 70's style hotels in Australia but that should not put people off staying there as it is not the building which allows one to enjoy their stay but rather the facilities and most importantly the staff. The linen was crisp and clean. The kitchenette ensures that you can have your first coffee without leaving your room.The beds had electric blankets which made the bed toasty warm ( and there was also a heater).My room was on the side of the building and therefore had a nice water view. The staff were very attentive and obliging. If you are looking for a place that is affordable and close to the centre of Hobart then I would highly recommend Waterfront Lodge. The money I saved on accommodation I used to purchase beautiful hand crafted goods available throughout Hobart. It is very quite and all I wanted was some rest. Waterfront Lodge definitely allowed me to rest and enjoy my stay in Tasmania.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eastern side as this will give you a water view. Rooms on the western side wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriella l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart tasmania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently stayed here for one night. It was basic, nice sheets,ok bed,ok shower. Exactly what you would expect for $85.00 per night. Toast, jams,butter and cereal included. Awful international roast coffee!!! That could be improved. Was ok for a night, was actually surprised, was fairly quiet, we were right at the entrance. Not enough parking. Quiet area, and very close to city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louieHobartTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay here. Look forward to see you here later!
Regards
Waterfront Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place is really hard to get a handle on.
We stayed in the 3 person room ( 1 queen and 1 single bed - Only 2 of us)
The rooms are clean, staff friendly, reasonable location and the prices are great but they regularly let themselves down.
I have stayed here on a number of occasions and on each occasion there has always been something small that has disappointed..
This last occasion was the worst.
We booked for 3 nights.
1st night was great, except we couldn't use the freezer as it was all frozen over and needed defrosting and the electric blanket on one side of the queen bed didn't work.
We advised reception about the freezer who the next day advised us they couldn't defrost it as we had things in the refrigerator - 1 packet of cheese and 1 litre of milk [obviously they don't have any other refrigeration to put our food in for a few hours ????]
2nd night we notice that the bed had not been changed and only remade and not very well at that.
That night my wife seemed to get a number of bites all over her back which may or MAY NOT have been the bed. We advised them of this and requested that the bed be changed and thoroughly cleaned,
On our return late for our third night.
1. The bed has not been changed.
2. The room has not been properly cleaned. Tea stain still on my bedside table.
3.The toilet had not been cleaned,
4 We had to wait until midnight to have hot water.
5. No body gel left in the dispenser ( Lucky we carry our own soap)
6. The freezer had still not been defrosted.

The following morning I spoke to reception and advised them that I was disappointed and required some compensation. Only after insisting I speak to more senior management they refunded the last nights fees.

This place is okay, just inconsistent no attention to detail. I would suggest if you stay here you book through Wotif who will be easier to deal with if you have a problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a south facing room as you have a bit of a view of the Derwent River and great view of Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I am very sorry that our quest was not happy with the room that they booked. All of our standard motel rooms has 1 Queen bed and 1 Single bed which are cater for max. 3 guests in total. We had many reviews that guests are happy about having an extra bed to use even for 2 guests. The freezer got ice stuck in because the fridge is too cool as many guests may prefer it to be cooler when they are using it. Our housekeepers keeps turning the temperature a bit higher when the guest check out. Normally the defrosting takes at least 8 hours. After the guest mentioned it on the first day, reception did check the fridge even the guest said they understand it is probably because we had guests check in everyday. We are very sorry that we did not realize that the guest prefer us to keep the food in another fridge and defrost that on the same day. After the guest check out we stopped selling the room and fixed the problem.

We do regular check on the condition of electrical in rooms but not daily. Electric blanket is one thing that we could not know until the guests mentioned to us. Or we can change it at once if the guests tell us on the first day. We have housekeepers service everyday. They will tidy up the bed if there is no personal stuff on it. Bed will be changed regularly if they stay here for long, unless the guests request and it may be charged an appropriate cleaning fee as stated on our Check-in form.

We never had complaint on bed bugs. But we will look into it as we had a report of this. We are very sorry about the guests were not satisfied with our housekeepers' services. Management will check with the housekeepers on this in serious manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hobart
3.3 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#15 of 52 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.2 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge Motel

Property: Waterfront Lodge Motel
Address: 153 Risdon Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7008, Australia (Formerly Leisure Inn Waterfront Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Waterfront Lodge Motel you'll be 5 mi (5 km) from Hobart City Centre Salamanca Place, Markets Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and 2.9 Mi (4.6 Km) from Theatre Royal. Highlights at this hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, free self parking, and in-room kitchenettes. TVs and coffee/tea makers are featured in all 36 rooms. Kitchenettes come with refrigerators and microwaves, making in-room dining convenient. This hotel offers free WiFi in public areas,Shared Kitchen Hot Plates Pots and Pans , and a picnic area. Additionally, you'll find laundry facilities, free newspapers in the lobby, and a television in the lobby. Within a 10-minute drive of this 3-star AAA Rating hotel, attractions include St. David's Cathedral and Cascade Brewery. Mona New and old Art, Cadburys Chocolate Factory, Salamanca Market/Place Wrest Point Casino Derwent Entertaiment Centre, Cornilian Bay Hockey Centre, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Lodge Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing