We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfront Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
23
76
84
36
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
76
84
36
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenshaving creammicrowave ovenbudget roomminute driverooms are cleanlimited parkingwater viewbar fridgeconvenient locationderwent riverport arthurcity centredispensersinksoapsupstairs
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Budget hotel, clean & quiet. Bed was fairly comfortable. Room has a heater or fan. Not far from Hobart City & a few minutes to the restaurants of New Town. Would stay again. Breakfast available which is cereal & toast $6 for a single $10 for a double.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Trixie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your feed Back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Was initially pleased with the friendly staff when we checked in and the small but comfortable room. We booked 3 days and the first day we left a please clean room sign outside door and the room was done when we returned. The next day we left the please clean up room the sign was still on the door and room and not been touched. Dirty towels messy beds was not impressed. The couple who were travelling with us told us after they did not have any toiletpaper rolls since their arrival. When we returned the next day and there was no parking and had to drive the rental car to the neighboring paddock to park. Would not recommend to stay if u like clean rooms or like ample parking.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We appreciate your feed back
Happy Travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I just needed somewhere cheap to shower and sleep more than anything. This isn't the sort of hotel that you book for a week to enjoy the facilities. But for what I was after it suited quite well. I stayed in the one of the single rooms which appeared clean and recently renovated. The bathroom was better than expected given some of the other reviews that I've read. You would need a car to stay here I think - it's not that far from the city - one of the first major intersections after leaving the city on the Brooker Highway. Parking is a bit of an issue though as most guests have cars - the vacant block next door seems to serve as the overflow however it is a bit steep and treacherous. I also found the driveway entrance really steep and you had to be careful not to scrape the front of your car upon entry. As such I ended up just parking on the street both nights.

Doors did creak a bit upon entry but the worst bit for me was that the blinds didn't adequately keep out the light - lights also seem to stay on all night in the walkways so the room was never really dark - would be alright if you are a deep sleeper which alas I'm not. There was a kettle and coffee - small UHT milks in fridge. There was even some cutlery and a microwave. Toaster also. Nice flat screen TV - not that I really watched it.

The hotel for me was better than expected and just what I was after. $69 a night. There was a "credit card surcharge" though upon check-in but this only equated to a couple of dollars.

Room Tip: Top floor would have some sort of river view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi There is a bus stop 100m down the road the buses take you into Hobart a taxi cost approx $12-$15 during the day
Thank You For Your Feed Back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed 1 night and we were told thy had no milk. then when we asked for another cup as the room only had one cup we were handed a dirty mug.
We were put in the very old cold cottage at the back of the motel. The bathroom had no shower screen so the water poured out across the floor and into the bedroom. We had to put a face washer into the hole in the wooden floor beside the bed as you could see under the house. We were going to use the toaster but discovered rat droppings and rat bait in the cupboard, so we gave that a miss.
Ants were in the bed and we could hear people talking very clearly in the room next door. The place is very run down and looks neglected. There were bags and bags of linen piled up in the car parking area. No free WIFI after 8pm when reception is closed and no one is on site, but we were told that you can pick up phone out side reception door and call if needed and for a hefty fee for doing so.
The bed faced one way and the T.V. was at the side of the bed. No cooling in room just breeze from rather large gap under door were rats and mice could easy enter.
The girl at reception told us the property is for sale. So there you have it!!!!!!!
Will not stay again and would not recommend the cottage.
Must say we have not paid more than $110 and have stayed at some lovely places for our 7 day stay around Tassie.
With all that said what do you expect when you only pay $82

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Thank You For Your Feed Back
Waterfront Lodge is under new management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The setting of the Waterfront Lodge is quite nice; sitting in a small bay of the river in a very quiet suburban area.
If you budget to include a rental car then I am sure you will be happy.
My room (#3) was spacious enough with lots of kitchen amenities and a good sized bathroom. Toiletries are provided both at the vanity and in the shower. The room was bright and airy with a view of the end of the bay (and the vacant lot next door)
The free WiFi is officially only available in the reception area downstairs but I got a good strong signal in my room, no problem. My room and the public spaces were clean and looked to be well maintained. There is a pool and a BBQ area and a relaxing balcony off the reception area where complimentary tea and coffee is available to all. The staff do maintain a very low profile but are friendly and courteous.
Location:
Proximity to all the attractions that you probably came to Hobart to see is NOT good; unless as I said, you have a car.
There is a bus stop just down the road but the bus is only hourly and it will take 2 buses and a long steep walk to get to MONA. Otherwise, it is about $30 to MONA in a taxi and a bit under $20 to Hobart.
The restaurants or cafes are at least a 20 minute walk through the suburb and across the highway.
All in all it's worth a stay for the average punter with a car.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs and closest to the river on the southside have the "view".
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad_Lez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank You for staying at Waterfront Lodge Motel we are glad you enjoyed your stay we love to hear reviews from guests this makes us understand what guests would expect. and what they would like to see in our Motel.
Regards
PT
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews