We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel Hobart
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here one night for a weekend visit to Hobart. It is in the town centre which is basically deserted on weekends. Short walk to Salamanca and a convenient base for sightseeing.
The room was nice and newly renovated. But during the evening our toilet broke. There are no staff on site overnight and we had to put up with a leaking broken and smelling toilet until the next morning.
The hotel is over a pub which isn't the classiest of venues. We thought we would have a nightcap there - but it closed before 9:30 on a Saturday night! In the morning, however, it was much busier. There were a dozen or so dodgy drunks having beers at 8am while we were having breakfast.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

i booked my room the night before. I got a recently renovated room with full r/c aircon, cooked breakfast, immaculately clean everything and all for 85 bucks in the heart of hobart. I really have nothing i can fault with this place. I couldn't find the tv remote (who cares) but the lovely staff said they would grab one from another room if they could, but as all rooms were booked they offered me a glass of wine instead. I don't get treatment this good when i pay 140 plus. I was really impressed by this place. Incredibly good value and i hope they succeed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on a quick budget trip to Hobart. Our room 9 on the first floor was overlooking the Beer Garden at the back of the hotel which we thought could have been a problem noise wise, but didnt worry us much at all as it closed promptly every night at 2200. The morning after Anzac Day though, we were woken at 0540 by someone moving chairs and cleaning in the Beer Garden..thank goodness that didnt happen any other morning!
The room itself was smallish but adequate. On arrival, the floor looked like it hadnt been vaccuumed as we noticed a few pieces of glass in the carpet. This was quickly fixed by the staff.
The queen bed was very comfortable, with good pillows and linen. The bathroom was large and clean, towels thick and good sized, with even a hand towel.
Tea and coffeee facilities were provided and a fridge (with no goodies to tempt us!). All in all, we had everything we needed. Reception on the TV was poor, much to my husband's disappointment.
Breakfast was adequate- either eggs or cereal or pancakes with help yourself juice, tea and coffee.
Locationwise, it was excellent and within walking distance to pretty well everything in central Hobart and Battery Point. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly.
Yes, I would stay again, but if you book please remember it is a pub hotel, without room service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

great place to stay, friendly staff and breakfast is free and very good .
would stay here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRIS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here twice on our recent trip to Tasmania. Both rooms were quiet, clean and spaceous. Breakfast was included in the price, although you had to pay extra if you wanted anything other than very basic. We didn't have a car but the hotel is very central and within walking distance of just about any touristy place you are likely to want ot visit in Hobart (can recommend the walk by the stream to the Cascades Brewery and the Female Convict Factory), except, perhaps MONA. Compared with most of Hobart's accommodation, the price is extremely reasonable. We were unaware of any noise from the pub or the pokies.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Being a pub we were a bit worried but we need not have been. The stairs to the rooms have a seperate locable entry and, anyway, the pub closes pretty early, even on weekends. It was really quiet at night (except for a pedestrian crossing beeping) and the room was a great size. There were three of us, the room had a queen bed and a single and there was still heaps of room. A nights stay includes breakfast which was cooked to order (eggs, omlettes, pancakes all available) with juice and tea/coffee help yourself. The hotel is around the corner from the main shopping mall and a very easy walk down to the waterfront. We can be quite snobby about accomodation and were very satisfied with this hotel for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Just be aware, if you'll have heavy bags, that the rooms are upstairs and there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trace969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for a few nights on a recent trip to Hobart.
Pros: In town centre so close to shops, breakfast included in price, new bathrooms with great shower pressure, comfy beds and good air conditioners in the room, staff friendly.
Cons: Breakfast was very average, rooms were not cleaned to a very high standard, glasses and cutlery were still dirty after being cleaned so I went and brought plastic ones, no parking except pay parking on street, limited tv channels (if you watch tv), guest laundry facilities not working.

Room Tip: Parking can be a nightmare but parking buildings are cheap and close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#16 of 47 in Hobart
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#37 of 47 in Hobart
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#31 of 47 in Hobart
737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 429
Motel 429
#20 of 47 in Hobart
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Hobart

Address: 73 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central Cafe Bar)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £77 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Hobart CBD at our doorstep and the picturesque Hobart Waterfront only a short 600m walk away, Hobart's many attractions are so easily accessible when you choose to stay at Central Hotel Hobart (formerly known as Central Cafe Bar). Explore the modern city shopping precinct, stroll to beautiful Salamanca Place to enjoy the famous Saturday market or jump aboard the MONA ferry. Tour buses depart from just around the corner! Featuring 11 modern rooms on the 1st floor of an historic hotel, Central Hotel Hobart offers affordable and comfortable double and twin room accommodation with all conveniences, just 20 minutes' drive from Hobart airport. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests while staying in our serviced rooms, which also feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary guest toiletries and a hairdryer. We are pleased to include a delicious cooked or continental breakfast with your room rate. Central Hotel Hobart also offers a bar and cafe, entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights, a gaming room with Keno and electronic gaming machines and a bottle shop specialising in Tasmanian wines, with local and imported beer, wine and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Central Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing