We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel Hobart
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Comfortable room, if on the small side, and excellent value for such a good location. Included cooked breakfast as well. Agree that the beep of the traffic light is annoying but I got used to it. I live on a fairly noisy street in Sydney so I suppose its what you are used to. The old codgers in the bar didn't worry me. They kept to themselves and didn't bother me. You need to realise its a working pub not a hotel. For the price and location I'd stay again. Only gripe is the lack of wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annamog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Look - the rooms were comfy, clean and can't be faulted, and it's not an expensive "hotel" However... This is not a hotel. It's the upstairs accommodation to a seedy pub downstairs, the type where old men are drinking beer at 9am while you have your included breakfast in the bar (which isn't a half-bad breaky, must say). There's the toothless dude wearing trackpants coming out of the pokies as you wake up. It's that type of place. But the worst part of staying here isn't even within their control - there's a bloody pedestrian crossing right outside that beeps all damn night. It's relentless and stops you from sleeping. I wouldn't stay here again - I'd recommend you look elsewhere too...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

If you're in Hobart for a short trip, I recommend Central Cafe Bar.

The rooms were decently sized, clean and well equipped with the basics (TV, kettle, fridge etc).
The bathroom in our room was also clean, roomy and modern.

We stayed in Room 11 which is right down the end of the hall and probably a good room to request as you're less likely to get noise from passing guests. The room also looks out onto a quiet courtyard.

The breakfast supplied in the bar downstairs was basic but great. Staff were nice to deal with. There was no noise from the pub or street when we stayed. Seriously good value for money! And a great location, easy walking distance to the wharf, shops etc.

The only negative I encountered was smelling smoke from the courtyard below wafting up to our room, but that it wasn't much of an issue.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I can see the basis for several of these reviews. The rooms are neat. No wi-fi available, but they do provide nice air conditioning. They also provide loud music late into the night, piped directly into your room from the cafe downstairs, with no end time in sight. I write this approaching midnight while some private function rages downstairs. No end time, no quiet time. Just a full floor of slamming doors and tired people throughout the hotel. No part of their accommodation description on their site warns you that your stay at the hotel exists at the whim of the cafe space downstairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tired314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Possibly, the worst place I have ever stayed. I travel a lot internationally.
Yes, it's cheap, but there's a good reason for that:
Rooms are tiny.
The shower, only facility, is tiny.
They advertise a good menu, they don't serve dinner.
The place only has staff at certain times, so don't loose your key or you'll be locked out.
The rooms are not clean. I've asked my friends in Hobart to borrow their vacuum cleaner tomorrow as the staff don't bother, that goes for the small shelf they call work space. Don't know these people that have given good reviews, but they need their heads tested.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

A really good location (very central in the city), rooms and bathrooms were clean and quite modern. The breakfasts were good - it is really good value for money. The only downside is that the bar is a bit seedy! This is where you check in/out and have breakfast. However the rooms are located above (and it's not noisy) and through a secure door. Overall, really good value, good rooms and good location - I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed here two nights. Great location, staff were nice, rooms lovely and clean, breakfast was basic but good. The only down side is the noise from the street and the constant beeping of the pedestrian crossing.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms 3, 4 and 5 which are windowed to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#16 of 47 in Hobart
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 47 in Hobart
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Hobart

Address: 73 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central Cafe Bar)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Hobart CBD at our doorstep and the picturesque Hobart Waterfront only a short 600m walk away, Hobart's many attractions are so easily accessible when you choose to stay at Central Hotel Hobart (formerly known as Central Cafe Bar). Explore the modern city shopping precinct, stroll to beautiful Salamanca Place to enjoy the famous Saturday market or jump aboard the MONA ferry. Tour buses depart from just around the corner! Featuring 11 modern rooms on the 1st floor of an historic hotel, Central Hotel Hobart offers affordable and comfortable double and twin room accommodation with all conveniences, just 20 minutes' drive from Hobart airport. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests while staying in our serviced rooms, which also feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary guest toiletries and a hairdryer. We are pleased to include a delicious cooked or continental breakfast with your room rate. Central Hotel Hobart also offers a bar and cafe, entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights, a gaming room with Keno and electronic gaming machines and a bottle shop specialising in Tasmanian wines, with local and imported beer, wine and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing