We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel Hobart
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good spot”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were a bit skeptical since it is located above a pokies bar, but dont be fooled. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast is included, it can be better but it is a good deal with the accomodation and the location of the hotel. The staff was very friendly at all times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose-Rlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    60
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
56
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived half expecting this place to be in a not so good location but how can you beat the centre of the city if you're only there for 2 days? Great position with shopping,eats & pubs nearby. [The hotel rooms are actually above the pub bar,gaming room]. It's a very short walk to Constitution Dock for more restaurants etc. The rooms are comfortable & have been refurbished not so long ago . Breakfast is included in the tariff & with a selection including eggs Benedict or Florentine who is going to complain. We were there on a tues & weds night so had no problems with street or bar noise. Would definitely stay here again. Bargain price to boot.Parking is not on site , but there is a parking station 2 blocks away for about $12 overnight.

Room Tip: Don't try to park behind the hotel in their little alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quigs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Accommodation is on the first floor of a small hotel in the heart of Hobart. Went to the bar to enquire about a room and the staff were excellent. The room itself is on the small side but more than adequate if you are out and about during the day. We did hear a bit of noise from other guests returning at night but there was no road noise at all. The breakfast included in the price has a large number of options and our choices hit the spot nicely.
Parking is on the street and the car must be moved by 8am or you will risk being booked.
Overall for location, price and service we thought this was a very good hotel and it has a bit of Tassy character.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeBee053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed there recently with my wife. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean, and warm, which was nice after the cold of a Hobart winter's day. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and a good size. The pub itself is quite small, but pretty good for a quick drink before heading out for the night. One word of warning; if the pub is booked out for a function (as it was on the Saturday night we stayed there), perhaps consider staying out late yourself, as the music is very loud. Other than this, the rooms were nice and quiet. The location is good as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simoncito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is above a yucky pokies/sports/betting kind of bar, but don't let that put you off.
The rooms are very clean and warm for mid-winter.
We arrived home each night after all the noisy pub activity, so I can't comment on that. We slept VERY well in the extremely comfortable bed.
My only complaint is that the shower pressure was like standing under a dribbling tap.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Have stayed upstairs before but were booked out so stayed elsewhere but had saturday lunch here before footall. This was beautiful I had the lemon pepper chicken salad beautiful and fresh and well dressed. Other half had the flathead and chips with salad also a good size serve for the price $12 will certainly be back next time in Hobart. Staff are super helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were in a street room,very noisy during the night because of traffic lights sound.
Air Conditioning was noisy and continuously dripping water from the first day and never repaired (we stayed 2 nights on the promise of the aircon repair.)
Otherwise room was clean, yet very small, breakfast was ok.
Do not forget your earplugs if you choose this room.
In addition we experience a lot of trouble with our reservation as the owner pretended for a full day that we had not already prepaid the room and even try to obtain a direct paiement from us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#30 of 48 in Hobart
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 48 in Hobart
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Hobart

Property: Central Hotel Hobart
Address: 73 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central Cafe Bar)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Hobart CBD at our doorstep and the picturesque Hobart Waterfront only a short 600m walk away, Hobart's many attractions are so easily accessible when you choose to stay at Central Hotel Hobart (formerly known as Central Cafe Bar). Explore the modern city shopping precinct, stroll to beautiful Salamanca Place to enjoy the famous Saturday market or jump aboard the MONA ferry. Tour buses depart from just around the corner! Featuring 11 modern rooms on the 1st floor of an historic hotel, Central Hotel Hobart offers affordable and comfortable double and twin room accommodation with all conveniences, just 20 minutes' drive from Hobart airport. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests while staying in our serviced rooms, which also feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary guest toiletries and a hairdryer. We are pleased to include a delicious cooked or continental breakfast with your room rate. Central Hotel Hobart also offers a bar and cafe, entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights, a gaming room with Keno and electronic gaming machines and a bottle shop specialising in Tasmanian wines, with local and imported beer, wine and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing