We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel Hobart
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a well maintained bar & pokies operation, with nicely refurbished rooms upstairs. You can park in a multistorey car park accessed off Macquarie Street and exit on foot on Collins Street some 50 metres from the Central Café Bar - just add about $22 for the overnight car parking to the overall cost.

The rooms are air conditioned with decent bathrooms, and a fairly basic cooked breakfast is incorporated in the price. The location is very central but on my stay on a Monday night that meant that food was hard to find after 6pm unless one wanted to go for a stroll in the rain down to the harbour front.

The downstairs bar, whilst well kept, is a very basic bar with zero atmosphere. The TV in the bedrooms is a write-off whilst the big screens in the bar are operating, so take a good book to read! Staff are kind & accomodating.

To be honest, I got a room which was far better at the Wrest Point a few days earlier through Wotif - no breakfast but a far better experience for the same money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank 16,830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

great location close to shopping, gardens, waterfront. very clean rooms with nice breakfast. rooms very secure with digital tv. good evening meals available at hotel. near to bus stop for tours of hobart area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our stay here was the brilliant. The location would be unbeatable. The rooms are recently renovated and very spacious. Comfortable beds and great shower too.
No fuss and nice staff, Amelia was very nice. Breakfast was simple and very adequate.
Although it is a pub downstairs, it certainly did not feel like it when you are in the rooms.
Very pleased to recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were a bit skeptical since it is located above a pokies bar, but dont be fooled. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast is included, it can be better but it is a good deal with the accomodation and the location of the hotel. The staff was very friendly at all times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose-Rlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived half expecting this place to be in a not so good location but how can you beat the centre of the city if you're only there for 2 days? Great position with shopping,eats & pubs nearby. [The hotel rooms are actually above the pub bar,gaming room]. It's a very short walk to Constitution Dock for more restaurants etc. The rooms are comfortable & have been refurbished not so long ago . Breakfast is included in the tariff & with a selection including eggs Benedict or Florentine who is going to complain. We were there on a tues & weds night so had no problems with street or bar noise. Would definitely stay here again. Bargain price to boot.Parking is not on site , but there is a parking station 2 blocks away for about $12 overnight.

Room Tip: Don't try to park behind the hotel in their little alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quigs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Accommodation is on the first floor of a small hotel in the heart of Hobart. Went to the bar to enquire about a room and the staff were excellent. The room itself is on the small side but more than adequate if you are out and about during the day. We did hear a bit of noise from other guests returning at night but there was no road noise at all. The breakfast included in the price has a large number of options and our choices hit the spot nicely.
Parking is on the street and the car must be moved by 8am or you will risk being booked.
Overall for location, price and service we thought this was a very good hotel and it has a bit of Tassy character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeBee053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed there recently with my wife. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean, and warm, which was nice after the cold of a Hobart winter's day. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and a good size. The pub itself is quite small, but pretty good for a quick drink before heading out for the night. One word of warning; if the pub is booked out for a function (as it was on the Saturday night we stayed there), perhaps consider staying out late yourself, as the music is very loud. Other than this, the rooms were nice and quiet. The location is good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoncito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#18 of 47 in Hobart
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Hobart

Address: 73 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central Cafe Bar)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £77 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Hobart CBD at our doorstep and the picturesque Hobart Waterfront only a short 600m walk away, Hobart's many attractions are so easily accessible when you choose to stay at Central Hotel Hobart (formerly known as Central Cafe Bar). Explore the modern city shopping precinct, stroll to beautiful Salamanca Place to enjoy the famous Saturday market or jump aboard the MONA ferry. Tour buses depart from just around the corner! Featuring 11 modern rooms on the 1st floor of an historic hotel, Central Hotel Hobart offers affordable and comfortable double and twin room accommodation with all conveniences, just 20 minutes' drive from Hobart airport. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests while staying in our serviced rooms, which also feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary guest toiletries and a hairdryer. We are pleased to include a delicious cooked or continental breakfast with your room rate. Central Hotel Hobart also offers a bar and cafe, entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights, a gaming room with Keno and electronic gaming machines and a bottle shop specialising in Tasmanian wines, with local and imported beer, wine and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing