We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wine list. Can't cook meat, or vegies for that matter.”
Review of Battery Point Steakhouse - CLOSED

Battery Point Steakhouse
Price range: US$16 - US$100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good wine list. Can't cook meat, or vegies for that matter.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Excellent wine list, well chosen and not too marked up. Good selection by the glass.

They have a selection of different steaks, specified by cut, age and origin. My husband had the rump special (with mushrooms and hazelnuts) and I had the scotch fillet. We ordered medium rare. The steaks were offered with a choice of sauce and a condiment selection. We ordered 2 vegetable sides, of beans and "beetroot medley".

We got complimentary bread, which was good bread.

We got the steaks, which were unevenly cooked, and rare. Red with blood running out of them. The sinew in mine was hard to cut, especially with the non serrated, blunt "steak knives". We got the vegies. The beans were undercooked (I like mine crisp, but these were nearly raw). The beetroot was mildly interesting, in that there were red and yellow ones, but the total serve was tiny and they were lined up in a little row on top of some kind of curdy cheese. An amuse bouche rather than a side for a steak. My husband's mushrooms and hazelnuts, were just mushrooms and hazelnuts, cooked. Utterly uninteresting, flavours not melded in any way, and as appeared to be the theme for the evening, undercooked. Maybe their gas cylinders were low on the evening and they were conserving.

Oh, the condiments didn't turn up until we asked for them. The restaurant was less than half full.

I don't consider myself a great steak cook, which is why we went out for this treat. But I'm afraid this restaurant failed the essential restaurant test: Could I have done this better at home? Yep. Would I have been happy to serve this to my family? Nope. And at $30-$60 per steak, not a good deal.

My main problem is: This is a steakhouse. They didn't cook the steak how we wanted it and they cooked it poorly.

We enjoyed the wine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sommelier12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I can't believe we hadn't been to the Battery Point Steak House earlier!!
The staff were lovely and welcoming as soon as we walked in the door. The menu is great, and we were pleasantly surprised by the prices of the steak - we were served a lovely complimentary sour dough bread with butter while we waited for our starters. Service was very effiencent, empty glasses/plates cleared promptly and we didn't have to wait long for our mains - our steaks were cooked exactly how we had asked them to be (which rarely happens), the meat so tender, juicy and tasty - the sauces weren't really even required to be honest - the steak itself was full of flavour. Although there were only 2 other tables in the restaurant when we were there, it still had a relaxed but classy atmosphere (without being too "posh") - we will defintaley be going back again and trying another steak from their menu.
P.S - the fat butchers chips as a side as soooo good! :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddimaddi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

First time to this resturant. Its very good. The steak excellent. However a bit too large. There are several sizes of steak to choose from, but the smallest one still too big. It was cooked to perfection though with lots of flavour.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyberchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Have eaten here twice now and had an excellent meal both times. The menu is narrow (as the name suggests) but service, steaks, side dishes and the wine selection were all excellent. I will definitely be a regular here. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food served.

Very surprised to see such negative reviews of this restaurant on this site although they were in the week that it opened in mid-March 2011. Teething problems have well and truly gone now.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pigeondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good attempt at a silver service venue”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This venue is not a complete failure however it's not kicking many goals given it;s recent past a a popular and sucessful fine dining venue. The service was friendly but even taking into account from staff advice that the meal will be slow to come out as the steaks are bought to room temp before cooking was still slow.

I think they were heavy handed with the charcoal grill as some of us had to cut pieses from out steak to try and get the flavour of the steak and not the charcoal. The combination or expensive sides and entree's plus the high end wine and drinks list makes this an expensive proposition not suited to family meals or casual dining for the common person so it will become a business meal and special occasion venue for most.

The other downside is that the venerable Ball & Chain has taken the lead from this venue and upped their prices also but are still cheaper.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battery Point Steakhouse also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing