We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyle Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyle Motor Lodge
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
287 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Decent motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Hobart. The reception was helpful in giving restaurant recommendations and helping fix the wifi as there was some technical problems the first night. The rooms were clean and large. There was sufficient carpark. The motel was located close to elizabeth street which had many restuarants if you do not drive (1km). To get to Hobart CBD and all tourist spots by car takes about 5 mins and parking in Hobart is quite easy with many parking slots (free for first hour) are available throughout the city at reasonable price (between $1.20 to $2.50 an hour).

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    65
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
47
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

In a quiet side street, close to North Hobart Bars and eating and nice shops which stay open longer than the CBD which appears to close in the evening, Easy drive to City or good bus on Elizabeth Street till late or Argyle St day only. Big room, clean and well appointed, nice bathroom.free Wifi. Friendly staff who had a genuine warmth. a pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont South, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The Argyle Motor Lodge is only five minutes by car from the city. The reception staff were very friendly, the ground floor apartment (no. 23) has been recently renovated, was very spacious, very clean, the bed comfortable and the linen crisp and clean. We caught a bus to the city, just five minutes walk from the motel, and the manager also recommended a great Thai restaurant, only 100 metres down the road.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
174 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This is a good value motel that is clean and well appointed. It is a 10 minute brisk walk to North Hobart restaurants and cafés, a short drive north to a large supermarket and a 25-30 minute walk to the central business (and tourist) district in Hobart. Wifi worked well in my room. Menus were provided for breakfast and dinner service. The room had a small fridge, cork screw, bottle opener and wine glasses. I'd be happy to stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The rooms in this motor lodge were a little bit dated for our taste, but the bathroom and facilities were exceptionally clean. The beds were comfortable and the service we received was very friendly and helpful. The location was a little bit away from the action of Hobart City, but was ok because had our own transport and it made for quiet mornings/evenings. It's nice and close to the Elizabeth St shops of North Hobart (lots of great eating places). Good accommodation that's value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeVonFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#24 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#31 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle Motor Lodge

Property: Argyle Motor Lodge
Address: Corner Argyle & Lewis Sts.,, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyle Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Argyle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Motor Hotel Hobart
Argyle Motor Lodge Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing