We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waratah Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quest Savoy(Hobart)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
18
39
21
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
39
21
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite bathroombudget accommodationmin walkwould stay here againelizabeth streetcerealtasmaniacbd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Friendly staff and a great location - you can easily walk into town and it is just 5 minutes' walk to the restaurants and bars on Elizabeth Street in North Hobart.
We had a double room with ensuite bathroom on the top floor- the bed was comfortable, with nice bedding, and the shower was nice and hot (the bathroom has heat lamps as well). The rooms are a bit old, but spacious and very clean - and quiet!.
There is free wifi and parking, a TV (didn't use it) and a fridge in the room, and tea and coffee available (in another room). Breakfast is included as well (coffee, tea, cereal - great muesli, and white toast with vegemite/jam/marmelade) - self serve.
The beer and wine are reasonably priced in the bar, and the calamari entree/appetizer was excellent - very tender!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

i had ok 2 nights but at 2-3 am mens are yelled at eachother... i got wake up and i was top floor.... but i am at pub.....i was 15 walk to city ... that was great... free carpark......

TV work with CODE... i had put it in each channel....

NO AIRCONDATION......... NO FAN

FREE breakfast was great,,,,, simple......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna196513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

At a recent stay- I was impressed with the food, friendly staff, cleanliness & value for money I got at The Waratah Hotel.
I had the most tender calamari sitting at the bar and couldn't believe my luck when I was there for the Sunday Regage in the Laneway. I will definitely be back for another gig and more of that calamari!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The description and pictures I saw when I booked weren't at all what it is like. The rooms are old. The bathroom is very small. The heater and warm water didn't work, nor the tv. I changed the room after one night and got a room on the upper floor. Much better and renovated.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwomanlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed for two nights at the beginning of January.
Although I did not spend much time in the hotel, i was not really happy.
I had two separate bookings, first night paid around 130AUD( that is an ok price) and second night 180AUD( way too expensive for what you get).
The breakfast is included, but it was a very poor one( white toast bread, few kind of sugary cereals,jam & butter, milk and instant coffee in the bowl).
The hotel is situated uphill from the city centre in North Hobart, but as the city is quite small you can reach waterfront in about 15min.
I took a shuttle bus from the airport, it is a good way to reach the hotel( cheerful and helpful crew will drop you in front of the hotel entrance).
The hotel rooms are spacious,( second floor) but in the need of facelift. The bed was really short and if you are taller than 185cm you will struggle. The TV screen was the smallest I ever see in any hotel and you would struggle to watch anything as the satellite signal is awful.
Wi-Fi is free, but again almost useless, just got frustrated trying to use it.
Bathroom was again decent size, but really annoying to adjust water temperatures( almost impossible to take a shower).
There were no one staff for check out( 10am - which I think is terribly early), but it could work to your advantage, as apparently there is no one there before 11am.
There is a bar adjusted to the hotel, which was ok.
All in all, I don't think I would stay there again if ever come back to those shores.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notsopowerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews