We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Indp Traveler
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Perfect spot in Hobart

Review of Maylands Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2023
Maylands was a perfect place to stay in Hobart. Luxury guest house may best fit if I were to describe it given limited service. The room was lovely and modern, large new TV, high quality linens, and individual internet log-ons for each room - nice touch. Quite contemporary decor that fits in with the heritage building. The suite balcony was stunning as was the view. Luxury bathroom and amenities. Almost no closet space in the room. Plenty of free parking which does not happen in the CBD.

Location is not bad - in NewTown, above North Hobart, but a quick walk to North Hobart and its hipster restaurants and cafe’s. 20 more minutes from there to walk downtown or Ubers are plentiful. Maylands no longer serves breakfast - not a big deal for us - too many good cafe’s in the area such as Room for a Pony but given the luxury marker of the hotel, it might should have a breakfast option.

The hotel has a lovely honor bar and lounge, nice spot for the evenings. One thing missing in that lounge - wish the hotel would by a nice automatic coffee machine given not staff for a proper barista coffee. A long black in the morning would be appreciated without having to go out for it. Rooms as well don’t have anything but a kettle and the type of coffee one can make with such. At a minimum, put a Nespresso machine in the rooms, but a nice machine in the honor bar area seems more to the quality of the establishment.

All in all, lovely stay. Take the deluxe suites upstairs in the original historical building. They are great.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
1.9 miles from Maylands Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
£104
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £104
2.0 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£91
Fully refundable
  • VibeHotels.com
    £89
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £91
1.8 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
£131
  • Priceline
    £142
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Expedia.com
    £156
2.0 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£97
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £97
  • Trip.com
    £96
  • Expedia.com
    £97
1.9 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £88
  • Agoda.com
    £79
  • Expedia.com
    £88
1.8 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
£67
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £53
  • Expedia.com
    £67
2.4 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£87
  • Priceline
    £85
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • Expedia.com
    £93
3.3 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£63
  • Priceline
    £68
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Expedia.com
    £76
2.0 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
£76
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £76
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • ibis Styles
    £76
2.0 miles from Maylands Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
107
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
107
3
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunter room historical building plunger coffee north hobart car park oaklands netflix fireplace luxury tariff bathtub furnishings comfort upstairs microwave cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2023

Exceptional place with great style and comfort. Loved every second, will be back for sure. The art and decor is stunning. The service was great too. very comfy beds and linen. Very close to everything you need.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2022

Clean, spacious rooms. Grounds very pretty. Heating system a bit confusing, but was able to figure it out after a bit of time. Location a bit out of the way from the city center, but can take Uber easily and inexpensively. Would stay again and recommend.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank livingtotravel2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2022

This lodge doesn't provide anything but the room, but that was fine with us. The building is beautiful and our room was extremely nice. The whole place feels very relaxing and extremely quiet.

You do need a car to stay her as you have to drive to everything (including breakfast and dinner) but we had been traveling for 2 months so we were really happy to have some meals in our room and we found getting delivery really easy.

One thing would have been nice to have a microwave in the room but other than that it was great - would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2022 via mobile

We had a good 2 nights in our ground floor suite with direct access to the beautiful gardens. There’s nothing not to love about Maylands Lodge - they’ve done a great job keeping the natural beauty whilst also updating and modernising the rooms. The furnishings are comfortable and luxurious. I loved that Netflix was connected to the room which is a plus when travelling with kids and giving them wind down time. Located about 10 minutes drive from main Hobart in a quiet area and has its own car park that is free and easy for guests to use

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2022

We have stayed here on several occasions and previously wrote a glowing review not long after the property had opened. Our last stay was more like Fawlty Towers. I have sent a private email directly to Maylands Lodge more than two weeks ago and there was no response. I don't know what has happened to Mayland's but I would hate a potential visitor to consider my previous review and make a booking based on how it was then.
Firstly our room wasn't cleaned. There were clothing labels and hair on the floor from a previous occupant. The milk in our fridge expired the day we arrived and was actually lumpy. There was only plunger coffee offered. Breakfast was no longer on offer due to staffing issues although we still payed for breakfast as part of the tariff. There was no partial refund or vouchers for breakfast elsewhere or breakfast hamper offered. Plumbing issues in the room next door continued until well after 11pm and then the wind caused the hallway door to bang throughout the night.
It was possibly the worst night's sleep I've had since my children were small. We actually considered forfeiting our second night and staying elsewhere to get some sleep.
Also the car park was no longer secure and the gates remained open all night.
To be honest - I'm unhappy to write such a poor review and that's why I initially sent a private email to Mayland's and I have no idea what is now going on with this premises but we certainly will not be wasting our time and money by staying here in the future when there are such lovely accommodation offerings within the city.

Room tip: Chose elsewhere.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews