We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sizzler re-opened????”

Pier One Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #142 of 645 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: There’s waterfront dining, then there’s Pier One Restaurant. On a sunny day out on the deck, you could almost dip your toes in. This casual, bright Hobart restaurant is your place to sit with a chilled Tasmanian sparkling, good friends and delicate oysters. There’s something about dining in Hobart right by the water; interesting full flavour fare and an extensive wine list. Why not share something from the Light Menu - everything from local cheese plates to pizza. Pier One is Wrest Point Tasmania’s definition of relaxed dining by the water’s edge. Open from 11am daily until late. Lunch from 12pm Dinner from 6pm
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Initial observation of this place reminded us of Sizzler with the decor and glass windows. Not very intimate or warm.

Very disappointed in the overall experience at Pier One! Expected better for the prices and reputation. Entree of garlic flat bread with no flavor of garlic and 4 prawns on a plate very bland! How can they charge $21 for that??

Main meals very average. Two thin fillets of ling in batter with chips and wilted salad. My partner had overdone salmon resting on three string beans and sauce which distinctly tasted like tomato ketchup.

We couldn't wait to get out of there after disappointing hour. The wait staff didn't even ask how our meal was and I'm glad they didn't cause I wouldn't of been able to lie.

Do not waste your time or money at this restaurant unless you're getting tanked on wine and don't notice how bad it is!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hippielove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. The tagline for Pier One is ‘absolute waterfront’ which is quite obvious on entry to the restaurant with uninterrupted views so it seems as if you are actually on the water.
I’m sorry you were disappointed with the food and service you were offered – this will be looked into.
Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

The staff were very attentive, but the food was overpriced and basic with very small portions. A bit disappointing.

Thank stylmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

I’m sorry the food you experienced at Pier One was disappointing however glad you experiences good servie. We are always seekign to improve our guest experiences so your comments are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We where going to the Casino to see a show so thought we would make it a more leisurely time by having tea then seeing the show and staying the night. Pier One was our choice of eatery. I had not eaten here for years so was really looking forward to great food and atmosphere. I was disappointed. The area is tastefully decorated but bland in atmosphere. The staff where very freindly and attentive to their customers needs constantly checking in to each table to make sure all was ok, at times a little too well versed at this. We where asked 3 times before we had taken our first bite if" our meal was alright" . The meal its self was nothing special . Starters was a garlic bread nothing over the top here. For mains I had the Salmon which was overcooked but the skin was prefect. My partner had the Beef Tenderloin wrapped in Bacon it was tender and cooked to order medium rare. The vegetable where very enjoyable but nothing special also. We did not bother with deserts going by the 2 previous courses. I think it will be a while before I bother to try again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank leanneandrew15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make comment on TA- It sounds like your experience may have been just OK. I’m sorry about this as we strive for excellence in the restaurants at WP.
We have also been looking into the atmosphere of Pier One and I am please to say that some changes in the near future should change this observation.
Hope you enjoyed the show and the accommodation.
Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Obsequious service combined with interest and delicious food results in an enjoyable lunch time. Located on the water's edge this is a great way to blow some dough.

Thank OverU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your short but positive review. The absolute waterfront position of Pier One is definitely one of the draw cards, especially in the Summer when you can take advantage of the al fresco dining. Hope to see you again soon….Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great friendly service maybe short on staff on this occasion as rushing around a bit but food was great again as with The point Restaurant reflection on the windows restricts enjoying outside views, simple solution here would be to have the outside deck and seating area with outside lighting so patrons could enjoy the water view> dined on 2 occasions and enjoyed the natural oysters along with the crispy skin Salmon and a bottle of Tamar River Pinot

2  Thank B M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your comments on Pier One, we will look into your suggestion of outside lighting to be able to make use of the decking at night…although a Winter’s night may be a little chilly -even with the heating available. Your choice of food and drink was a great way of trying the best Tasmania has to offer so I’m glad they were enjoyable. Hoping you manage to travel to our shores again in the future.
Kind Regards. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier One Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Pier One Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing