We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Pier One Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #136 of 641 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: There’s waterfront dining, then there’s Pier One Restaurant. On a sunny day out on the deck, you could almost dip your toes in. This casual, bright Hobart restaurant is your place to sit with a chilled Tasmanian sparkling, good friends and delicate oysters. There’s something about dining in Hobart right by the water; interesting full flavour fare and an extensive wine list. Why not share something from the Light Menu - everything from local cheese plates to pizza. Pier One is Wrest Point Tasmania’s definition of relaxed dining by the water’s edge. Open from 11am daily until late. Lunch from 12pm Dinner from 6pm
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great place for lunch beautiful outlook over the Harbour the tall ships passing by. Great food lunch or dinner a nice restaurant to sit back and relax with friends enjoyed our meal would recommend.

Thank Chrisflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Visited mid week and after reading previous reviews, not sure if they have improved or we just ordered the nicer meals. As is was midweek it was a bit quiet with a few business people eating alone. The view is lovely, day or night and overlook the water. It is bright and modern and yes if its a quiet night, it may not have a lot of atmosphere but sometimes that is nicer than lots of people and noise. I had the Salmon and it was excellent. Cooked perfectly and the accompanying vegetables all tasty. My partner had the steak and said it was excellent. Our daughter had a pizza and it was far more than she could eat and it was lovely. No complaints from any of us and we will certainly be back. The menu is not an extensive menu but does cater for all tastes, Prices are normal restaurant prices within $20=$30 for main course and the wine and drink prices reasonable. It is positioned in the lower part of Wrest Point Casino with views across the water to the Eastern Shore of Hobart and in summer would be lovely sitting outside enjoying the views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loveagreathotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. The restaurant team have been working extremely hard to ensure constant improvement in the service and food so it is great that this is recognised. The views are spectacular and can be enjoyed now on a Sunday morning as we will be opening for Brunch from October 6th from 9.30am. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This restaurant has had lots of highs and lows over the years but it again drifted to the low side. Service was OK but the food was mostly Overcooked and bland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

I’m glad you experienced a good level of service on your visit. We are always working to improve our menus which many customers enjoy and we thank you for taking the time to share your views. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Initial observation of this place reminded us of Sizzler with the decor and glass windows. Not very intimate or warm.

Very disappointed in the overall experience at Pier One! Expected better for the prices and reputation. Entree of garlic flat bread with no flavor of garlic and 4 prawns on a plate very bland! How can they charge $21 for that??

Main meals very average. Two thin fillets of ling in batter with chips and wilted salad. My partner had overdone salmon resting on three string beans and sauce which distinctly tasted like tomato ketchup.

We couldn't wait to get out of there after disappointing hour. The wait staff didn't even ask how our meal was and I'm glad they didn't cause I wouldn't of been able to lie.

Do not waste your time or money at this restaurant unless you're getting tanked on wine and don't notice how bad it is!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hippielove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. The tagline for Pier One is ‘absolute waterfront’ which is quite obvious on entry to the restaurant with uninterrupted views so it seems as if you are actually on the water.
I’m sorry you were disappointed with the food and service you were offered – this will be looked into.
Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The staff were very attentive, but the food was overpriced and basic with very small portions. A bit disappointing.

Thank stylmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Pier One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

I’m sorry the food you experienced at Pier One was disappointing however glad you experiences good servie. We are always seekign to improve our guest experiences so your comments are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier One Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Pier One Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing