We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food could have more flair”

Pier One Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #101 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: US$19 - US$37
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There’s waterfront dining, then there’s Pier One Restaurant. On a sunny day out on the deck, you could almost dip your toes in. This casual, bright Hobart restaurant is your place to sit with a chilled Tasmanian sparkling, good friends and delicate oysters. There’s something about dining in Hobart right by the water; interesting full flavour fare and plenty of seafood goodness. Why not share something from the Light Menu - everything from local cheese plates to exquisite Tasmanian seafood pizzas. Pier One is Wrest Point Tasmania’s definition of relaxed, quality dining by the water’s edge. Open from 11am daily until late Lunch from 12pm Dinner from 6pm
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice food could have more flair”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This restaurant is located in the Wrest Point Casino complex in a very nice location with nice view. The staff were friendly. The quality of the food was good, but it did lack any flair. It was the sort of food you can cook for yourself, nice, but not special.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Del255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    75
    31
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tasty but service was slow”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had dinner here and was very delicious especially the dessert. Outdoor sitting was great with fabulous view of the harbor. Spent 2.5 hours for just a 3-course dinner was way too slow... waited 1/2 hour for the starter, then 45 minutes for the main course, and another 45 minutes for the dessert. And there were not too many people in the restaurant. Hope they can speedup their service in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cckc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had an excellent meal and lovely view from our table for our 25th wedding anniversary . A little overpriced and very small meals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank colbenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful evening, excellent service from friendly staff. Our Seafood Chowder was the best my husband and I had eaten in Tasmania a lovely flavour and although we don't normally like mussels we enjoyed their fresh seafood flavour in this dish. My Pork Belly was tender and flavoursome. We tried to return the next night, they were fully booked what disappointment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorray49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Didn't have a booking, but the waitress gave us a table by the window anyway - nice one. Food was delicious, especially the duck, ling (fish) and apple dessert. Chips could've been better, but who needs them anyway? Nice touches included complimentary house-made bread roll with oil/balsamic. Service was great even though it got quite busy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier One Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Pier One Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing