We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Clean and modern, very nice place to stay in the centre of Hobart.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kase87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were a group of 7 with 3 couples and a single, and we left our luggage in the lobby as we arrived early in the morning. After the rooms done up, they left a message and all the luggages had already been placed in our rooms without mixed up! The staff will have some suggstion for you for the street sight seeing and the possible questions for the tourist before u think of if ( as our brains were so blank after 12 hrs flight). The overall impression is smart, helpful and friendly staff that make our very first day in Tasmania very warm.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absentmindhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights over the weekend and I would give a 4.5 if I could.

Pro's
1. Apartment was spacious, extremely well-equiped for self-catering and well-appointed.
2. A proper king-size mattress with no uncomfortable ridge down the middle from zipping together two singles.
3. View of Mt Wellington from our main window (see pic)
4. Location was good for the Waterfront (Fish Frenzy, T42, MONA ferry and Salamanca markets).
5. Provided a portacot, sheets and cute baby duvet (no charge) and are the only hotel to have provided a high chair on our travels to date.
6. Very helpful staff. On checkout the receptionist checked with the taxi over the laws on child seats in taxi's in TAS even though I had only made a passing comment. She updated me when we went back to collect our luggage later in the day.
7. Unlike earlier reviewer we could vary our aircon and heating temperature.

Con's (and very minor ones at that)

1. Would have preferred a 'proper' sofa. We were spending every evening in the room (due to baby Coffi) and a proper sofa would be more comfortable than the chaise lounge provided.
2. More an environmental feedback point than a 'con' - the design of the bathroom product bottles (very tough plastic) meant it was difficult to squeeze out the thicker lotions like conditioner and body lotion and therefore results in a lot of wastage.

Would happily stay in Hotel Collins again and recommend it to friends visiting Hobart.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0ffiC0ffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Rooms have been done up, so they are at least clean and modern.
- Hotel is a little bit of dungeon though and it is not exactly in the most exciting part of town.
- Views are awful at best.
- You cant adjust the airconditioning so the rooms are freezing
- Dont bother if you want to go to a gym, they say they have a discount rate at Genesis its not really a discount at all.
- I found 4 week old cheese in the fridge and rubbish in the bins so that was not great

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Little2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in Hotel Collins for 5 nights, couple with 3.5yo and 4 monther. Used an "executive 1 BR suite", living area and kitchen, king BR with double sliding doors excluding it from the main living area, and bathroom leading off from the BR. Overall we were impressed, but there were some deficits that may only apply to our situation:

Positives:

Excellent kitchen. Large fridge (not already stuffed with mini-bar products, so plenty of room for provisions.. a must with the kids), KNIVES THAT ACTUALLY CUT!!! Ive been waiting for a hotel to provide these for years! Microwave, Electric stove top (that heats up really quickly), TOASTER!! A must again. They also supply a small bottle of dishwashing liquid and chux cloth (I’ve lost count of the number of hotels who provide a sink but nothing to clean dishes with.) and an EXCELLENT fold away dish rack to put washed dishes on (grates on my nerves when there’s a sink and dishes but you end up having to put your clean dishes straight onto the wet dirty bench top). The cupboards well stocked with pots and pans and plenty of crockery to self cater. And there was a WATER JUG!! Such a simple item but so important, and so few hotels provide it

Excellent service. Requests for additional rubbish bags and baby blankets were dealt with in a friendly and prompt manner. The only exception was our arrival where there was no one to assist us with luggage (the whole kitchen sink routine when you are travelling with 2 young kids). On the day of our departure reception rang us in the afternoon to ask if we realized we’d left our baby bib and food in the fridge!

Firm, comfortable beds and pillows (even the additional fold-away bed used in the living room for our 3.5yo). Where do hotels get these lovely pillows from?

Attractive, modern and minimalist design and colour scheme. Comfortable sofa and lounge chairs. Well-appointed bathroom

The “we missed your room” message card placed under your door deserves a special mention. Why don’t more hotels do this?? A great way to let you know that yes, the housekeeping service is thinking of you, we tried to make up your room, but you were busy, and please call front desk before 1PM to let us know when we can make up your room for you. FANTASTIC!! Rather than us clearing out ASAP in the hope that when we returned the room would be made up, this little card clears up all doubt

Good location. Short walk to the central malls, Salamanca square, harbourside

Free wired internet with large desk and 2 work chairs. 2nd table in living area for meals

Easy to use, quick to respond, effective heating and cooling.

Free desktop internet and printing in downstairs business lounge

Negatives:

No DVD players linked to the 2 plasma wall mounted TVs. A problem when trying to keep kids entertained

Lack of floor space/ suitcase storage. This was an issue for us as when the 4monther’s cot was in the BR, there was nowhere for suitcases to go, so suitcases ended up on the floor getting in the way of foot traffic and the sliding doors

No Hotel parking. We were directed to the multi level carpark around the cnr, which charges per entry/ exit. Initially told the max charge/ day would be $3 but was charged $13.50 when leaving the next day. On the first day couldn’t get a park until Level 9! When trying to transport 2 small kids across roads etc. it is an issue. The carpark has dedicated spots for other businesses but not for the hotel

No dedicated porter (referred to previously). The person manning reception had to leave the front desk to assist us with our luggage on our departure

No Pool, Gym, very small hotel restaurant (although it seems this has been factored into the room rates)

In retrospect we should have booked the 2 BR executive suite (which is actually the 1 BR suite along with a standard room adjoining – see floor plan on hotel website). This would have provided us with the space we needed

Room Tip: Get the "2BR" exec suite if you have >1 child
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mayomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a one bedroom apartment room on the 9th floor - loads of room and a little kitchenette. Staff were friendly and check in was smooth and easy. Would happily stay here again.

Only negative was the noise about midnight from the bar around the corner but not the hotels fault. It may have been a one of event.

Room Tip: Spring for an apartment if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is well located in central Hobart and is young and fresh in its overall feel. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, and the views from a lot of the rooms are a bit limited - overlooking the Hobart Hospital. But the furnishings are of a very high standard, with some of the most comfortable beds you'll ever use away from home.

Two nice surprises were the friendliness of all the staff, from reception onwards, and the quality of the food available at both the inhouse cafe / restaurant, and in room service. In fact, room service is to be commended for their efficiency and range of choice, and a wine list that for once was not heavily marked up. A further plus is the availaibility of free (wired) internet and four free movie channels in all rooms, a relief after so many hotels that want to charge you for everything.

I had a fabulous time staying here on holiday, and would gladly return for either holiday or business. Congratulations to Hobart and Tasmania on seriously embracing your visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theproseclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £86 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing