We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a Hobart visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Blaxland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a Hobart visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a very modern clean apartment hotel. It doesn't have all the facilities of a chain hotel, e.g. pool, but the rooms are very luxurious, comfortable and new - which is rare for Hobart which is full of dated hotels. Location is easy walking distance to Salamanca Place, Harbor, Ferries and main shopping precinct. Excellent value for money, especially when booking on hotel website. Would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit.

Room Tip: If views are important to you, you may need to request a room with a view, as some overlook the neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    555
    120
    27
    11
See reviews for
113
530
94
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Every single staff member I encountered was unfailingly nice. I consider the Collins a lovely comfortable hotel with good amenities for a business trip. I was permitted an early check in, had a great view of Mt Wellington, and was impressed by the free internet and printing facilities. The hotel is opposite the hospital and walking distance to almost anywhere.Everything is clean and comfotable and practical. I was impressed by the easy accessibility to powerpoints for laptops, phones, etc. I will definitley return.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out to Mt Wellington are a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed in Hobart for 2 nights on business. I have never been here before and am impressed with the place, it is lovely here. Upon arrival Hotel staff at reception were very friendly and cheerful, staff are on desk 24hrs. Breakfast can be eaten on site but there are plenty of cafe's around if you want to venture out. Room is small but OK for one person. Very modern with flat screen TV on the wall, desk with free internet via cable. Bathroom is really clean and nice decor, shower is huge. Bed is comfortable, pillows not so much. Air con is very quiet and easy to use. Location is very good, close to CBD and waterfront.

Room Tip: nice views of Mt Wellington from 6th flr and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altona, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and i spent a couple of nights at Hotel Collins for our Babymoon. Conveniently located , affordable , clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and knowledgable. We split our break between this Hotel and Somerset on the Pier where we paid double the price per night. Both were great but to be honest we would much rather recommend Hotel Collins for a short break.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Room service one night, dinner & breakfast in the restaurant once. Meals all great. Service fantastic and the staff so friendly. Room clean and well presented and a great use of space. Fire alarm went off one morning and we had to evacuate (all good as no fire), but was nice to know the staff were quite capable of handling an emergency. Very central location, we walked all around town. Parking very handy and quite cheap in car park next door. Free internet in our room just topped it all off. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB_Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Centrally located just a block or two from town centre and waterfront.Rooms and bathroom clean and modern. Small restaurant with good food and coffee. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Rooms have large floor to ceiling window but not openable--air conditioning. Small lounge near reception can be used for wifi. Rooms have free internet with cable connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torlesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

An overnight stay at Hotel Collins provided excellent service, a comfortable room and very good dining experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi in the public areas was wonderful and rare in Australia.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing