We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a short trip to Hobart. The location is ideal - near the harbour, shopping areas and Salamanca Place as well as local attractions. The staff are great, very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Our room was on a high floor with a great view of the harbour (admittedly over the top of a car park). The room was small but stylish with a safe, fridge and kettle. The fresh milk provided was very welcome for tea/coffee. We had continental breakfast on the first morning but this didn't include cooked meats & cheese, items we would normally expect with a continental breakfast, however, there was plenty of other things to choose from. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: As for a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    504
    111
    23
    8
See reviews for
104
490
80
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I selected Hotel Collins from TA reviews as I was travelling from Melbourne to Hobart to go to MONA and wanted somewhere to stay on a Friday night. Booked via their website and go a reduced price as well as the option of a late check-out which would allow me to wander Hobart on Saturday and come back to my room prior to departing.

The room was clean and had everything that you could want for an overnight stay, the only issue as mentioned in other reviews is that the construction of the glass shower screen is such that water tends to escape onto the floor.

Due to work commitments, I had to change my return flight to an early Saturday morning and I was offered (didn't ask nor expect) a refund of the late-check out payment. Would stay at this hotel when I am in Hobart again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apex_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Hotel Collins captures Hobart beautifully, very hospitable, friendly and eager to please.

Though the reception area is small, the lobby features a delightful cafe that is definitely worth visiting. My 1 room apartment on the first floor was clean, tidy and well laid out though sadly offered little more than a view of an adjacent brick wall. The staff were friendly and eager to help. Having free wi-fi and free movies was also a pleasant and all-too-rare surprise.

The hotel is well located, only a short walk from the main shopping area and slightly further to Salamanca Place. Though unfortunately my trips to Hobart are infrequent I would certainly book here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was a long planned 50th birthday celebration to visit Mona and other sights around Hobart. We decided to live it up and stay at an expensive hotel for 2 nights.

The first night we were put in room 407. The music started up around 9pm, possible the worst 80's cover band in history, The singer made up with volume what he lacked in talent. Our room must have matched the natural frequency of the instruments as the windows actually vibrated.

When I rang the desk to see when it would end I was told they had to stop at 11.30pm. Unfortunately the band was only getting started.

By 12.30 I rang down to see if we could be moved. No such luck.

Finally the 'music' stopped just after 1am. But then the farewells started. Screaming at the top of your lungs if you are female and spinning the tyres of your car if male.

By 2am we could finally attempt sleep but at that point our weekend had already been tainted.

The girl at the desk the next morning was very helpful and moved us to the other side of the hotel allowing a good nights sleep for our final night.

But beware.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_C_GOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here for a conference.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room clean and modern however very small.
I am glad I was staying here as a solo traveler as there is no room for your bag unless you block access to one side of the bed!
Unable to open the windows which is disappointing so near the sea, and the air conditioning has its own ideas about what the temperature you set actually means! I either boiled or froze with no change of the temperature settings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I got the last room in the hotel , it was very clean but I know why people have said book a large room looking out at a brick wall in a small room with windows that don't open was not the best . But service and cleanliness was very good and quality of the food was good .
I will try again and book a one bedroom apt plus free wifi and good location

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Overview:
This hotel has only been open for just on 4 years after a full conversion to a hotel.
The location is right in the heart of Hobart and about 1 - 2 blocks from the main harbour and the best seafood restaurants in Tasmania.
It is easy walking distance from the MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) where there are regular exhibitions that are well worth visiting.
The hotel has a great deal with the parking garage directly behind during for a 24 hour flat rate of $15 per day.

Location :
Couldn't be more central, right in the heart of the city and an easy walk to commercial and government buildings as well as several great breakfast restaurants (Dome) and lunch venues as well as the main harbour seafood restaurants and the Grand Chancellor Hotel which often hosts conferences.

Rooms :
The entry level rooms are the "Club" rooms which although are small do have all the facilities a business traveller needs as well as free WiFi, ultra modern bathroom, good firm and not too soft beds and best of all - quiet for good sleeping. As a quick glance at the wed site will verify there are a range from Club Rooms to one and two bedroom Suites which are equally well appointed.

Pricing :
The Club rooms start at $140 isn in mid-week, low season up to $250 isn + for the better, bigger rooms. My recent rate was in the order of $157 per night which based on experience in other capital cities represented very good value.

Staff:
Very friendly and accommodating and always keen to please and were seriously seeking feedback. How refreshing in this day and age.

Other Facilities:
There is a Restaurant / Coffee Shop in the lobby which serves a limited menu and is fair value for money. It is good value for breakfast and serves a la carte breakfast which is hot and freshly cooked.

Summary:
I would certainly recommend it to friends and associates and will be booking again when I next visit Hobart on business. Extra discounts are available for booking direct via the web so have a look and contact the hotel reservations staff for 'the best deal" and availability.
This little gem is very popular for many reasons including weekends so the farther ahead you can book the better your chances are of a deal and a room.

Room Tip: Floors 7 thru 10 at the rear of the hotel have the best views out over Hobart Harbour. They are abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing