We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet & convenient”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 nights here, and service was helpful & friendly, rooms spotless, and hotel is very well placed to walk nearly everywhere. We paid a higher rate for a King room, but others had a queen room, & but for the larger bed and a bath, size was pretty much identical, and don't think I'd bother for another stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flossyfizzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    565
    122
    27
    11
See reviews for
123
534
95
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great, easy stay for a long weekend in Hobart. Walked to Salamanca markets, MONA ferry and restaurants, plus car rental is available within an easy walk if you want to visit wineries etc. Room was simple but big enough, clean, and a great bathroom. Recommend for a no fuss, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked in for two nights in January 2014 and ended up staying 4. The one bedroom suite on the 10th floor (the top floor) was super, with fabulous views over the harbour and the Tasman Bridge both day and night was stunning. The room was modern chic with a fantastically comfortable king bed with lovely quality linens. TVs in the bedroom and lounge room, nicely appointed kitchenette which we didn't use but was good quality. All the staff are super friendly and helpful. We had breakfast downstairs every day and was a very nice Continental spread for a good price including good capuccinos. If you have a car there is a public carpark right behind the hotel that charged $8 for overnight. The hotel is walking distance from the waterfront and Salamanca and close to downtown as well. Saturdays markets are a must if you are visiting then. Definitely worth a visit,

Room Tip: 10th floor one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian1andlaurie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

An ideal base for a stay in Hobart. Near the harbour and Salamanca where you'll find lots of places to eat and some quirky shops.

Staff at hotel friendly, helpful and interested in our experiences. Highly recommend this hotel above the others.

Room Tip: A room facing Mount Wellington is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

First things first we have not stayed here yet, however we we will be on the 22nd Feb 2014.. I just want to say that so far before even reaching the hotel the staff have been awesome and have exceeded their duties. I booked my accom through a advance hotel site and paid in full after awesome comments from trip advisors comments about accom..
When I went to check for confirmation about booking with hotel our booking could not be found so after many stressful moments from partner she waited till I got home to see if I could sort out issue. When I rung hotel and ask the staff member if she could check she informed me that she had remembered previous call and decided in mean time to some of her own research and had found that my surname had been reversed i.e. my surname became my Christian name, and so she searched for my first name and found the booking much to our relief I thanked her for effort. I just want to say if the staff go this extra effort before even stepping through the door, that is true customer service. I never took the staff members name however I hope she here's about this review and I want to say an awesome job done and well done and I am looking forward to staying with you in the latter part of Feb 2014.. By the way take heed sometimes online booking reverse names so make sure you check both names and take time to thank the staff who take time to care as customer service is awesome if a staff member uses it....

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank duanenorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORWELL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Collins for seven nights and enjoyed the experience. The Hotel is modern and although the rooms are small they are comfortable. The hotel uses the Market Street car park next door at reasonable prices and a short walk takes you into the City Central or to the port and restaurant area. The reception staff were very helpful as were the dining room staff. The Restaurant provided good meals in a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We just had 3 nights at the Hotel Collins in Hobart. The staff were fantastic and really spoilt us. The room was clean, modern and had an amazing view out to the Harbour. The motel is handy to everything as it's right in the middle of Hobart and it's only a 5 minute walk down to the boats on the Harbour and all the eateries. Thanks very much guys for a great stay!!

Room Tip: A view of the Harbour is definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing