We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Old Duke
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
54
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshampden roadbattery pointold worldfour poster bedlovely bedroomshipwrights armsshort walksecond bedroomold buildingexcellent locationperiod furnituresalamanca placestreet parkingcomfortable apartmenttop floorhobart airportsalamanca markets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed one night at The Grand Old Duke in Feb, 2012. We're a 29 year old couple with no kids. It is a 5min walk to Salamanca Markets (definitely worth a visit), and is only metres away from great restaurants and cafes (tip: we were unable to get into the nearby restaurants without a reservation... however... we were able to get into a great Indian restaurant nearby... forget the name but it's only a few houses up. Excellent food, great service and a good selection of wines. Would definitely go back there!) It was about a 20min drive from Hobart airport, and being that we stayed on a weekend, the two hour parking limits did not apply, so we were able to get a 'celebrity park' right outside the front door... for free! (we hired a car). The apartment is situated in the most adorable street, with great little boutique shops and a very charming atmosphere.

We arrived to the apartment at 10am, however Betty was so warm and friendly and allowed us to leave our suitcases in our apartment while she got the room ready for us. She gave us a key to our room, and told us how to get to Salamanca markets... by the time we got back, the room was ready. And boy... what a room! For the price, it was amazing. We got 3 rooms... the main room with a 4 posted bed, T.V, dvd player (with a selection of dvd's), fire place, beautiful old style furniture and great views to the street. There was a spacious en-suite bathroom with a great shower/bath, that lead into another room, where we had a fridge, toaster oven, tea/coffee, etc. We didn't actually use the room, but it was a nice touch!

As the apartment is right on the street, we had fears of noise from passing cars and pedestrians. But it was really quiet. We got a great nights sleep! It did get quite cold at night, so we were lucky to find a heater in the room that worked a treat.

I would most definitely stay at The Grand Old Duke again. Betty is so friendly, warm and accommodating and made our stay that little bit more special. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErinR934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the downstairs apartments. The location was great - I always love to stay around Battery Point as it is walking distance to many places but also has local charm. The apartment was fine with everthing we needed. There is only one space for offstreet parking which is right outside our apartment's door - hard to get into when a big four wheel drive is parked 1/2 a metre away from it. Nevertheless, it was easy to find a park close by. Betty the manager was very helpful and we would not hesitate to recomment this place

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sainttrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Beautiful accommodation in Battery Point. Good sized rooms, spotlessly clean, quiet location and within walking distance of everything Battery Point and Salamanca has to offer. Betty, the manager, is so friendly and helpful, the place is lucky to have her! Upstairs is fantastic for 4 people with 2 single beds and a queen bed. We had the chance to stay in 2 different apartments over the 3 nights and they were both equally beautiful, comfortable and gorgeous.
We chose to have breakfast up the road at Jackson and McRoss, famous bakery in Battery Point where EVERYTHING is delicious and the coffee is to die for! We can recommend Smolt (restaurant) at Salamanca just behind the main wharf area, unbelievably sumptuous meals- but remember to book as it's not very big and is usually booked out.
Avoid the Ghost Tour of Battery Point, we found it so disappointing with lots of inconsistencies and general ramblings not backed up by any historical fact at all. Would give the ghost tour of Port Arthur a try instead if it's ghosts you're after.
Definately chose The Grand Old Duke for accommodation. We made this our base and set out on day trips from here as everything in the Hobart area is an easy 2-3 hour drive. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2hermanitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We loved the Grand Old Duke and will stay here again. The location is fantastic with Salamanca only a couple of minutes walk away. We have two small children and they loved the acccommodation and the pirate ship park at the end of the road. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was extremely spacious and well equipped. We didn't cook anything in the kitchen as there are great restaurants close by, but it seemed to have everything you would need. The only thing that could be a disadvantage to some guests is that you have to walk through one bedroom to get to the master bedroom. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TassieDevil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Very large apartment, very comfortable, lovely antique furnishings. Shared laundry outside. Free parking onsite or with pass on the street. Pleasant downhill walk to Salamanca Place (with free Internet cafes; no Internet in apt.)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews