We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian or insult ?”
Review of La Porchetta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Porchetta
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Italian or insult ?”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I must make it absolutely clear that I am reviewing the La Porchetta Restaurant at Salamanca, NOT north Hobart.
Busy and friendly is probably the best I can say. Correct me if I’m wrong, lasagne is made by interleaving layers of pasta with layers of sauce, made with beef mince, béchamel, and cheese. What we were served, as one reviewer so aptly puts, “were huge, stodgy wads of overcooked pasta” – tasteless, inedible, and with no meat in sight. I feel for people that believe microwave slop is actually Italian or even Italian-style – and what is really sad, the ‘restaurant’ caters for families with children, who will grow to think this is the norm. La Porchetta claim “All meals are made fresh with only the finest ingredients” I don’t think so. What I do know is, if Rocco ‘Rocky’ Pantaleo who founded this franchise was alive, he would be turning in his grave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GladysHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    6
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Family location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Look this is no five star restaurant.
It offers great basic fare in a convenient location.
The sort of place to take the family for a good healthy meal.
The service is great and very friendly.
The menu is very traditional Italian with nothing special,
The atmosphere is a little run down and could do with a refresh.
I would certainly recommend this place for families and good value dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“good value, excellent service”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is not just one review but will cover a few visits to this restaurant in Elizabeth Street. But the latest was just last week.

On a few occasions we have had to squeeze in a fast meal between sporting games or before them, etc Every time without fail we have had super fast service. The staff have been very accommodating in everything. We explain our rush & they take a fast order. More often than not, we have time up our sleeve. And we are always thankful. Not to mention the take aways we're able to take because the kids won't eat the entire meal before a game.

The staff are always friendly. They don't mind you using your Entertainment Book vouchers. We've covered the lot there basically. Rush in, rush out times, birthday parties, go in & dine at a normal pace ... all have always been good food, good service & good value for money.

We'll always go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
583 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Busy night but good service.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Accommodating - even for last minute on a Saturday night, always helpful and polite staff. Food took a little longer than usual but there was two large functions held here at the same time. The staff did a tremendous effort in bringing food out on time. Reliable and well priced, family friendly atmosphere, in the entertainment book also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
739 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Good value - reasonable Italian in N Hobart”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The restaurant is on the busy part of Elizabeth Street and has a good atmosphere. We had a half-and-half pizza of meatlovers and marinara; tasted great - only issue could have had a bit more topping on the marinara side. The drinks were good and service polite.

We used an Entertainment Book voucher so got 25% off.

This is not gourmet dining, but then you are not paying gourmet prices...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Porchetta also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing