We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Paris in Hobart”
Review of The Last Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Last Villa
Ranked #32 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our host had provided us with a nice bottle of local champagne to add to what was a very well stocked larder for hotel accommodation. We had an excellent view of the harbour and to our delight saw "WILD OATS ELEVEN" race in on our very 1st morning. We enjoyed the location and the eclectic mix of furnishings and the boat like fittings of our unit which all contributed to the feeling of a home away from home. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any one with an artistic bent and a sense of adventure. Only negatives were the rickety stairs we had to carry our bags up and the very low ceiling in the bathroom over the toilet. It all added to the Paris feel though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Christine
I thank you for your kind comments, your desciption of WILD OATS ELEVEN sailing by is perfect a rare experince indeed ,see you at the 2014 Sydney - Hobart race kind regards Steven Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We chose in the Voyager Studio and would not have stayed if it we had not booked through Wotif with a no refund policy.
The description on the website is imaginative and seductive but not honest. There was no 'private courtyard' - it was shared with the other guests, as was the external WC. The 'sculptural courtyard' had no sculpture and features the clothesline. The 'Japanese influence' in the decor was imaginary - a cheap red chinese lantern, and two japanese tea cups, plus the black painted floor was as far as I could stretch it. 'Artistic'?- there was one piece of art in the room - a nice print but not at all Japanese. The colour scheme of lime green, dark green, olive green, red, blue, black and dull silver grey paint, is inexcusable for anyone purporting to be an award winning designer. Or anyone. The overall feel of the 'eclectic' design was unfortunately shabby and ad hoc. But ok I can accept aesthetic difference of opinion, so what?
But why would you install a shower with the taps outside in the kitchen? Really inexcusable for an architect to make such terrible design decisions, not just bad aesthetic decisions, but sheer functionality.

On the positives it is really a lovely old building in a great location so maybe the other rooms are better to stay in. Parking in a side street, outdoor loo, the access stairs etc are all quite fine for the type of unique property that this is. Unfortunately the welcoming booklet had pages (literally 3 pages) of self congratulation about the architect and no information at all about the building. That probably says as much as you need to know about this vanity project. I could not recommend this accommodation based on our experience.

By the way I am an architect and my partner is a landscaper we were visiting Hobart for our anniversary and to see MONA. Our interests perfectly fitted with the description of the property - Garden/Art/Architecture. We were disappointed on every front, but Hobart and MONA were delightful all the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GMG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 January 2013

Dear 'GMG70', thankyou for your comments our objective to generate awareness within a built environment. Obviously in all hospitality based business our aim is to please everyone but on occasions that is not the case. I do however agree additional information needs to be provided in terms of the history of the building. It is interesting to note that the building has gained recognition by the Tasmanian Heritage Register. A copy of the summary will be provided for all future guests. In terms of the interior design our team at the Last Villa are continually sourcing new products and materials and updating themes accordingly. I thankyou for your comments.

Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The Last Villa is somewhere to recharge your creative batteries. The decor in each space is designed thoughtfully and offers a modern European feel. I have stayed twice at The Villa and referred many friends and colleagues - all who found the property wonderful. It is somewhere that you can spend time to re-gain inspiration. It is certainly the perfect spot to stay if you're in Hobart to visit MONA - at the end of the day it's great to sit by the window with a glass of bubbles and reflect on your experience.

My husband and I have stayed in Cruise Ship and the Penthouse and both were equally charming. The owner is welcoming and very helpful with recommendations on local attractions. He is an architect and you can clearly see his passion throughout the property.

I am sure The Last Villa is not for everyone. If you like chains such as Sofitel, Hyatt, or Sheraton, then the more boutique feel at the Villa may not appeal. This may be why a couple of the reviews below certainly don't reflect the experience at The Villa.

Room Tip: The Penthouse, Cruise Ship and Barcellona are all very large and are my best selections. If you real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharynHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Creative Paradise ,,,,fully endorsed by channel 9 Getaway tv programme and to be featured again on 2018 January 18 ,,,watch this space
Thank you see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we booked before the posts were added on here otherwise would have never booked a non refundable stay through wotif.com
Stayed for two nights in the cruise ship room. The villa has a quirky independent feel and is in a great location. The property was let down by its up keep.
We were greated by a 'fusty' smell. The room was not of an acceptable standard and its definitely not worth the prices being charged.
The kitchen bench tops had thick dust on, you could write your name on the shelf above the fridge which is where the glass wear is kept!! The quint blue espresso cups had a great dead fly collection on them! The oven was FULL of crumbs (see photos)
I walked from the shower across the carpet to find a full collection of hair stuck to my feet from the carpet! Cobwebs hung above the bed and the the shelves between the two rooms(nxt to the bed) we so dusty it bought our asthma on!
When showering or sitting on the loo you are in full view of the street and (also see photos) the cobwebs and dead flies in he bathroom had not been created since the last resident had left! This is a buildup of dirt.
On the positives the bedding and towels were clean and of a good quality although the bed creeks with every breath!
The owner was open to the feedback and did visit to hear out concerns however no notes were taken in his note book and I feel of was a little cosmetic as the previous post states ALL the same issues which he has had the opportunity to rectify and didn't leaving us to share in their disappointment!
Money wasted and a long over due trip spoilt!
So much opportunity wasted at the last villa.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 January 2013

I am very sorry that 'Sd1973' feels this way. We are a small business and one that we are very proud of. The building is regularly cleaned after the guests departure and during this particular guests stay I am very concerned that the catastrophic events of the Southern Tasmanian bushfire of January 2013 were not mentioned. A combination of record temperatures, gale force winds and bushfires resulted in a layer of ash throughout hobart. We apologies for your concerns all of which have rectified since.

Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mirette1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
3.5 mi away
Argyle Motor Lodge
Argyle Motor Lodge
#27 of 47 in Hobart
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Villa

Address: 2A Nutgrove Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £96 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Last Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Villa Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing