We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent homely accomadation”
Review of Merre Be's

Merre Be's
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merre Be's
Ranked #26 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent accomadation, all extras included, spa was amazing.
Host was lovely and made us feel very welcome.
Best accomadation in Hobart!

Would recommended this place for anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Hobart close to everywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarasonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Merre Be's
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

The room was nice and it would have been a pleasant trip if it wasn't for the place's complete disregard to the customers.

Promised WiFi non existent, was working but password unknown. Contacted manager who said that a person attending the site would supply password. Person attending site said Manager had password. So no wifi and all it would have taken was someone to supply a password.
The surprising thing was that they did not even care.
Paid $20 extra for a continental breakfast. This consisted of two pieces of bread wrapped in plastic in the fridge. My God that was a bad purchase.

The thing that made a huge difference was that they withdrew the whole amount of the stay from my bank account the morning of the day before we arrived. I had contacted Merre Be's to make sure something like this would not happen as payday was that night. They assured be that it wouldn't, it did.
This left us in the middle of nowhere with no money and no way to pay for petrol.
Key was taped to the door when we finally arrived without a clue to what had happened.
We thought we'd been robbed.

Room Tip: Don't expect stuff to be working and don't think calling the manager is going to help. Brin...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmattymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

While the position was great. Close to every thing in Sandy Bay. Our stay at Merre Be's was just ok. The owner had just cook her nights meal just before we arrived and our room smelt of her cooking all night. Couldn't get rid of the bad smell. The pictures on the web site make it look better than it was. It based on a B&B style but its only a room that you get. The poor attempt to close you off from the owners kitchen and other room left us wondering why we stayed there.
Better make sure we read reviews on places prior to booking next time when looking at this type of accomindation

Room Tip: review where you are going to stay on trip adviser first before booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Recently I needed to book accommodation in a centrally located part of Hobart. I searched Sandy Bay and decided Merre Be's suited but after reading the reviews had second thoughts. However, when I related this to someone else they mentioned that their friends had stayed there and it was very good, so I took the chance and was pleasantly surprised.
I found it to be more than suitable. It was spotless, friendly, comfortable and situated in a perfect location. It certainly was value for money and I certainly would use them again.

B.Taylor

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What a delightful heritage accommodation! The owner was extremely helpful and friendly, allowing us to leave our baggage there whilst exploring around Salamanca Place on the day we were departing. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. We especially enjoyed the amazing spa bath. Affordable accommodation in Sandy Bay and we will stay there again if returning to Hobart.

Room Tip: Room 1 is delightful, bright and private with gorgeous spa.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dude23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We wanted a place close to restaurants and this did meet the criteria. It appeared nice and bed was comfortable and was close to all amenities. On closer examination we thought there was breakfast however were told she does not do this any more even though in lonely planet it said it had a full buffet breakfast . It had dirty carpets and one of the breakfast plates was still greasy. Washing up not good like rest of place. The bathroom had mould in the shower and needed cleaning like rest of place. We were concerned about all the double adapters connecting the TV,Heater,fridge etc. the TV video player he sticky tape around double adapter. I am sure this would not pass regulations. The existing oil heater was slow to start and we checked the fan heater and it looked like it would catch fire if we used it. She did replace this which was appreciated.
Overall this was in poor condition and really needs a Reno.
I would stay away. One night was enough. We found B&B s in tasmania excellent and better than a lot of first class hotels however this was one of a kind.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Lets start with he positive: the position. As regard bed and breakfast, let me say, there is a bed.

The room and bathroom where dirty (hairs everywhere, i coulf find other costumers bath objects). Need total rifurbishment.There is absolutely no breakfast whats or ever (ridiculous!).
Forget about a warm welcoming smile and friendly service. We had problems with another of her accoommodations,(mise poo everywhere on the kitchen and plates) she said we were to fossy! We had to eat somewhere else and she wouldnt compensate for this.
The best way to describe is thinking of a student bed site, lots of extention cords and adaptors, old furnitures.
I dont understand how she can be in Lonely planet, 3 stars rating. This is the worse place i have been in Australia for the money value. Worse 40$.
Need inspection.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else, Choose another place!!!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajasonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.9 mi away
The Elms of Hobart
The Elms of Hobart
#10 of 28 in Hobart
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregory House
Gregory House
#13 of 28 in Hobart
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portsea Place
Portsea Place
#5 of 28 in Hobart
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amberley House
Amberley House
#17 of 28 in Hobart
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Battery Point Manor
Battery Point Manor
#11 of 28 in Hobart
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merre Be's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merre Be's

Address: 17 Gregory Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £63 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merre Be's 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merre Be's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merre Be's Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing