We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cottage accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Eleven - La Petite Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At Eleven - La Petite Maison
Ranked #9 of 29 Hobart B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great cottage accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

A great character cottage in an excellent part of Hobart. A real home away from home. Exceptional bed and bathroom, and comfortable lounge area with everything you would want in such a place. Karen has thought of everything to make the stay just great, including quality bathroom toiletries, coffee machine, tea, breakfast supplies, computer and wifi, tv and dvds/dvd player etc. There is even an acoustic guitar that's in tune!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quetzacoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the perfect place to experience how the "locals live" (that is, the locals who are lucky enough to live in such a great part of Hobart).

We were delighted to be able to stay in a Tasmanian character cottage in such a trendy and friendly part of town. The Sandy Bay area is just oozing with charm as all the streets are lined with beautiful, well maintained cottages. Coming from Perth (WA), this was a rare treat.

My husband and I were able to easily push our 1 year old son (in a pram) to the Salamanca Markets (walk between 15-20 minutes). Great walk - I recommend deviating via Hampden road (which is filled with great cafes and restaurants and very pretty).

Sandy Bay square is only a 5 minute walk from @11 - there you will find Coles, massage / beauty salons, restaurants and specialty stores.

All the other reviews mention Karen's exceptional hospitality - I agree wholeheartedly. Sukin products fill the bathroom, the kitchen is small but has a great coffee machine stocked with Nespresso pods. We were delighted to find milk, yoghurt and apple juice in the fridge when we arrived, fresh butter and a selection of cereals.

It is perfect for couples and families with children who aren't big enough to climb out of a port-a-cot. My husband and I slept in the main (only) bedroom and our son slept comfortably in his port-a-cot in the hall-way outside our room. If you have older children, you might find @11 too small in terms of places to sleep (you could put them in the living room, but not ideal if you would like to stay up and read or watch tv).

The only thing that would have made @11 perfect for us is a washing machine on site - and that's just because we have a baby who wears most of his dinner. There is however a laundry service in Sandy Bay square.

Overall, @11 is a perfect blend of homeliness and sophistication. We loved staying there and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Hobart like a local.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This is a real gem of a place - set in a lovely part of Hobart with the benefits of a B&B and the freedom of self catering. As well as lovely comfortable and quirky accommodation and a sunny courtyard, Karen has thought of every possible luxury, right down to a family sized bar of Cadburys milk chocolate. The 25 minute walk down to the harbour takes you through a historic neighbourhood (left out of Randall, right onto Princes and it's virtually straight all the way - if you can manage the steps at Nanny Goat Lane). We loved Hobart and plan to return and we can't think of anywhere we would rather stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyTrouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in the first week of December and loved this gorgeous little house in the lovely inner city suburb of Sandy Bay. Karen (the owner) has created a place with enormous charm and decorative flair and great attention to detail in terms of comfort and facilities. We loved our stay here and will keep coming back - its quite unique and a great enhancement to the whole experience of being in Hobart.

Room Tip: no pool or fitness centre but for our needs a fountain in the courtyard and a walk to the local pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at 'At Eleven' in Hobart. Everything you could need is available in this lovely cottage which is convenient to all areas of the city. Being able to have our own space which wasn't just a room in a hotel was a great luxury and the addition continental breakfast being available was great. They even have bikes you can use which were great fun for an afternoon although beware the hills of Hobart! Thank you very much for having us to stay,we can highly recommend 'At Eleven', we will be back! Dan G.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed at La Petite Maison for 3 nights in Nov 2013 and really felt comfortable in the cottage we had to ourselves in a quaint neighbourhood full of roses in all the gardens. Bed really comfy, fabulous garden terrace with a bbq that would be great to utilise in good weather. The well appointed lounge room is perfect to relax with a good book/magazine from the extensive library or watch a DVD. It was wonderful to drink a great coffee wrapped in the fluffy bathrobes. The bathroom is beautiful with a deep claw foot bath and the "rain water" showerhead was a treat! Karen's recommendation of the local Italian restaurant was a huge success.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarragon, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

At Eleven is just gorgeous. Tucked away in a very quiet street, yet only a short walk from shops and a short drive from most of Hobart's attractions, we found it the perfect place to base ourselves in. The owner, Karen, is very helpful and kind, but never intrusive; it's a bit like staying in a luxury B&B, but with complete privacy (and without the social awkwardness of having to be alert and polite at breakfast time!). The kitchen, though tiny, is extremely well set up, and we loved the quality produce Karen had stocked it with - a wonderful thing to find when you arrive with a hungry 6-year-old after a long trip. The decor oozes character, the wall full of books and games is fantastic when the weather's not so great and we found the beds warm and comfy. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Hobart now that we've found this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank authorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Eleven - La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Eleven - La Petite Maison

Property: At Eleven - La Petite Maison
Address: 11 Randall St, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At Eleven - La Petite Maison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Eleven accommodation… warm, comfortable, stylish and engaging…Nestled in the heart of Sandy Bay, Hobart, At Eleven offers stylish and private accommodation for you to relax, unwind and revel in your Tasmanian experience.Exuding charm and elegance, this self contained single-storey townhouse features all the luxuries of home making it a perfect retreat for explorers, business travellers, holidaymakers and couples.Immerse yourself in the comfy lounge surrounded by authentic French furnishings. Relax with a book or DVD from the eclectic library, soak in the deep claw foot bath and sleep soundly in the comfort of fine linen and tranquil surrounds.Enjoy your breakfast in the secluded courtyard lined with citrus or unwind with an evening drink in the glow of the candelabra and to the sounds of the tinkling fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your At Eleven - La Petite Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Eleven - La Petite Maison Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing