We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.46*
and up
Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour
Ranked #6 of 136 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hear incredible tales of crime and punishment as you are led through the courts and tunnels to the chapel, cells and gallows of this internationally-significant convict site, owned and operated by the National Trust. Join us for Guided Day Tours running up to 4 times daily on weekdays and 2 times on weekends, and for our Ghost Tour. Bookings recommended for Day Tours and essential for Ghost Tour. Please note that access to the site is by Guided Tour Only.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghost tour”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've been on two now. Tony & Mickey are great guides. No nonsense gimmicky rubbish, purely historical complete with ghostly groans, moans & rattles. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    219
    45
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one of highlights of my holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Barry took me back in time.was pasionate about his story's of the history.worth a trip for this tour

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fascinating tour!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our wonderful guide,Barry,spoke non-stop for two-and-a-half hours! Not only was he extremely knowledgeable,his anecdotes were humorous and witty. A thoroughly delightful gentleman! A must-do tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annarosabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Must do in Hobart!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved this place. It's only accessible via a guided tour but it's worth every penny particularly if, like me, you weren't heading to Port Arthur - or even if you are! The knowledge and care taken by the volunteers that staff this place is amazing. There's a lot of history in these walls and it's very well told without resorting to dramatisation which doesn't really work for me. If you visit in winter, rug up as it's not heated - imagine what it was like to be locked inside its walls. Don't miss it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherrybrook, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a wonderful tour with an amusing and knowledgeable guide, Barry. The tour was extensive and gave a deep understanding of the position this place held in the history of Tasmania. The fact that you could enter the tunnels, cells and chapel and experience these atmosphere of these areas for yourself was great. We highly recommend the tour as a must for Hobart. It is so surprising how quickly the time passes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site) also viewed

 

Been to The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing