We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour haven in Hobart!”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed one night at the Wrest Point Hotel Casino in Hobart - I had stayed there previously and had enjoyed it. We booked into a Harbour view room - after the free valet parking, we had any easy and informative check-in. Our room had a lovely style - recently refurbished by the looks of things. Great view of the harbour (very relaxing), great bed, good mini-bar and lovely bath/shower (great towels). Very clean and quiet. A friend came over to catch-up with us and we settled into one of the bars (also on the harbour side). Lovely, stylish, relaxing place to have a few drinks and chat. We ordered in-room dining in order to take advantage of the view (we were too tired to dreww-up and go to the revolving restaurant on the top of the hotel . . .) - food was lovely and fairly cheap for in-house dining. Check-out was efficient. We would happily stay here again - while it's a couple of kilometres from Salamanca, it only takes a few minutes in the car or via cab. We also ran along the harbour into Salamanca Place (6kms return) - aside from a couple of killer hills, it was great.

Room Tip: Harbour-side is great - not only do you have a fantastic view but you are away from the opening and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel rooms that we stayed in and looked in had colours straight out of the 1970s - olive green, bright red, mustard... Garish and old fashioned. Staff were impersonal and the food in the revolving restaurant was (mostly) bland and no better than pub grub. A disappointment with an expensive price tag.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have stayed at Wrest Point a few times now, and we believe that offers reasonable value and great views.

The hotel is not in great condition, and the suites are truly dated, but some may find that quaint.

The desk staff are cheery and helpful, and the rooms are reasonably well appointed and clean.

If you want the latest of anything, perhaps look elsewhere.

The difference between West Point and a Sydney or Melbourne harbor-side accommodation is staggering, but it won't cost you half of the money that you would pay there.

Definitely not luxury, but comfortable!

Room Tip: We always choose harbor side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsy_K26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at Wrest Point recently for a week, with our 2 young kids. We were really impressed with the high level of service (not to mention the amazing harbour and mountain views from our room, and the great location). The concierge staff were fantastic. As we had a hire car, the valet parking service was very helpful. The kids loved the indoor swimming pool in the basement. Onyx Bar overlooks the the Derwent River and was a great place for a drink.

Room Tip: Ask the Casino reservations department for their recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Hideous peach coloured paint,AGAIN.Is that a Tasmanian fashion statement ? Or is it mustard!This place is VERY dated and quite depressing.I would say the only good thing here are the veiws.Very 70,s.Not a good period !Fold out beds very uncomfortable for the unlucky member of the family who gets it.My blanket had other past guests hairs in it-eeeuuuww!

Room Tip: Any rooms that have clean blankets and arent mustard and gold?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

When we booked the Wrest Point for New Year's Eve we knew the hotel had been around for a while but we still expected the star rating to give us a good experience. Unfortunately, this was not the case. We booked through a third party web site and expected either two connecting rooms or a room big enough for my wife and I and our two teenage children. What we were given was a small room with a double and single with a trundle squeezed in that took up all the available floor space. This left no room for luggage (we were on a 14 day road trip around Tassy so we had a a large case each) and a trip to the bathroom a circus act. The actual beds would have to be the worst I have ever slept in and I have travelled extensively - they were noisy, poorly sprung and the whole bed moved when either person turned during the night. The only saving grace was the friendly and helpful staff. They seemed genuinely sympathetic but being New Year's, they were folly booked and couldn't do anything. Front desk and Concierge all provided good service and advice, hence the three star rating from me, but would I recommend it, only as a last resort.

Room Tip: Ring the actual hotel if booking through a third party to make sure you are getting what you think y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodynook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We'd booked 2 nights at Wrest Point and the best thing I can say about it is that their cancellation policy is great. After walking into the room and being really disappointed we rang down to reception to cancel the 2nd nights stay, which we were able to do without any charge.

We had a room in the Mountain side annexe (booking confirmation reads Mountain view, which is a tad different. Our view was Multi Storey Car Park). On walking in to the annexe, first impressions weren't good. Stank of cigratte smoke, dimly lit, shabby carpets and overall in need of refurbishment. The room wasn't much better. Very much like a motel - dated and disappointing. We found a previous guests smelly old sock under the bed which didn't give the best impression of housekeeping standards.

We were aware the hotel wasn't in the CBD, but the website gives the impression that bus service into town is an easy option. It probably is, if you don't stay on a public holiday.Taxi cost $10, and the concierge couldn't really offer much by way of advice on Hobart. Probably because they were only about 12 years old.

After the first night we stayed in the Zero Davey Apartments - more expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventure551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
793 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing