We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Old Review- as we stayed here a few years ago in one of the Mountainside rooms. Not great rooms. They are small with basic amenties, stay in the tower as the reviews suggest that these rooms are much better. However did enjoy the centrality of the hotel and the casino.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misha692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    365
    181
    58
    29
See reviews for
132
414
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed a night on the 16th floor. Beautiful big suite, 2 huge TVs, no CRT in sight. Great view. Clean, comfortable, great shower, nice bed. windows crack open for that refreshing southern air.

Aircon is a bit noisy. The room had two motion sensors in it?? I wonder if they are connected to the a/c? Never stayed in a room with those before, kind of big brother feel about them, socks did the trick.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Tower ending in 4 5 and 6 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a conference. As I was on a budget I reserved a mountainside room. Whilst I didn't have a view, and the accommodation wing is slightly apart from the main hotel area, I spent very little time in my room. I visited friends in a tower room with a harbour view; go for this if your budget permits, as the view is fabulous.
My room was spacious, with a queen size bed, and a roomy bathroom (shower only). Good quality towels and bed linen, extra pillows, table and 2 chairs.
My only gripe with the room was the poor lighting in the main area - it was fine over the bed and in the bathroom, but if you wanted to read or work at the table it was very dim. Also the hot water is very hot - take care you don't scald yourself.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, a tower room with a harbour view is the way to go. If on a budget, the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltartas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

From the moment I checked in the accommodation, dining facilities, and the conference facilities at Wrest Point are superb in every way with
great presentation and easily the best service from team members who care and assist.
I booked Wrest Point because of many bad service experiences in Hobart from staff who don't care and Wrest Point is just so far ahead of its opposition.

I have had a great conference and a memorable stay with smiles all roun.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfluffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have stayed at Wrest Point 6 times in the last 8 years. We stay in a Tower Executive Suite which is very large and comfortable. These suites have separate lounge and king bedroom, large bathroom, with spa bath, and kitchenette. Sadly no microwave oven ( we take a small one with us).
The suite we had appears to have been freshened up since this time last year and the old type TV sets replaced with modern flat panel units. Housekeeping is generally good and staff are welcoming and helpful. All the restaurants serve good food at reasonable prices, except for the Point Restaurant which is a bit on the expensive side. Trip Advisor reviews of The Point do not rate it very highly.
Buses and water taxis stop at the hotel if you don't want to drive into the city as parking is at a premium. There is a shopping centre with supermarkets and and variety shops only 2 minutes drive away.
Internet and WiFi charges are excessive, as they are in most hotels in Australia. When we were in Europe and Singapore, earlier this year, we had free WiFi at every hotel, on the trains in Copenhagen, in the taxi in Amsterdam, in a supermarket in Vienna and at Changi airport.

Room Tip: Noise from the elevators can be annoying so ask for a room on the opposite side of the building from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was a great place for a catch up time with friends, plenty of places to eat and relax , great bars and comfortable rooms.... the rooms are very clean and well maintained but slightly dated decor .... well priced and very friendly staff ....
The only thing missing was wi-fi in the rooms it was available to purchase and use in the lobby or mezzanine floor -- there is a cable for broadband internet access in the rooms .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorianfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Was here for a conference. Booked into one of the cheaper rooms, and was pleasantly surprised. Warm, cosy, clean. A little dated (old style TV, plain bedspreads) but the bathroom and carpets were new, and very clean.
The decor around the casino is ... casino style.
Tips:
* shop around on the prices - I've seen prices from $124 to $248 for the same room
* our room was good value, but the mini bar prices are at the other end of the spectrum
* if you join the 'Federal Club' (free) then you get a discount on breakfast, bringing a full breakfast down from $27 to $24. The full buffet breakfast was amongst the better I have had - wide selection, good quality, clean and fresh. The view up the Derwent, back to Hobart city and the bridge is very nice.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, had no mountain or water view, but had a view opening onto a bit of garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePeterL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing